We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (892)
Filter reviews
892 results
Traveller rating
208
382
176
79
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
382
176
79
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gofio sea view beautiful beach alternative hotel small sauna hotel charge all inclusive concept spanish omelette animation team amstel lager kids activities wear trousers one device at a time aqua gym nudist beach turkish bath beach towels
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 892 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Visited the SBH Club Paraiso Playa in May and had an amazing holiday! Went with 10 members of the family and each of us had a great time. The hotel rooms are slightly old fashion and the 'garden view' is really trees blocking a car park but as a lot of reviews say, why do you go on holiday just to spend all your time in the room? The rooms with the sea view are great though. The hotel is situated just a large set of steps above the beautiful beach, but is well worth the walk down and the view from the reception level of the hotel is fab! The food i felt was incredible, such great options and also for my grandad who is vegetarian.. He ate more than all of us! Really friendly staff i must add, apart from one of the ladies on reception was quite abrupt but you always find theres always one! The only downside for me is the evening entertainment but with 10 of us, we had our own laughs in the area near the bar. The town is also lovely and just a short bus or taxi ride. The zoo is also a great day out with many experience to choose from! And if we had a chance to do the jet skiing which i loved! 100% would go back!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Adventure622830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Club Paraiso Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Dear Jeff,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the SBH Club Paraiso Playa. We are disappointed to see that not all aspects of the hotel were up to your expectation, but at the same time we are delighted you had such an amazing holiday.

We have passed on your comment to the Front Office team for further review, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will also mention your comments to our Entertainment team.

We hope to welcome you and your family again soon!
Kind and sunny regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

The view is outstanding. The beach is much nicer than the one I went to in Riviera Maya, Mexico!!! The animation team: Lupa, Giovanni, Martina, Aliz, Melanie and especially Lukas and Isac were amazing. No matter what nationality you are, this team and hotel cater for all. I travelling with my 17 yr old daughter and we had an amazing time. Lupa, Jasmine what's to join the team!!
The hotel rooms could do with an update but the cleanliness of the whole hotel is second to none. A few recommendations would be:
A heated pool, fridge and tea, coffee making facilities in the room and some British TV channels. As I said these are recommendations NOT a complaint.
We would definitely return to this hotel. Thanks for a great holiday

Room Tip: Pay that little extra for a sea view room, definitely worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wendyw927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Club Paraiso Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Dear Wendyw927,

Firstly thank you for recognising individual departments which delivered top notch service to make your stay with us comfortable, and we will duly forward your compliments to all our teams.
Thank you very much for the time taken to share your opinion about our SBH Club Paraiso Playa with us. We were delighted to read you had such an amazing holiday with us. We will definitely take your recommendations into consideration, thank you for sharing these with us.
It was our pleasure to host you, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our SBH Club Paraiso Playa.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Too warm in room, AC not realy cooling,
Pools not heated,
Elevator damaged on friday morning, monday (as we left) still damaged.
Room clean, stuff nice. Food ok. Great for families. Not recomanded for elderly people, or disabled, because of many stairs and long waiting at the elevator. Many stairs to the ocean.

Room Tip: All rooms with ocean viev, eaven it it is from the side
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DorisR642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Club Paraiso Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Dear Doris R,

We are very sorry to read you have not enjoyed your holiday and we haven’t lived up to your expectations. Our goal is to fulfil our client’s expectations and make their holiday an unforgettable one.

Our maintenance team is available to our guest in case minor reparations have to be done e.g. the AC is not really cooling. We can guarantee our competent staff works as quickly as possible to find a suitable solution.

We are happy to read you have enjoyed our delicious food as you chef shows a lot of dedication and passion while preparing the wide range of our high quality food.

We would love to welcome you again soon if not in our SBH Club Paraiso Playa perhaps in one of our other SBH hotels.

Kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel is definitely not a 4 star it is a average 3 star.

Bad points-
1.Room very basic as mentioned in other reviews. Our room was on 5th floor sea view room (definitely pay for a sea view room), the room was right at the end which was ok during the daytime but at night the wind was so strong our door was shaking. The door had black stains all over it inside. Tv was very old and didnt have even one english channel. Beds are uncomfortable definitely not a 4 star standard ive been to alot of places in europe and never slept in a bed like that in a 4 star hotel. If you ask for a double bed you will get two single beds pushed together. Have to pay for the safe but we seen that on other reviews so we took padlocks with us. Air conditioning wasnt brilliant so be prepared to feel hot at night.
2. No bottled water given in rooms or anywhere around the hotel if you wanted bottled water you have to pay for it in the hotel shop or the vending machine. Cheaper to get it at the hotel shop €1 for a big bottle where as vending machine charges €1.50 for a small bottle.
3. Dinner choice got boring for us again for a 4 star there should have been more effort put in the variety. Breakfast and lunch was fine.
4. Have to pay for wi-fi we were only there for 5 days but had to pay €25 which is 7 days worth...we had no choice but pay as we wanted to use it to check news and watch things on our phones as tv didnt have english channels. Also wi-fi can only be used one device at a time. I read on another review the reason for this is because of the location of the hotel- thats not good enough...ive been to a hotel in Mexico which was literally in the middle of nowhere and had free wi-fi and 4 devices could connect at the same time.
5. Reception staff seemed more happy talking to the german/spanish/french guests. Passports were taken from us when we checked in without any explanation just got told to collect them the next day.
6. Regarding drinks at night the dining hall had beer, sangria, white wine and red wine on tap - sangria tasted watered down and just tasted like normal red wine. Only beer available was Amstel which again tasted watered down. Cocktails that were made at the bar are pre mixed cocktails from a bottle that are just poured in a glass for you.
7. Swimming pool is freezing! You wont see alot of adults in the pool as its so cold its not very enjoyable especially when you've got wind blowing aswell.
8. We took our own beach towels as read in other reviews they dont give them unless you leave a deposit.
9. Very windy anywhere you sit around the pool - drinks were given in plastic cups if you are sitting by the pool but the wind kept knocking them- even when we double cupped them

Good points
1. Beach is stunning first time i have been to a beach like that in europe. There are around 100 steps to go down to the beach but its well worth it water is clear and lovely to go in- cold but warmer then the pool.
2. We left the hotel at 7.30am to go to the airport they made arrangements for us to have breakfast early.
3. Staff around the hotel and animation team are great and thats what is keeping the hotel going.
4. Hotel is clean enough - only thing that made us worried was there was alot of cheese out in the dining hall so we didnt eat it as it looked sweaty.
5. The person at the tour desk is very friendly and helpful he booked us in to go to Oasis Park explained everything clearly and also recommend the right camel ride to go on. If you get a chance this is a must see place animals are great the camel ride is really good and well worth the money €12 for adults and you get to see the whole coast. There are two different types they do Zone 1 and Zone 2. Zone 1 is the best one. You get a free bus to the park from the hotel and back to the hotel.

Other things to consider:
-We booked with travel republic and booked the holiday with transfers which i would suggest as the hotel is around 90mins from the airport so dont know how much that would be in a taxi. Very organised at the airport regarding transfers and picked us up on time aswell.
- It gets very windy in the evening so take a cardigan/hoody to wear sometimes warm wind sometimes a bit cold.
- If you go to the hotel shop the man thats normally behind the till has no manners at all and doesnt smile at all - doesnt leave a good reputation for the hotel.

I have based my review on what i think should be a 4 star and other 4 star hotels ive been too. I think this hotel has been based as a 4 star based on location and beach but a 4 star should cover all aspects of the hotel from the staff to the room to the food and drink. I personally wouldnt stay at the hotel again and im glad we were only there for 4 nights/5 days.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
5  Thank krupa_galoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Club Paraiso Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Dear krupa_galoria,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for have taken the time to write such a detailed report about our SBH Club Paraiso Playa. Your opinion is valuable for us as it gives us an idea of where we could improve our services. We will now review all points and pass them on to our heads of departments.
We would also like to share with you and potential clients that our hotel is a 4 Star hotel the ranking was given to us by official authorities. We maintain our 4* standard by taking care of various points such as daily maintenance of the hotel and gardens and of course cleanliness within the whole hotel as well as all our rooms.
We are sorry we haven’t meet your expectations.

If for any reason a client is not satisfied with their allocated room, our helpful and very professional reception staff can assist you with organising a room change. Reception is manned 24/7 and will listen to your complaints if there are any and will find a solution quickly. They can for example contact maintenance for minor repairs like the temperature of the A/C.

Extra costs like Safe or Wifi come with a fee to guarantee good value for money. These extra charges are also pointed out in all the catalogues and most clients are informed prior to their stay with us. We are sorry you haven’t received this information before your stay in our beautiful SBH Club Paraiso Playa.

Clients are more then welcome to take their drinks to their rooms at night time. Our bars stay open till 01:00 am. As you have rightly pointed out the clients can purchase bottles in our vending machines or the hotel shop if they wish to.

We would also like to point out quality and variety is very important to us whether it is service, food or beverages.
Our kitchen staff prepares the wide range of food freshly every day and does so with a lot of passion for their work.
The goal of our always helpful, friendly and professional staff from all areas of the hotel is to meet all the expectations of our clients.
We are sorry you didn’t see it that way.

Thank you very much for all the tips regarding transfer, excursions and weather in Fuerteventura we are sure potential clients will appreciate your input.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope you were able to take some positive memories back home.

Kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

We had a good week at this reasonably short notice booking (about 6 weeks ago), but that was more down to the people we went with and trips we took rather than the location. The beach is as shown - beautiful and Caribbean style - however, as others have posted - there are no sun loungers on the beach at the nearest part to the hotel as it is often far TOO WINDY to sit out - the wind can be so powerful that we saw loungers by the pool actually blown across the pool side (and one into the pool!!). The poolside umbrellas are CONCRETED into the ground to avoid them flying away! When (and if) the wind is calmer, it is idyllic, but when it's strong you actually CANNOT sit in it - the sand blasts you painfully. (This coming from a northerner who has done fair share of trekking in Wales and Lake District, so not just a wimpy comment). Also this hotel is NOT IN Jandia - it is a 10 Euro taxi ride away (Jandia has windbreaks on the beach and juts out less, so can provide sunbathing and swimming when the hotel cannot). The staff and entertainment team are hard working and the gym and spa facilities are great, but if you are booking for a relaxing by the pool and sunbathe break this might not be the best (hardly anyone could/would sit out at night as it was simply too blustery) - and it is also in a very isolated position re.walking to other areas. Food choices are very good (plenty of fish dishes, delicious salads, pastas, usual buffet fare but well presented and good selection) . Have to say least "all inc" I have EVER been to - no water bottles in the room or available at reception (this of course down to "eco friendliness" however this doesn't stop hotel having vending machines selling small plastic bottles of water for 1.50 euro) ; 1 Euro for each change of pool towel, charge for safe (as well as deposit - and the safes are antique and erratic) and charge for internet use. We only had lunch in the hotel twice as we went on trips out , and on one day (only) we asked would it be possible to take out a packed lunch and were told "no"!! In fairness and balance , tennis, table tennis and jacuzzi, sauna etc are all free, and the hotel deal with Thomson is to allow facilities still to be used on last day, which is good. Finally, if you do book here - check your room deal - a so called "sea view" is NOT a sea view unless higher than the 3rd floor - it is an OBSTRUCTED/PARTIAL sea view with concrete buildings in front. Rooms are clean (though basic), but all in all not at all what would expect from Thomson holidays. In short, if you are happy to go out on loads of trips, or you are happy to be indoors/using a lot of the clubs and activities and food and drink then you will have a great break, but if you want to enjoy sunbathing/the beach/relaxing by the pool there are very defi better choices around Fuerte.

Room Tip: "Sea views" are often obstructed - ask for higher floor rooms near reception (which is on level 6)
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Parksfamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews