We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incrediable, Beautiful, Amazing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo il Bastione
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Spello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2016

We had a few unexpected days in Italy so it was by sheer luck that we stumbled on to Agritourism Il Bastione. After checking on Trip Advisor for lodging in Umbria we found Il Bastione and lucky for us we got their last room. It was olive harvest and the family was working hard. Jacopo took time to greet us, he gave us a tour of the beautiful property and made us feel right at home. We had dinner with them both nights that we stayed there and what a treat! The four course meals were truly extraordinary which were prepared by Nona and the entire family. Everything was local and seasonal: from antipasti of pecorino cheese, cured meats, and mushrooms, to delicious soups, entrees and desserts. We enjoy the fresh pressed olive oil and we brought home a couple bottles to enjoy the wonderful flavors and memories of Umbria. We look forward to our next trip to Italy and we will go to Spello again so we can stay at our favorite “Agritourism home” in Umbria.

Room Tip: Any room there would be a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ruby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2016

Absolutely fantastic accommodation, perfect service.
Location: about a mile of a country road from one of the Spello city gates (north of the city). A side note: take a 3 min detour to a southern entrance - plenty of free parking, closer to the centro and restaurants.
A former castle, converted into a few accommodations and several common places, on a steep slope overlooking the valley. Thousands of olive trees below and above. We stayed there for 5 nights making il Bastione our base for Umbria exploration. Spello area is probably the best such place if you want to spend some time in Umbria driving no longer than 40 min to pretty much any destination. We visited: Spello, Montone, Citta di Castello, Trevi, Montefalco, Spoleto, Scheggino, Marmore Falls, Assisi, Gubbio, Bettona, Todi, Bevagna - all in 5 days, mostly with a short driving trips.
There are several rooms in il Bastione, most visitors stayed one or two nights; we stayed in the only one available for 5 nights - scudiero room, which is a separate unit on a side of the main structure, on the ground floor, with its own entry. While perfectly sufficient, it has no view - there is only a glass entry door with privacy curtains. However, the great view is just outside once you step out (see picture).
The dining room is outstanding, by size, shape, and ornamentation (see picture). About dining: the guests are given an option of having a full dinner, no menu, you eat what you are served, for $25 per person, which includes rather decent unlimited red or white local wine. The dinner is a high quality and large quantity 5 course meal with antipasti, soup, pasta, meat, dolce, coffee/tea/spirits. Normally, you are supposed to request a dinner in the morning, over breakfast (which is basically, whatever you want, they will serve it to you), however, on the day of arrival you have the option of dinning in. We had the dinner twice, and they were different and very, very good, each meal, each time. There are very few guests in the dining room, usually one to 3 tables, and the service is outstanding.
It is a family run business, and you can see them all working their best to make the guests happy: Jacobo, who speaks sufficient English and shows very nice personality, his father who is always on the property doing stuff, Jacobo's wife, and even grandma, providing recipes and help with food.
The tap water is not potable, and the guest are provided with unlimited free bottles of natural water. There was a big storm one evening, and the lights stayed on all the time, which is a good sign.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Pavel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We completely lucked out by staying here. The owners are incredible kind. This place is an incredible value. Beautiful views, incredible food, and the building is beautiful. It's a bit out of the way but, that's why you go to Umbria. Having a car made it so easy to get around to the neighboring towns. Only downside was the old, soft bed. It was like staying in a small castle.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We had a wonderful five day stay at Agriturismo il Bastione, on a hill overlooking the ancient hill town of Spello and the Umbrian valley. Based on the reviews we read, we had high expectations and our expectations were exceeded. The drive up what is essentially a mile long driveway makes you wonder just where you are heading, but the place is spectacularly located, the rooms quite modern, in a stone building, part quite old and the rest new but in matching style. The hosts are warm and helpful, Jocobo in particular. Nona, the grandmother who does all the incredible cooking is charming. The optional meals are amazing a maybe even overwhelming, and a real bargain. We ate in town only once - for a change of pace and a smaller meal - but couldn't resist otherwise.

We stayed in one of the smaller rooms (#3) with nice views and a separate entrance if we liked. Not big, but nice. (There are only six rooms; reserve well in advance.) The shower stall in our bathroom was pretty small, not a problem for us but a big person would find it a challenge or impossible. A review said you could hear neighbors, and that is certainly true for this room (our hosts told us the same when we booked) but we travel with a white noise maker (or app) so that was never an issue for us.

Spello is well located for seeing Umbria. We took day trips to Gubbio, Todi, Bevagna, Assisi, Montefalco, and even Siena (2 hours, maybe a bit more because of traffic near Perugia). We skipped Norcia because of the earthquake. We started and ended in Orvieto, where we rented a car to avoid Rome traffic, and the night spent in Orvieto was well worth it and two nights might have been even better.

Three things to do that one might not consider: a walk along the Roman aqueduct running from Spello to Collepino and beyond, with wonderful views; a drive across the top of Mt. Subasio, with great views to the east and west and north, and where we came upon a herd of wild horses; and one of the back roads between Spello and Assisi.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 47Willow47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

This was one of our favourite places to stay in our three week trip to Italy. We had confirmed our stay at Il Bastione by telephone, and upon arrival, met our wonderful host, Jacapo. He gave us a tour of this wonderful place, surrounded by olive groves, and situated on a hill overlooking the town of Spello. The view down into the valley is spectacular. There are several outdoor sitting areas, but our favourite was on the comfortable lounging chairs beside a lovely pool. On a hot day, nothing could be more inviting. The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms are stocked with shampoo, soap, lotion etc., which you don't find in many B&B's in Italy. But the best reason to come to Il Bastione? Stay for the evening meal, and you will be amply rewarded. There were five courses altogether, and each one was a delight, from the soup to the pasta to the dessert. It was all lovingly prepared by Jacapo's grandmother. Many of the ingredients used in the meal are grown either on the property, or in the surrounding area. It was very reasonably priced, and included wine. The breakfast was also very ample, and included fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast or pastries, etc. They also have their own olive oil for sale, as well as other farm products, such as farro and lentils. Our suitcases were bulging when we
left, and these provided lovely gifts upon our return home.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank anncL5381HR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spello
1.9 km away
La Bastiglia
La Bastiglia
#1 of 10 in Spello
536 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Il Cacciatore
Hotel Il Cacciatore
#4 of 10 in Spello
118 reviews
2.5 km away
Palazzo Bocci
Palazzo Bocci
#5 of 10 in Spello
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Albergo del Teatro
Albergo del Teatro
#6 of 10 in Spello
52 reviews
10.2 km away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
680 reviews
2.7 km away
Terra Dei Santi Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo il Bastione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo il Bastione

Address: Via Fontemonte 3, 06038 Spello, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spello
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Spello
Price Range: RM567 - RM581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo il Bastione is a farmhouse in Spello. The historic house is an architectural medieval jewel , builded in 1300. Its position on the hill is an extraordinary beauty, surrounded by a thousand olive trees, adjacent to the Nature Reserve of Subasio, distant 1.7 km from the historic center of Spello, near Assisi, Perugia, Montefalco, Bevagna, Foligno and the other most beautiful towns of Umbria. Many paths are around Agriturismo il Bastione. One of this is panoramic, in direction to Assisi crossing the wonderful park of Subasio. The Bastione is an umbrian typical restaurant. Expert hands produce every dish , with our products of superior quality. In our Agriturismo every meal is of the umbrian tradition and it follow the experience of our grand mothers. We offer to our customers special Umbrian wines and extra-virgin olive oil, that we produce with the methods of the past. Agriturismo il Bastione has comfortable and panoramic bed-rooms. There are different types of rooms: Suite, Scudiero, classical. Each bedroom has a private bathroom, air conditioning, refrigerator, TV, private entrance. Daily cleaning-service in the bedroom. Agriturismo il Bastione is perfect to meet the different needs of tourists who want to visit Umbria. Panoramic swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo il Bastione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing