We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$150
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Nuovo Albergo Il Portonaccio(Spello)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Residenza dei Cappuccini(Spello)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Pekko Country House(Spello)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
La Bastiglia(Spello)
US$107
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$74
B&B.it
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B I Narcisi(Spello)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
235
26
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
26
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshunting lodgepastaolive treesantipasticourse dinnerfive coursesthis wonderful placelocal ingredientsfantastic foodhistoric centergorgeous poolincredible valuewonderful accommodationswould love to return one dayshort drivecommon areasbreathtaking views
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Absolutely fantastic accommodation, perfect service.
Location: about a mile of a country road from one of the Spello city gates (north of the city). A side note: take a 3 min detour to a southern entrance - plenty of free parking, closer to the centro and restaurants.
A former castle, converted into a few accommodations and several common places, on a steep slope overlooking the valley. Thousands of olive trees below and above. We stayed there for 5 nights making il Bastione our base for Umbria exploration. Spello area is probably the best such place if you want to spend some time in Umbria driving no longer than 40 min to pretty much any destination. We visited: Spello, Montone, Citta di Castello, Trevi, Montefalco, Spoleto, Scheggino, Marmore Falls, Assisi, Gubbio, Bettona, Todi, Bevagna - all in 5 days, mostly with a short driving trips.
There are several rooms in il Bastione, most visitors stayed one or two nights; we stayed in the only one available for 5 nights - scudiero room, which is a separate unit on a side of the main structure, on the ground floor, with its own entry. While perfectly sufficient, it has no view - there is only a glass entry door with privacy curtains. However, the great view is just outside once you step out (see picture).
The dining room is outstanding, by size, shape, and ornamentation (see picture). About dining: the guests are given an option of having a full dinner, no menu, you eat what you are served, for $25 per person, which includes rather decent unlimited red or white local wine. The dinner is a high quality and large quantity 5 course meal with antipasti, soup, pasta, meat, dolce, coffee/tea/spirits. Normally, you are supposed to request a dinner in the morning, over breakfast (which is basically, whatever you want, they will serve it to you), however, on the day of arrival you have the option of dinning in. We had the dinner twice, and they were different and very, very good, each meal, each time. There are very few guests in the dining room, usually one to 3 tables, and the service is outstanding.
It is a family run business, and you can see them all working their best to make the guests happy: Jacobo, who speaks sufficient English and shows very nice personality, his father who is always on the property doing stuff, Jacobo's wife, and even grandma, providing recipes and help with food.
The tap water is not potable, and the guest are provided with unlimited free bottles of natural water. There was a big storm one evening, and the lights stayed on all the time, which is a good sign.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Pavel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We completely lucked out by staying here. The owners are incredible kind. This place is an incredible value. Beautiful views, incredible food, and the building is beautiful. It's a bit out of the way but, that's why you go to Umbria. Having a car made it so easy to get around to the neighboring towns. Only downside was the old, soft bed. It was like staying in a small castle.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We had a wonderful five day stay at Agriturismo il Bastione, on a hill overlooking the ancient hill town of Spello and the Umbrian valley. Based on the reviews we read, we had high expectations and our expectations were exceeded. The drive up what is essentially a mile long driveway makes you wonder just where you are heading, but the place is spectacularly located, the rooms quite modern, in a stone building, part quite old and the rest new but in matching style. The hosts are warm and helpful, Jocobo in particular. Nona, the grandmother who does all the incredible cooking is charming. The optional meals are amazing a maybe even overwhelming, and a real bargain. We ate in town only once - for a change of pace and a smaller meal - but couldn't resist otherwise.

We stayed in one of the smaller rooms (#3) with nice views and a separate entrance if we liked. Not big, but nice. (There are only six rooms; reserve well in advance.) The shower stall in our bathroom was pretty small, not a problem for us but a big person would find it a challenge or impossible. A review said you could hear neighbors, and that is certainly true for this room (our hosts told us the same when we booked) but we travel with a white noise maker (or app) so that was never an issue for us.

Spello is well located for seeing Umbria. We took day trips to Gubbio, Todi, Bevagna, Assisi, Montefalco, and even Siena (2 hours, maybe a bit more because of traffic near Perugia). We skipped Norcia because of the earthquake. We started and ended in Orvieto, where we rented a car to avoid Rome traffic, and the night spent in Orvieto was well worth it and two nights might have been even better.

Three things to do that one might not consider: a walk along the Roman aqueduct running from Spello to Collepino and beyond, with wonderful views; a drive across the top of Mt. Subasio, with great views to the east and west and north, and where we came upon a herd of wild horses; and one of the back roads between Spello and Assisi.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 47Willow47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

This was one of our favourite places to stay in our three week trip to Italy. We had confirmed our stay at Il Bastione by telephone, and upon arrival, met our wonderful host, Jacapo. He gave us a tour of this wonderful place, surrounded by olive groves, and situated on a hill overlooking the town of Spello. The view down into the valley is spectacular. There are several outdoor sitting areas, but our favourite was on the comfortable lounging chairs beside a lovely pool. On a hot day, nothing could be more inviting. The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms are stocked with shampoo, soap, lotion etc., which you don't find in many B&B's in Italy. But the best reason to come to Il Bastione? Stay for the evening meal, and you will be amply rewarded. There were five courses altogether, and each one was a delight, from the soup to the pasta to the dessert. It was all lovingly prepared by Jacapo's grandmother. Many of the ingredients used in the meal are grown either on the property, or in the surrounding area. It was very reasonably priced, and included wine. The breakfast was also very ample, and included fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast or pastries, etc. They also have their own olive oil for sale, as well as other farm products, such as farro and lentils. Our suitcases were bulging when we
left, and these provided lovely gifts upon our return home.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank anncL5381HR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

On our road trip this year we wanted to visit Assisi and hence spent 1 night in a hotel nearby. We chose Il Bastione in Spello. Driving to the Agriturismo (which is up a hill in the countryside), created some uncertainty if our GPS was taking us in the right place. But just as we reached the top of the hill, we saw this imposing structure surrounded by olive trees with magnificent views of the village below. In Bastione is an example of a finely restored building and boasts a wonderful pool/deck area. The location is peaceful and the views are unforgettable. Jacopo and his father Luciano, who run this place, surely have something to boast about. The rooms are clean and adequate. Breakfast was one of the best we had in Italy. We also opted for dinner on the day of our arrival, this was a genuine expression of Umbrian cuisine and was well priced. For those who like walking, the surrounding area has some great paths, with one leading directly to Assisi (approx 2 hrs). A visit to Spello is also advisable.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews