We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Campanile Le Mans Sud - Arnage
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Arnage
Reviewed 19 November 2016

The hotel appears to have been recently renovated. The room was clean and comfortable but they haven’t got round to installing towel rails, toilet roll holders etc. in the bathroom yet. We ended up continually moving things around in the bathroom until we got fed up and threw everything into the shower.

We went for a meal in the restaurant and chose the dish of the day, a sauté de porc. The waitress took our order but when the meal arrived it was chicken. She apologised that they didn’t have any pork. She tried to console us by telling us that it was at least the same sauce. As there was only one other table occupied I can’t imagine that they had run out. Obviously they had never had any pork in the first place. It would have been better to tell us that before taking the order so that we could choose something else instead of serving us something we didn’t want.

The dining area has lights suspended from the ceiling at about chin height. Unfortunately the position of the lights has little to do with the position of the tables that they are presumably supposed to illuminate. Some hang over the chairs, some over the gaps between the tables and one over an empty space so that when moving around you keep hitting your head on the lamps.

We spent two nights there. On both occasions we were woken by a lorry arriving early in the morning presumably making a delivery. Both times it parked in front of our room with the engine running. There are also some rubbish containers next to the car park which were emptied on both days. One evening I had already gone to bed and was woken by a late night rubbish collection.

Otherwise the room was comfortable and the staff friendly.

Tip : If you stay here take earplugs and eat in the Courtepaille around the corner.

Room Tip: Away from car park
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank don d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Campanile Le Mans Sud - Arnage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here 3 times this year and of course it is the same as all the other Campanile's. It is clean, food basic but tasty in its own way. However the major drawback with this and all the others is the lack of air conditioning! In Autumn it is not really an issue but in June- August it is dreadful. I appreciate that it is all down to price but some basic cool air system or failing that a fan is really required. They are not as cheap as some of their competitors but if Ibis can do it why not Campanile?

That said we will no doubt still use them as overall they provide a simple one night stop over on a long journey but some cool air would really help!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

I stayed there 2 nights. For a 3 stars Hotel the rooms looked very good and had all the conditions. The maid cleaned up every day. Enough parking space for all customers. The personnel was very nice but none spoke English. The food was good, but not great, and the menu had only a few types of food. The desert was great. I needed support with an iron for my shirts and they immediately provided it. The view of the lake was great and the fact that it was close to the circuit.
All in all I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

For many years we have been using this Campanile for a overnight stop over on our holiday. It is ideally placed for our onward journey and located in a pretty site next to a lake. Each year it had started to look more and more tired and in need of a face lift. This year to our delight it has had a complete overhaul! Including the restaurant. The rooms are now light fresh and comfortable. The restaurant has become much more inviting and comfortable offering a good choice of menu or buffet. We will continue to use this Campanile.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BekC62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Was at this hotel for the Le Mans Circuit 24h organised trip. The staff at reception are welcoming and speak good English (one woman very little, but the rest fine). On arriving the room, can already see faults. Out of two rooms, both run down. Broken vent shaft that hasn't been bothered to be replaced (it's a massive hole in the wall in the bathroom), doorknob falling off, doors being creaky and hard to shut and not to mention an insanely annoying BUZZING sound that appeared on my second day to everyone's confusion after the cleaners had been in there, but the staff were very helpful with that issue and switched rooms.

It overlooks a lake, and unless you want to get swarmed by midgy mosquito annoying little creatures, keep your door and window closed because they will cover your room and your curtain. A/C is non-existant so don't stay in your room during the day in the summer because you will boil. At night it's fine.

The curtain is not long enough to reach either side so anyone can look in to see what you are up to which I found was a bit creepy, that coupled with the fact my television turned on randomly in the night...

The general state of the hotel is worn looking.

The morning buffet served between 6:30 and 9:00 was your standard buffet, little choice but it was what you get. The buffet in the Brit Hotel (one minute walk) is a bit better, so probably worth going there.

The Restaurant at night food was very nice, and I would go there again. A lot simpler food than the more popular Brit Hotel (half french half english menu..), or more popular food (they have burger, pizza, fish etc..). Would recommend eating there.

All in all, if you want a standard cheap-ish hotel that is near the Le Mans Racetrack 5min drive and is also near the SuperU Hypermarket and Carrefour 90 store shopping centre then it is great, just don't expect anything above average room-wise, view-wise basically the lottery (lake view at the back is optimum), and food-wise it was actually pretty good.

Oh, and not to mention the 20 or so random digit wifi passcode. That will be fun for you to put in without messing up. At least it's free!

Room Tip: Quieter round the back, better lake view but more insects. If there is anything wrong with your room...
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BreceDeNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnage
1.0 km away
B&B Hotel Le Mans Sud
B&B Hotel Le Mans Sud
#3 of 5 in Arnage
61 reviews
0.1 km away
Brit Hotel Le Cottage
Brit Hotel Le Cottage
#1 of 5 in Arnage
56 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Inn Design
Hotel Inn Design
#4 of 5 in Arnage
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Ibis Le Mans Est Pontlieue
0.1 km away
hotelF1 Le Mans sud Arnage
6.9 km away
Campanile Le Mans Centre
Campanile Le Mans Centre
#16 of 41 in Le Mans
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Le Mans Sud - Arnage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Le Mans Sud - Arnage

Address: Bd Pierre Le Faucheux La Gemerie, 72230 Arnage, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Arnage
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Arnage
Price Range: RM247 - RM415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Le Mans Sud - Arnage 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Campanile Le Mans Sud - Arnage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing