We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Flyfishers Cottage located on the banks of the River Dee.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Flyfishers Cottage located on the banks of the River Dee.
Stunning Lounge with river views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Flyfishers Cottage located on the banks of the River Dee.
Stunning Lounge with river views
Warming hot drink in front of the woodburner
Dining for Six
Twin bedroom
Master Bedroom with large en suite & river views
Large family Bathroom
View from master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
shreddie1
chichester
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Peaceful home from home”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our second stay to Rivercatcher, this time in Flyfishers, which didn't disappoint. Unlike so many holiday rentals, this little complex is beautifully converted, tastefully deocorated and extremely well maintained. If you are expecting a peaceful home from home on the edge of a crystal clear river (which the kids loved swimming in before soaking in the hot tub) then this will not disappoint.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cerit101
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful family and dog-friendly cottage, lovely views, tranquil location”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Flyfisher's Cottage at Rivercatcher has a prime spot looking over a bend in the River Dee. This was ideal for the family fishing enthusiasts and gave the rest of us peace to enjoy the steamy hot-tub with a bottle (or two) of prosecco.
The cottage and grounds were immaculate; the welcome basket generous; attention to detail faultless.
Our doggy friend was well catered for, but we didn't let her off lead in the garden as sheep families sauntered right past the fence which she could have got under - it did keep her amused though!
A short walk into Llandrillo led us to the Berwyn Restaurant, where the welcome and the home cooking were hearty - not even the Welsh drizzle could dampen our spirits on the walk back!
The only problem was we didn't stay long enough! Three nights just wasn't enough to chill and see what the area truly has to offer. We will be back.....

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Thanks so much for the review! Its so lovely to hear about your stay and how much you enjoyed it. As a consequence of your review we have now altered the fences so that little dogs cant escape. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Many thanks, Jen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lmairjone...
Llandudno
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My friend, who lives in Sydney wanted a traditional Welsh setting for her wedding and asked me to visit Rivercatcher in October. The minute I drove up the drive I knew it would be perfect!

We've just come back from the most amazing weekend there! Everything was perfect, clean, spacious and the Hot Tubs were fantastic!! Me and my partner can't wait to book a family holiday there this winter for a 2 night stay as it has the perfect setting. I can not recommend Rivercatcher enough!!

The Dudley Arms in the nearest town offers a great pub environment with a fantastic Sunday Roast too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hot Tub
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGMJ1
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in the most beautiful surroundings!”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed here for May bank holiday week and had one of the nicest holidays we've ever experienced. The cottage was just lovely, beautiful decor and it had everything we needed. We were very lucky with the weather (not a drop of rain) but I imagine it's just as nice in rain, wind and snow! Really, really lovely!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stylish, tasteful, cosy and dog friendly”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Fantastic location on the River Dee, we stayed at Flyfishers Cottage which had a wonderful position for the setting sun over the river. Hot tub under a starry night was a treat after an evening at the local pub the Dudley Arms in Llandrillo followed by a great walk at the nearby Pistyll Rhaedr falls and then an evening meal at the very smart Tyddyn Llan restaurant. Both evening venues were walking distance from Flyfishers cottage so ideal for not having to worry about cars or taxis.
All in all an excellent stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing