We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
Main Lounge - spacious, light with lots of comfy seating, tv,& dvd
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Lounge - spacious, light with lots of comfy seating, tv,& dvd
Coney Beach  A lovely beach  just 5 minutes walk - complete with donkeys and a fun fair on the beach Dining Room which is separate from the lounge plenty of room for everyone or relax and read a book
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
Main Lounge - spacious, light with lots of comfy seating, tv,& dvd
Coney Beach  A lovely beach  just 5 minutes walk - complete with donkeys and a fun fair on the beach
Dining Room which is separate from the lounge plenty of room for everyone or relax and read a book
Trecco Bay indoor heated swimming pool - just a few minutes walk away from the house
our lounge, Home from Home - plenty of seating for all - tv, dvd, and  a selection of dvd & cds
Trecco bay jets and fountains all just a short walk from the house free to use
our dining room table and chairs, sofa bed, cd player, selection of cds and books
Surfers at rest bay - hire surfboards and wet suits at the beach or take a learn to surf lesson
Kitchen with your welcome basket - home from home everything you need to make a family meal
Horse Riding across the beach with Ogmore By Sea Riding School and short drive from the property
Comfy lounge - light and spacious with room for all
Crazy golf at Trecco bay just a 5 minute walk away from the house
Beach Road , Newton Beach , on the edge of Trecco Bay Holiday Park , a walk from the house
Bedroom one - spacious room with plenty of storage
Kitchen/Breakfast room, table and chairs, fan assisted electric oven, microwave,toaster, kettle,
Ogmore by Sea Castle - go across the stepping stones - visit Merthyr Mawr with its thatched cottages
Dining Room Plenty of room for all
Separate Dining Room  - Table & Chairs, sofa, plenty of room for all
Porthcawl - coney beach - our house is situated just behind the beach on the right of the picture
Main Lounge with plenty of seating for all - home from home with tv, dvd, cd's, plus wifi, inte
Newton Beach Porthcawl just a walk away from the house
2nd bedroom
Oh I do like to be besides the seaside - in our little bathroom !!
Margam Country Park just a 15 minute car journey away, a lovely day out - lots to do for everyone
Kitchen/ Breakfast room with table and chairs - with all you will need for your home from home stay
with dvd and tv and a selection of dvds for those cozy nights in
childrens play area at Trecco Bay  , check out the crazy golf and jets and fountains
LOVELY HOME BAKED WELSH CAKES TO BUY AT THE MARKETS
Porthcaw sunset - have a lovely walk along the coast just a few minutes from the house
SWANSEA CITY INDOOR MARKET  GO BUY  SOME FRESH WELSH PRODUCE DONT FORGET SOME WARM WELSH CAKES
Kenfig Nature Reseve a 10 minute drive away from the house
Merthyr Mawr go back in time and wander through the village
Even when its windy at Porthcawl lots of fun for the Blast Kite boardersand the spectators
Rest Bay Sunset
the famous lighthouse on the edge of Coney Beach all a walk away from the house
TRECCO BAY CHILDRENS PARK , JETS & FOUNTAINS, CRAZY GOLF , SPORTS AREA, INDOOR POOL , A WALK AWAY
MC ARTHUR GLEN DESIGNER OUTLET , TO GET A CHRISTMAS BARGAIN , ONLY 15 MINUTES AWAY FROM THE HOUSE .
Coney Beach for the sunny lazy days at the beach with your bucket and spade , your picnic ,  & REST
Sunset at coney beach
Horse riding on the beach with ogmore riding school
Autumn at Castle coch
MUMBLES AND THE GOWER LESS THAN ONE HOUR AWAY
a few minutes walk away and discover The Wilderness lakes take a stroll and check out the wildlife
CARDIFF BAY ONLY 30 MINUTES AWAY
Margam Park and the resident Deer Herd
Ogmore by Sea Castle just a 15 minute car journey away , check out the old castle
Merthyr Mawr within a short drive from the house , go for a walk and discover the thatched cottages
September at Porthcawl means one thing Elvis !!! one of the biggest gathering of Elvis in the world
CITIES OF CARDIFF WITH ITS MUSEUM JUST 20 MINUTE DRIVE AWAY
CARDIFF CASTLE WITHIN A 20 MINUTE DRIVE AWAY.
Castel Coch just a short drive from Cardiff ,, in its Autumnal Setting , Looking Beautiful
September Elvis at the Sea front
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Porthcawl, Bridgend County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
3sacha
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
“not up to standards”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

big dirty paw print on master bed mattress, dog? free towels advertised for six people actually get four not even a towel each!. the advertised wifi is practically unusable. the sofa bed room has no curtains and no way of blocking the daylight at dawn. we think we were lied to as owner told us check in at 3pm yet the welcome manual clearly states 1pm lost two hours. many light bulbs blown and missing makes for poor visability. behind sofas and under beds is a general gathering of dust hair and grime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2014
Firstly I have written this response now 6 times not knowing quite how to respond !!!
BECAUSE I AM SO SO SO SAD AND DISAPPOINTED - ABOUT THESE COMMENTS THAT HAVE BEEN LEFT AGAINST OUR SITE !!!! - ' BECAUSE WE TRULY SO CARE '
Every other customer we have, has been happy with our property
Check in is at 3pm and Check out 11am which all the sites state
I note that all negative comments from this customer
please everyone be re-assured we have new mattress, you get one towel per person, plus hand towels, and 4 tea towels, you get dish clothes, if you need more 'just ask' WHICH WE STATE IN OUR BOOKLET AT THE PROPERTY AND WE ENCOURAGE PEOPLE TO ASK - WE WANT PEOPLE TO BE HAPPY - NOTHING LESS !!!
all the light bulbs are working, if they go out during your visit just ask for another bulb Wi fi is working well if there is a problem just say and we will resolve it ! the sofa bed which is in the dining room has blinds at the window and for the record this customer didnt even use the sofa bed - SO DISAPPOINTED ABOUT THESE COMMENTS - PLEASE CHECK OUT AND CONTACT OUR OTHER CUSTOMERS - - I have raised a complaint about this review as all negative not one positive not one thank you for the welcome basket for all the goodies WE left for YOU at the property no thank you for the fresh milk in the fridge when we arrived no thank you for the tea bags and coffee, no thank you for the bacon and the sausage, no thank you for the eggs, no thank you for the bread, no thank you for the salt and pepper the sugar or the coffee no thank you for the biscuits no thank you for the crisps no thank you for the cereal, no thank you for the shower gels, no thank you for the hand wash, no thank you for anything, and what about the location, central to all everything, nothing nice to say about the beaches about the lovely places to eat, what about the swimming pool a walk away the lovely jets and fountains, nothing nice or kind to say about anything Nothing to say how lovely the seaside theme at the property is, nothing nice to say about the lovely clean bedding or the lovely clean kitchen, the lovely clean bathroom, nothing nice to say at all - SMELLS LIKE A RAT TO ME !!!! I AM SO SO SAD !!!!! ALL NEGATIVE COMMENTS - WHERE OTHERS WHO HAVE COME TO OUR PROPERTY FROM AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND, FRANCE, KENT, MANCHESTER, BRECON,YORKSHIRE, BIRMINGHAM TO NAME BUT A FEW - ALL HAVE LOTS NICE TO SAY AND YET YOU WHO LIVE 8 MILES UP THE ROAD HAS ALL THESE NEGATIVE COMMENTS - LIKE I SAID I AM SO SO SO SAD - WE STRIVE TO GIVE A LOVELY PROPERTY WITH LOTS OF NICE THINGS IN A FANTASTIC PLACE, TO CLEAN THE PROPERTY AND MAKE IT SO NICE FOR PEOPLE TO ENJOY AND YES IF THERE IS SOMETHING MORE WE CAN DO - WE ENCOURAGE PEOPLE TO JUST ASK - BUT THIS CUSTOMER DID NOT ASK PLEASE CAN I HAVE MORE TOWELS, OR CAN I HAVE ANOTHER LIGHT BULB - NOTHING NOT EVEN ONE TEXT WHICH WE WOULD HAVE MORE THAN SORTED EVERYTHING OUT - BUT I KNEW NOTHING UNTIL I SEE THE REVIEWS AT THE PROPERTY -
TRIP ADVISOR AND HOLIDAY LETTINGS SAY TO KEEP OUR RESPONSE PROFESSIONAL AND COURTEOUS WITH NO PROFANITY TREATS OR ACCUSATIONS OR INSULTS WHICH I HAVE DONE - PLEASE PLEASE CHECK OUR OTHER CUSTOMERS AND FIND OUT FROM THEM QUITE HOW THEY ALL ENJOYED THEIR STAY AT OUR PLACE, - I AM SO SO SAD!!!!!! I TRULY TRULY HOPE THAT THIS ONE AND ONLY BAD COMMENT ABOUT MY PLACE PEOPLE WILL SEE IT FOR WHAT IT IS - !!!!!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela B
Nantwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a week with my sister, Apartment was very clean and comfortable, lots of space, very relaxing. Welcome basket was great enjoyed it all. Loved Porthcawl hope to come back to The Gateway next year. Thanks to Kay & Andrew.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22Alpine
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Accomodation”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Welcome basket very nice touch everything you need to start your holiday, accommodation very clean and spacious, excellent welcome would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious living rooms
Liked least: Not being able to shut the door of the second bedroom, the bed frame was in the way
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbiddyS...
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great welcome basket!!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Easy to find this bright white apartment. Property was clean and tidy and all we wanted from a holiday home. The welcome basket was amazing, bread, butter, marmalade, eggs ,bacon, crisps, biscuits, milk, tea, coffee and selection of mini cereal boxes! What more could you want? 4 in my party- my husband and another couple. The men played golf every day. Some fantastic courses around Porthcawl and if anyone wants to know where they played please ask.
Kay and Andrew the owners readily available if needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bright airy apartment
Liked least: Main road location, no back garden space.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose5671
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The gateway is very nicley decorated ad convenient for everything Porthcawl has to offer. The owners are very friendly and helpful and communication was excellent we were greeted at the door and shown everything. There was no stress or bother at all, we went straight into relaxing mode and stayed like that the whole time

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing