We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Salt Rock Hotel & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Chaka's Rock Chalets(Shaka's Rock)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ballito Manor(Ballito)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zimbali Lodge(Ballito)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
48
70
31
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
70
31
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscurriesfamily hotelbreakfast and dinnersea viewwonderful hotelfamilies and couplestidal poolsrelaxed atmospherein seasonyour doorsteprestaurant staff were friendlybeautiful tropicalconference roomhuge windowsprawn currymuch quieteroverlooking the beach
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2018

We have just booked for our third trip to Salt Rock and beach resort. We cannot wait to visit the hotel again. It is a wonderful comfortable and homelike hotel. So nice not having to go and look for a restaurant to eat as their but every evening is absolutely delicious. Their are restaurant facilities for lunch or teas as well. Overlooking the beach with a lovely tidal pool just a short walk down the lawned bank makes everything so convenient.. All the rooms have sea views as well which is really great. Lovely sport for young, old, middle aged, and families. Room for all . Make a point of spending time there.you will not be sorry.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank whispers601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

I think everybody can find something interesting there:just couples or big families. It's very cozy, there is a swimming pool, the beach is 1 minute walk, nice restaurant (not expensive at all), girls at the reception were so helpful! In the room you are provided with shampoos, soaps, towels. They are nice and clean. You also have wi-fi there but it is very very weak in the hotel rooms. On the beach there is a "rock pool" which is very good for those who can't swim (like me). And there is a parking inside the territory, which is very convenient.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bounty0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful Jewel of a hotel. Perfect for a family holiday. Every thing about the hotel is great. Don’t expect a cement plush
Hotel. It’s one of great character and friendliness. Sometimes the service isn’t quite up to scratch. The food is great and every room has a view of the ocean to die for... A wonderful time..

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank skvarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

Iconic North Coast Hotel. Caters for families and couples that want to relax right on the beach. All the rooms have sweeping sea views. The beach is literally 10 steps away! I have spent many holidays here and it is my go to place to unwind. The hotel is famous for its classic Durban curries! Rooms are clean and well kept and the hotel has a relaxed beach hotel vibe.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great sea views
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

I definitely think this hotel creates lasting memories for all generations spending happy times at this hotel. The hotel is not modern but has all the facilities you need for a comfortable stay. The bathrooms have been renovated, the beds are comfortable and the room is very clean. The best part of the hotel is the fantastic view of the sea, palm trees and beach (all rooms are sea facing). My husband loved the sound of the sea and slept soundly every night with the windows open. The food is still the old fashioned buffet style breakfast and dinner, however the food is of a good standard and they do try to change up the menu every day. There is an ala carte menu as well and we really enjoyed the prawns and the mussels and I believe people from outside come to the hotel for the prawn curry (was a tad hot for our palates though). The kids seemed to be enjoying the pizzas made in a wood-fired pizza oven. We found the staff to be very friendly. Once we waited a while for our food. However, the hotel was very busy with people coming from outside as well, so I believe under the circumstances this is understandable. I believe the hotel could do more to improve the facilities, i.e. by adding a swimming pool at the bottom terrace by the beach bar with more loungers and umbrellas. Maybe even farm out the hiring of umbrellas and loungers to a local entrepreneur. The current pool area is quite small for the number of guests and unless you get there early you will not get a lounger. The number of kids at the hotel in season means that you are likely to be dive bombed and splashed. The whole outside of the building could do with a splash of paint. However this still does not take away from the fabulous experience we had at the hotel. We have been to the hotel out of season and obviously it is much quieter.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 411. Further away from the restaurant and bar area. We did have aircon but found the fan and open windows more pleasant.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcrow18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews