We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing cottages in an idyllic setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private garden & hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Private garden & hot tub
Local Welcome Basket
Spa treatments available
Bala White water rafting nearby
Snowdonia National Park
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
katyb1234
Haslington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing cottages in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Fantastic family holiday to Rivercatcher in Wales. Fabulous cottages which are beautifully furnished and set in a peaceful setting. Totally idyllic and most of all very relaxing.

The kids loved the large enclosed garden area and the hot tub (which we asked Aled (maintenance guy), to turn down to the temperature of a warm bath so they could stay in for long periods, which was no trouble.

The men loved the fly fishing and caught some Grayling - my husbands first and my nephews biggest!.

Myself, my mum and sister in law just enjoyed wandering around the grounds, watching the wildlife and the smaller children play (oh and a little baking).

Then we all enjoyed games in front of the log burner at night.

Perfect!

We stayed for three nights and in the two days we were there we did not leave the grounds. On the way we visited Llangollen and on the way home Chirk Castle which were fantastic family days out and very close by.

Would highly recommend and we will be returning again... hopefully soon.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is the second time we have stayed here such an iydilic place very welcoming and lovely treats for your stay!
Aled is such a nice person and we will be definitley coming again next year probably with family as the 4 and 5 bedrooms look amazing!!

Thank YouRrivercatcher and see you again soon!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elainecha...
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luxurious cottage with beautiful surroundings!”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Both me and my parter stayed in ghillie's Cottage from the 16th-19th September 2015. This was booked as a surprise for my partners birthday. I've always been really fond of Wales but ghillie's Cottage just made it the most amazing stay. We were welcomed with a lovely food hamper courtesy of river catcher which was a brilliant extra (the shortbread and fruit loaf were especially nice!). The hot tub is fabulous, we did a lot of walking and this certainly eased our muscles after a long day. The wood burner is also lovely, makes you feel really at home and warms the cottage very quick if your feeling nippy !
I loved the fact that rivercatcher is set away from the main town and roads, it really did make it so quiet and relaxing. However there is plenty to do, Llandrillo is just down the road as well as Corwyn and bala. We travelled to snowdon the one day, which took about an hour by car, but was well worth it.
All in all our stay at ghillie's Cottage was amazing, and I would certainly recommend it to anyone! Definately considering coming back next year!
Thank you rivercatcher!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catc000
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, modern and well equipped cottage in beautiful riverside location”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed here for a week in Sept 2015 after taking part in a triathlon in nearby Bala.
Location was perfect for us, 15 minutes drive from Bala, but set in a really peaceful and private location by the river.
Visited Pistyll Raedar waterfall, Betws-y-Coed, climbed Snowden, and did some wild swimming in nearby lakes - overall a great place to visit for those that like the outdoors.
We loved the good wifi connection, Netflix, and hot tub - we made good use of all 3 every day of our stay!
Note that neither of us could get any phone signal at all in the property, although we found this was quite common throughout a lot of North Wales! Didn't bother us too much, but may be inconvenient for some.
The cottage is spacious enough for 2 people, definitely doesn't feel cramped, lovely views of the river from the kitchen windows.
Well equipped with everything you would need for a self catering holiday, there was nothing missing at all.
Aled the groundskeeper is friendly and welcoming, greeting us every day and making sure all was ok.
Overall we enjoyed our stay so much we're thinking of returning for next year's triathlon - would also love to return with family and try out Gamekeepers or Flyfishers.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakingfla...
Nuneaton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“What a gem, simply idyllic”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautiful cottage, stunning scenery a true little haven to relax and recharge the batteries. We thought the photos on the internet were lovely but the reality it quite spectacular. I could have sat in the hot tub admiring the view and been very happy. The owners have really made every effort to make your stay special. The decor and fittings are of high quality but the feel is not prentious but homely and comfortable. The grounds are well maintained but lend to their surroundings. Try the local hotel the Dudley Arms the new owners are very welcoming and the locals so friendly. We will most definitely be visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$151
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing