We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“If you want the best beach in the Caribbean and a friendly place to stay...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anguilla Great House Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anguilla Great House Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“If you want the best beach in the Caribbean and a friendly place to stay...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Imagine going back in time to the '50s (oh, maybe you're too young to recall that era!) to a simple beachfront cottage just steps from the prettiest walking beach in the Caribbean. Add in friendly folks eager to make your stay enjoyable (think clean rooms, decent food, simple check-in). Then, decide if you really come to Anguilla for the beach, warm water and breezes, relaxation and excellent island food within a short drive. If so (and you're ready to give up the classy resort acoutrements like designer soaps and jacuzzis which you may not need) in trade for a price you can really afford, Great House is for you. We've stayed at Great House many times and love the simplicity and being on the beach in seconds.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnandLinda614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    55
    26
    17
    7
See reviews for
10
65
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

I have been staying at the Anguilla Great House for over 20 years. Casual and friendly are the merits of the property itself. The beach is the best on Anguilla, bar none. 2 miles of flat calm warm water, it is the only place I feel comfortable swimming at night.

As far as some of the other reviews, it is not The Ritz...it is a BEACH HOTEL. Sand does get in your bed (because you are right on the beach) and yes, if you leave your sugar, toothpaste or food out, ants find them. I have stayed at some of what are considered the most luxurious hotels on the island and if you leave food out...it will happen there too! These are the tropics...but in all my years I have NEVER experienced a "bug" problem.

The best part of the property is that it feels like your home, jump in the sea, jump in the pool, stroll up to the easily accessible bar for a top shelf cocktail, dine poolside, on the beach, on your porch -- easy, laid back. The staff is extremely helpful in a genuine way. Over the years we have grown to know them as friends, toured the island with some of them....it has become a true place of comfort...a beach lover's paradise and one of the best values on the island.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank InTheBucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

I was flying from Antigua to St Thomas on CAribbean regional airline LIAT and as we landed in Anguilla en route to our final destination, a technical faulty meant we were standed over night. The airline worked fast and hard and put each passenger up about 4 miles away from teh airport at the 27 bedroom Great House, right on the beach.

It is dated - it was built in the 80s I think, but its loved. Once upon a time it was part of the Pineapple Beach Club set up but today is independent.

The staff couldnt have been friendlier - or more helpful and I was shown to my room less then 10 minutes after de-coaching from the airport. The rooms wer tile floored with bright curtains and loads of white wash. The bed was firm and the bedroom itself attractive. Outside was a colonial style vernadah and a couple of sun chairs.

The bathroom had a massage shower and perfectly clean and servicable loo and basin - and though the valinty unit was old, it was in good condition, enhanced by great complimentary products and good quality towels.

As we arrived en masse and unexpectedly, the supper menu was limited - but the qulaity offered was very good and so to the service. Brealfast the next morning was equally good, and the service equally welcoming.

This is NOT a 5 star or a 4 star hotel - its in a fabulous location, is great value for money, delivers high end 3 star plus into 4 star in all areas and was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IanBuckeridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

My wife and I have stayed at a couple different places in Anguilla, and this spot is our favorite!!! Will, the owner, and the staff are the friendliest I've ever met. The whole island is par to none. The cuisine and overall experience of The Great House is, well GREAT! We were actually married on the island at a different location, $$$, but enjoyed the comforting quaintness of this place. For our anniversary will be joining the hospitality of the GREAT HOUSE!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Anguilla Great House is defintely not your typical 5 Star Hotel but it is cozy and that is what my wife and I love. The views and breathtaking as you glimpse the neighbouring island of St. Maarten/ St. Martin. But we have a issue that should be dealt with. We have been coming here for quite some time and we always consider Anguilla Great House our second home.
Over the years of us coming here this year was extremely different. I have worked in the Marriot Hotel for quite some time and I know the up and downs the Managers and Staff gets into, but when you have a Manager shouts at a Staff like a Master shout at his Slaves it is absolutely disturbing. Mr. Wilbert Fleming shouted at one of his Staff in tone that is not aceeptable to any human being it was not me he was shouting at but my wife and I was totally ashamed, and eventhough his voice was getting louder and louder she spoke to him bakc in a decent manner in which I was proud of. Her name was Sabrina, we wanted to asked her what was the problem that he would shout at her in front of guest. We will not stop our trip of this one incident we love Anguilla Great House the staff is absolutely amazing. The best so far. But Mr. Wilbert Fleming has to apprehended on this matter cause it may cause a big down drop on the Hotel and that would be a disgrace.

Room Tip: The Ocean View room #119
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatHosueManager, Guest Relations Manager at Anguilla Great House Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
Hi David J,

We are very happy that you consider the Anguilla Great House your home away from home, and that you are considering coming back again we do appreciate our embasidors and want to thank you so much. In the Caribbean people normally speak with a lot of passion when talking to each other that may be mistaken for arguing. Here at the Anguilla Great House we are one family and the discussion that was witnissed was personal business regarding home stuff. We are very sorry that you witnissed that discussion, but it was a miss understanding.

Great House Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
3.2 km away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
2.6 km away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
14.5 km away
Arawak Beach Inn
Arawak Beach Inn
#2 of 4 in Island Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Cap Juluca
Cap Juluca
#5 of 13 in West End Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
2.7 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#3 of 13 in West End Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.5 km away
CuisinArt Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anguilla Great House Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anguilla Great House Beach Resort

Property: Anguilla Great House Beach Resort
Address: Rendezvous Bay | PO box 157, West End Village, Anguilla
Region: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#10 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
Price range (per night): RM1,038 - RM1,733
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anguilla Great House Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anguilla Great House on Rendezvous Bay!The perfect beach...a soft brush of sunrise across white powder sands, turquoise water with a calm surf that sways in and out with the tides. A few palm trees mark the green edge of where the island’s interior meets the long, open and peaceful cove.The Anguilla Great House, with its easy atmosphere and gingerbread-laced cottages, is centered right in the middle of this perfect beach. Wake up.Roll out of bed and into the sea. Laze the afternoon away on the porch,move slow, stretch out the day.At sundown, stars pierce the black sky and from the beautiful shore ofAnguilla, the lights on the mountains of nearby St.Martin sparkle like a galaxy of stars and the moon shines bright on the white sands and sea foam…This is our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd and Agoda so you can book your Anguilla Great House Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anguilla Great House Beach Hotel West End
Anguilla Great Hotel Beach
Anguilla Great Resort Beach
Anguilla Great House Beach Resort West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing