We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada Sossego Do Cantinho
Nearby Hotels
US$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ciamat Camp(Santo Amaro do Maranhao)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Pousada do Riacho(Barreirinhas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Pousada d'Areia(Barreirinhas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Pousada Menezes(Barreirinhas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Pousada Mimi(Barreirinhas)
Booking.com
View Deal
Pousada Igarape(Barreirinhas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
236
23
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
23
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

This is a simply marvelous place on the "other side" of the Rio Preguiça in Barrerinhas (MA). Situated between the "main road" (a loose sand piste between the two ferries and leading to the Lençóis Maranhenes) and the river is a hadful of small houses together with the main building.

Rooms are large, very large bathroom, effective A/C, everything spotlessly clean. The property is a very well maintained garden with tropical plants and trees, birds and the occasional colibri.

Water sport is available (kayaking, swimming). Food is excellent. Large breakfast with very good choices. Good lunches and dinners with choices of meat, fish, shrimp, pancakes, salads and pasta.

Service is personal and very attentive. We really enjoyed our five days/ four night stay here tremendously and would come back here any time.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hellmuth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this beautyfull Pousada. The owners are very helpfull and can arrange trips to the various sites to see. The rooms were extremely clean and well maintained. We saw several other pousadas in town which are in a noisy unpleasant place. Here its totally the contrary, the surrounding is very quiet and a small paradise. The river in front of the place invites for a morning bath, which is safe. Also there are kayaks for free use. You also won't find a better restaurant in town.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Peterpan6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We loved it here! Barreirinhas isn't very nice overall, but this is a little piece of beauty, peace, and comfort in the middle of it all. You have to take a boat to get over to the center of town (which is an adventure in itself - my kids loved going on the speedboat with Micael (and he took us over one night when the kids were too tired to walk - though it's not too far really). We also loved the adventure of the balsa (little barges that take your car over - there are also boats that take pedestrians for free). We reserved lunch at the pousada for the day we arrived from Sao Luis, and this was great - good food, lovely place to eat, and ready and waiting for us. We loved the free kayaks too! We also reserved all of our trips through Micael who was very helpful at figuring out what were the best options for us. Keep in mind that the lençois maranheses are seasonal (which we didn't know!) - so don't come during the dry season or it's not very impressive. Also check for rainy season. The best season seems to be after May when the lakes are full, though they are very busy in July/August when European visitors are on vacation. We really loved our stay at this pousada and highly recommend it! Call or email as all of their rooms (only 4 - they combine two adjoining ones for a family which was perfect!) are not available through booking.com (a new travel tip I learned).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenrothg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We were very positively surprised by this accommodation, existing of a few rooms in villa style in a nice garden. The rooms were very clean, nicely decorated, the owner has really an eye for detail. We found the rooms to be nicer than presented on the hotel’s website. We had lunches and diner in the hotel, all very good, ranging from fresh fish, shrimps to spaghetti’s. The owner arranged for us the trips we had selected back home and e-mail him in advance. Other e-mails were always promptly responded. As described by others, the owner picked us up with his boat. Recommended.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Brusselslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

When you’re somewhere like Lencois going on daily adventures, it’s nice to have a calm place to come back to. Sossego do Cantinho lives up to its name in every respect. Starting with the arrival on the rickety dock. We made full use of the private beach almost as soon as we dropped our bags in the room. And also every morning, while the river is calm, just watching the village wake up. We didn’t come across any restaurant in town that had better food than the home-cooked meals at the pousada, not that we wanted to. In fact, if it weren’t for the dunes beckoning on the horizon, you could be excused for not wanting to leave the hotel grounds altogether. Our villa (Caju) was spacious and clean, quiet and comfortable. If there were any improvements to be made, we would vote for wifi to be available throughout the night instead of being turned off before midnight (maybe this is an issue with the provider, and not the pousada, but the reason remains a mystery), and maybe have some kind of written guide to explain the basics like getting to Barreirinhas town (the ferry runs 24 hours, and it’s fun and friendly), options for tours (Michael can book them for you, and they generally pick you up at the front door, but some days are better for some locations), and whether the kayaks are free to use for guests (this one we never found out). But these are not complaints. Michael and his wife are friendly, quiet, and unimposing, and we would stay here again in a heartbeat. And most likely will, next chance we get.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelCalifornians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews