We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little place, and a great base for...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Aups, Var, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
PaulWGC
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely little place, and a great base for exploring the region”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a super stay at this friendly and professionally run little rental. The hosts are excellent - very friendly, full of ideas about the local region, and efficient in their communications both before and after the stay.

The property is an ideal size for a couple - useful sized kitchen, nice outdoor space, a good bedroom / bathroom, and all the household items you could possibly want to make the stay hassle-free. It's all very clean and tidy on arrival, and is maintained to excellent standards. The provision of all the basic household items is an excellent approach by the owners, and makes the stay easier and cheaper. The supermarket across the road is great too, as is the communal pool and sun-lounger area within the property.

Aups itself is a solid location to be based in for exploring the Var region. It's within 25 mins of the Verdon Gorges, and all the beautiful hill villages are close too. You will need a car, but the exploring is easy. Don't miss out Aups itself too - pretty and lively village with good places to eat and drink and some lovely old streets and little shops - without being overly twee and touristy. It's a 15 min walk to town from the property, so leave the car behind and tuck into the excellent local rose. The Restaurant Des Gourmets is the pick of the town for dinner.

The only slight downside to the property is some noise from the main road, which is a little closer than ideal. It can make early nights / lie ins a little bit tricky, as there is a fair amount of traffic passing. To be fair to the owners, this is flagged on their website, so it shouldn't surprise anyone on arrival. It also means that lazing by the pool has a fair bit of background traffic noise, so if your plan is just to lie around in the sun, perhaps look for other options. But as a base for exploring and having your own little place in Provence (at least for a few days), this is an absolute delight and I'd have no hesitation in recommending.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRWright
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation in an outstanding region.”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a great week at Le Genevrier, lots of beautiful scenery and hilltop villages to explore. The Gorges du Verdon and lake are brilliant, we've never seen water so blue! We especially liked the pool, whilst Colin and Sandra were excellent hosts. Aups is a 15 minute walk away with a decent choice of restaurants but Tourtour is a really good alternative for a meal, as is Cotignac. The waterfall at Sillans is also worth a visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanidoo
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Second helpings”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Having stayed at this property last year, we wanted to return . Colin and Sandra are such good hosts. There if you need them , but not intrusive. We can recommend the BBQ night, terrific food and lots of wine. If you like wine, then the wine tasting is a must. This is a chance to a chance to sample around 6 different wine, all locally produced, but not a selling event. There are nibbles to go with the wine and then,just when you think you are getting a little light headed, food appears , which is delightful. We have now stayed in both 1 bedroom Gites and liked them both, very comfortable beds and pillows. Crisp clean white bed linen makes for a great night sleep. Very well equipped kitchen, everything you can think of to cook with, including a blender! Le Truffiere has a large double bed which we prefer, and the terrace is lovely. Genevrier has more spacious living area, and the terrace is conveniently opposite the pool. Either place would not disappoint. This property is on the main road, and although you can hear the traffic, this does not detract from the lovely surroundings, and did not put us off. You cannot see the road from the accommodation which is behind a lot of hedges, and electric security gate. Ideally opposite a great supermarket, which is handy.
Aups is a great Town about 10 minutes walk away, several good restaurants and interesting shops and superb market. This location is great to visit the surrounding area, even a trip to the coast is only an hour away.
We flew in from Nice airport which is about 1 & 1/2 hours away, easy journey, and Colin does not mind waiting up for your arrival.
Take advantage of the frozen food available that Sandra prepares, we have hade a meal each time for the first night we arrived and would recommend.
If you request, Sandra will do some shopping for you, so if you are arriving late at night, it is worth asking for the basics so that you have breakfast. There is a good stock of coffee, tea and sugar, and a lovely welcome gift, of crostini and wine.
We will definitely return, lovely relaxing holiday, with everything that we needed, even fantastic weather. A very big thank you to Colin and Sandra for creating such a perfect holiday home.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fran H
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting, food and wine!”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Prior to the visit Sandra was very helpful in providing information, maps and clear instructions on how to get there. This meant that our arrival was easy and stress free. The apartment has everything you need, including coffee, milk, loo roll, washing tablets etc. meaning that we did not need to buy big packets of these things and instead just used want we needed. Although the weather had let us down a little this did not detract from enjoying a restful week here, visiting local villages and the beautiful Lac du Saint-Croix, alongside the breath-taking views along the gorge du Verdon - all a must do! Thanks to Sandra and Colin who ensured we had everything we needed and they pitched the right balance between being seen and not seen! I beautiful area, one which I am certain we will come back to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Mari...
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“They think of everything!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

An excellent, well equipped gite which was a great base to explore a lovely region and a relaxing place to chill out when tired of sight seeing. Sandra and Colin were really hospitable and have put a lot of thought into absolutely every aspect of what people look for in a holiday. The gite is on the edge of a town, just a 10 minute stroll. It is also very close to s large supermarket which is extremely convenient. There is the opportunity to order meals cooked by Sandra and after a long journey this was a really welcome facility. It was also gorgeous food! Sandra is an excellent cook.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$134
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing