We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for families, we loved every minute!”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool Area
Sundeck Garden view on town Split
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
Pool Area
Sundeck
Garden view on town Split
Recreation zone
Garden area
Pool area
First floor apartmenMaria" (1st floor) Lounge
Resident unit 'Maria' (1st floor) Terrace
Resident unit 'Maria' (1st floor) Kitchen
Resident unit 'Maria' (1st floor) Bathroom
Resident unit 'Maria' (1st floor) Master Bedroom
Resident unit 'Maria' (1st floor) Secondary Bedroom
Penthouse unit 'Lucia' (Top floor) Terrace
Penthouse unit 'Lucia' (Top floor) Lounge
Penthouse unit 'Lucia' (Top floor) Kitchen
Penthouse unit 'Lucia' (Top floor) Master Bedroom
Penthouse unit 'Lucia' (Top floor) Secondary Bedroom
Penthouse unit 'Lucia' (Top floor) Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Podstrana, Split-Dalmatia County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
janda007
uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for families, we loved every minute!”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have recently stayed at the Villa Maria as a group of 3 families with 2 adults and 2 children each, and we took all 3 of the apartments.

During booking and afterwards Silvio made things very easy for us, he always answered emails promptly and gave us lots of good advice. We were picked up by him at the airport and it’s an easy 25 minute drive to the Villa.

All the apartments were spotlessly clean and we had everything we could need including towels, hairdryer, and toilet rolls as well as some of the cooking basics such as oil, salt and sugar. We also had a bowl of fresh fruit, water and some local wine which was very thoughtful.

On the first afternoon Silvio took the husbands on a small tour of the local area explaining where everything was and also on a trip to the supermarket so we could stock up for the first few days before our hire care was arranged.

The area is very beautiful and the views from the apartments are idyllic especially from the top floor. It’s a 10-15 minute walk downhill to the local beaches, restaurants, money exchange and supermarkets. The bakery is just a few minutes down the hill, great for morning croissants! The beaches are pebbly/stony but you can hire sunbeds and parasols for the day very cheaply. Ice cream shops are also on hand and they are very cheap compared to the rest of Europe!

The walk back up to the Villa is not too bad, quite gentle until the last few minutes when it gets a little steep but all our children managed it without moaning and groaning as we suspected they might. (The youngest was 8).

The pool and games areas are great and the children spent many happy hours down there, sometimes we played with them but it was perfectly safe and often we kept a watchful eye from the balconies.

Silvio and his family who live on site were so welcoming to us, nothing was too much trouble and you felt they genuinely enjoy hospitality. Mrs Maria made us a cake one day and then a few days later she made another one for one of our children’s birthdays, it was delicious. Anything we wanted to arrange locally such as boat trips, or white water rafting on the Cetina River (recommended) Silvio helped us to organise by phoning ahead.

We loved the waterfalls at the Krka National Park, the island of Trogir, Split (Dioclecian’s Palace) and also the fort at Klis where they are filming for the next series of Game of Thrones.

We had a really enjoyable 2 weeks at Villa Maria and were very sad to be leaving the good friends we made there. I hope we will go back again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The mosquitos
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Met all our family needs - brilliant”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked all three villas nearly a year in advance. Silvio was very helpful during this process and throughout answering any of our questions including transfers to/from the airport for all 14 of us. On arrival we had a full tour and we were all over whelmed with our villas and of course the views! Each villa was very clean, well stocked with everyday items (kitchen, bathroom towels and beach towels etc) a welcome fruit basket and a bottle of wine. Silvio also took three of our group to the supermarket (3 trips in total) and pointed out local places, what to see etc.
We had three families in our group, and the house suited everyone of all ages, either with the pool (which was cleaned every morning), dining area with BBQ ( which we used and was amazing) the sun deck and then the play area with basketball, table tennis etc I can't remember hearing the words "I'm bored" once from any of the 7 children!
We did use the bus, which the stop is at the bottom of the hill and visited Split and we also walked into town too. Both worth a visit, along with the chicken sandwiches which were as good as everyone says!
I think I should say about this hill, yes it is steep in places and walking during the hottest part of the day with children can be hard (take water) But it really ain't that bad and it didn't put anyone off including the children if we were going out. The hill is worth it, as the view really are stunning.
Lastly I have to say we were so well looked after by Silvio (who arranged my suitcase to be delivered to the villa after it was misplaced at the airport when we arrived) and then by his Mother in law Maria - what a lovely lady! Maria doesn't speak much English but that didn't stop her from going above and beyond for us all- which included making a birthday cake for my Son's birthday, bringing out fresh melon, figs, tomatoes and cucumber from their garden during the week. Also Maria's husband who also doesn't speak English but took one of our youngest group (4) to help pick the vegetables everyday. The whole family are lovely and really go the extra mile to make you feel welcome but also not to make you feel you are being watched or uncomfortable. We really did have an amazing holiday - thank you

Only tip- we were eaten alive due to Mosquitos (Maria even gave us some bite relief gel to help) so take lots of stuff with you, you can buy it there too.

We all said even before leaving we would love to return and hopefully we will. I would highly recommend this villa

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shauly
Givatayim, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The perfect place for my family”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

All you need at your dream vacation: a beautiful, big, clean, well equipped apartment with stunning view ; Beautiful pool and lot of outdoor activities (table tennis, basketball, trampoline and more); A very good WiFi connection and coverage. and the most important - wonderful, warm, friendly and resourceful hosts (all of Silvio's family) .

I wish we had more time there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The hosts, Silvio and all of his family
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux...
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great stay in Podstrana”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the largest of the 3 apartments within the 3 generation family villa. We arrived at the wrong place but after a quick phone call me met our host and were at the property. Family very friendly and helpful and we all had a welcome drink. Fruit and local wine left in the apartment on arrival. We were also invited to a BBQ on departure but could not male it. A car was a necessity for us as the 15 min hike up the hill was unpleasant in the heat. It was a very good place to explore the region. The house BBQ was wood fired and very different from those in the UK.
We liked the amenities in the house, they had thought of almost everything. They had missed a curtain in the bedroom but once informed they soon had it fixed. The family were always trying to help.
We did not like the restricted view from the balcony that had huge orange building in front and the distance (and steepness) from the local beach.
Overall great holiday in great location.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian C
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truly fantastic place, with wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous 2 week family holiday at Villa Maria.
From the outset all our dealings with Silvio were excellently handled and he was always extremely prompt in replying to any of our queries. This made us feel confident that we had chosen a great property and we were not to be disappointed.
Villa Maria occupies a fantastic spot overlooking Split harbour and yes, whilst it is a bit of a steep climb back up from the beach the views more than make up for it. The villa is beautifully presented, spotlessly clean and fantastically well equipped. We found it to be in an excellent location as we could visit numerous places of interest and had the option of cheap public transport if we chose to use it. The surrounding area has plenty to offer people of all ages and the scenery is absolutely spectacular.
Above all the thing that really made this holiday was the hospitality shown to us by Silvio and his entire family. Silvio was always there to offer practical advice and useful information but you never felt he was intrusive and his family always welcomed us with a smile and provided us with freshly grown produce and a fantastically cooked barbeque. We had a truly memorable stay and shall definitely return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of Silvio and his family
Liked least: The walk back from the beach but good to walk off the icecreams!!!!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing