We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday, stunning beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SBH Club Paraiso Playa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Esquinzo
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Stayed here for a week, 3rd - 10th September 2016 and had a really good holiday.

We arrived at night and hired a car for our week stay, driving to the hotel from the airport was very easy.

The hotel serve dinner up to 930pm, but they had made arrangements to provide us with something, which comprised a plate of various cold meats, salads and drinks on our arrival.

Our first impression of the hotel was a little dubious, the bar area is quite loud and of a very 80's dated interior, however, after waking up the next morning we were very pleasantly surprised with the hotel as a whole. The hotel layout initially seems quite odd, with everything on different levels, reception is on floor 6 for instance, but this is because the hotel is built on the side of a steep hill. All the communal areas of the hotel appear to be very large and sparcely furnished, but you do quickly get used to it.

The outside pool area is very large, even though the hotel is mainly targeting German residents, we never had an issue with sun beds and there are plenty available at any time of day. The view from the pool terrace overlooking the beach is breathtaking.

We never ventured to the restaurant for lunch, instead we ate at the pool snack bar, which at lunch time was perfectly adequate. The hotel provided plentiful variety at all mealtimes, we never felt that the food offered was repetitive and thought that the quality of food was really very good.

Our hotel room was basic, there is no fridge or coffee/tea making facilities, but we only really slept in the room, the room was quite big and also had a separate seating area, room 733, and although the balcony did not overlook the sea, this did not matter at all to us and was very private. The whole hotel could do with modernisation, it clearly has not had much of an update since it was built, probably in the 80s.

The hotel room was serviced daily and the whole hotel is spotlessly clean. Even the pool side toilet facilities are spotless, which is quite rare for a large hotel like this.

Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay here and didn't want to come home after our week holiday, which we always feel is a sign of a good holiday, there are however a few things the hotel should consider.

The hotel has a policy of men having to wear trousers for evening dinner. We found this policy completely un-necessary and totally pointless. There were many women dressed in very short shorts, so short in fact that they barely covered they rear ends. I really cannot see why this is allowed and men are not able to wear shorts down to the knees. It is a very nice hotel and we enjoyed our stay, but I would not consider the hotel to be this upmarket to warrant this kind of policy. It did not really matter to us as the evenings in September are quite cool and breezy, but if it were hotter then it would be quite unpleasant.

The second matter that the hotel should address as a matter of urgency is regarding smoking. It seems to me that every German citizen is a chain smoker. The hotel has a main inside restaurant, which is not air conditioned, or if it is, not that well air conditioned, the doors are left open anyway so if it is on it won't work anyway. There are also two outside terraces, both of which the hotel allow smoking in. Either the hotel needs to do something about the air conditioning inside the restaurant so that it is cool enough for non smokers to eat dinner, or allocate one of the terraces to smoking and the other as non smoking. Coming from England, where smoking is now pretty much seen as a disgusting anti social habit, I really do take offence to having to breathe in someone else's exhaled cigarette smoke particularly when eating. None of the other hotel guests from other nations seemed to be the least bit concerned about lighting up a cigarette next to us while we were eating our dinner, and I found it hard to believe that many could not even go between courses without having to light up a fag or two.

Also the Wifi is very expensive, I didn't bother paying for it, I used O2 Travel instead which was a lot cheaper than what the hotel charge. I found this surprising as most hotels now offer wifi free.

If visiting Fuerteventura I would definitely recommend hiring a car. We drove through some very high mountains visiting Betancuria, Antigua and Pajara. We also drove to the north and climbed the Hondo Volcano which was a fantastic experience and I would very much recommend this. The lighthouse at Gaviota offered stunning views over the ocean, although the drive up to it is quite precarious. We also wanted to drive to Cofete but as we only had a Smart Car we decided not to, as a 4x4 is apparently a must to attempt this drive.

We also visited a restaurant called 'Marabu' which is in Esquinzo town. The food we had in the restaurant was 1st class and we even went back for our last night. Would highly recommend, we paid around 70 euros for 2 starters, 2 mains, 1 desert, carafe of wine and a brandy and coke.

I have rated the trip as a 'couples' trip rather than a family holiday, although there were families at the hotel the time we stayed. This is just from what we experienced while staying at the hotel. Diving is not allowed into the pools, although some areas of the pool are very deep. The lifeguard was heard saying that no snorkels and inflatables are allowed, therefore for kids aged 5-6 upwards, I don't think there would be a great deal for them to do as far as the pool is concerned.

Previous reviews have been critical of the number of steps to the beach. I did not count the number of steps personally, but did not find this a problem at all. The beach is well worth a visit, and if you walk down the beach a little, walk to the right hand side with the hotel behind you, and you will very soon stumble across a nudist beach too. However, the sea is lovely and warm and the big waves are great fun. The steps to the beach are very well maintained and provided you have reasonable health, you would have no issue climbing back up again. A visit to Jandia beach is also worthwhile, and they have bigger waves too.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms offer limited privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Club Paraiso Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Dear David R,

Thank you very much for your detailed description of you holiday and our SBH Club Paraiso Playa. We were very pleased to read you have enjoyed your holiday with us.
Our charming SBH Club Paraiso Playa is located right at one of the most beautiful beaches Fuerteventura – practically paradise. One of the common reasons why guests book our hotel is our location, the peace and quiet and the beautiful beach.

We cater for a good mix of clients hosting a variety of nationalities like English, French, Italian, German, etc. On a daily basis we are trying our best to fulfil the guests needs. E.g. our kitchen shows a lot of passion whilst preparing the wide range of good quality food.
As every client has a certain expectations regarding a perfect holiday, some might spent a long time in their rooms to enjoy the few others only require their room to sleep and shower, we offer our clients different room type e.g. with or with out sea view.

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding the cleanliness of our Hotel our housekeeping is working every day to keep our complex up to a 4* standard.

Every hotel has different policies to ensure wellbeing of the client and smooth operations. One of the policies includes long trousers for dinner, another one is dedicated to the safety of our clients. A legally binding Norm provided by an external firm to ensure the safety of our clients forbids the usage of floats and big items in our pools. However swimming aids are allowed.
To ensure good value for money we charge extras like our WIFI or Safe, all travel agents have this information and should forward it to our common clients to avoid any misunderstanding and inconveniences at arrival.

Clients have the option to book excursions, trip and rent-a-car, with their local travelrep who can inform them about sights and interesting things to see.

We hope to see you soon again and looking forward welcoming you as one of our guests again.

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 75 of 813 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
41
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Visited the SBH Club Paraiso Playa in May and had an amazing holiday! Went with 10 members of the family and each of us had a great time. The hotel rooms are slightly old fashion and the 'garden view' is really trees blocking a car park but as a lot of reviews say, why do you go on holiday just to spend all your time in the room? The rooms with the sea view are great though. The hotel is situated just a large set of steps above the beautiful beach, but is well worth the walk down and the view from the reception level of the hotel is fab! The food i felt was incredible, such great options and also for my grandad who is vegetarian.. He ate more than all of us! Really friendly staff i must add, apart from one of the ladies on reception was quite abrupt but you always find theres always one! The only downside for me is the evening entertainment but with 10 of us, we had our own laughs in the area near the bar. The town is also lovely and just a short bus or taxi ride. The zoo is also a great day out with many experience to choose from! And if we had a chance to do the jet skiing which i loved! 100% would go back!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Club Paraiso Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Dear Jeff,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the SBH Club Paraiso Playa. We are disappointed to see that not all aspects of the hotel were up to your expectation, but at the same time we are delighted you had such an amazing holiday.

We have passed on your comment to the Front Office team for further review, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will also mention your comments to our Entertainment team.

We hope to welcome you and your family again soon!
Kind and sunny regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

The view is outstanding. The beach is much nicer than the one I went to in Riviera Maya, Mexico!!! The animation team: Lupa, Giovanni, Martina, Aliz, Melanie and especially Lukas and Isac were amazing. No matter what nationality you are, this team and hotel cater for all. I travelling with my 17 yr old daughter and we had an amazing time. Lupa, Jasmine what's to join the team!!
The hotel rooms could do with an update but the cleanliness of the whole hotel is second to none. A few recommendations would be:
A heated pool, fridge and tea, coffee making facilities in the room and some British TV channels. As I said these are recommendations NOT a complaint.
We would definitely return to this hotel. Thanks for a great holiday

Room Tip: Pay that little extra for a sea view room, definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wendyw927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Club Paraiso Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Dear Wendyw927,

Firstly thank you for recognising individual departments which delivered top notch service to make your stay with us comfortable, and we will duly forward your compliments to all our teams.
Thank you very much for the time taken to share your opinion about our SBH Club Paraiso Playa with us. We were delighted to read you had such an amazing holiday with us. We will definitely take your recommendations into consideration, thank you for sharing these with us.
It was our pleasure to host you, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our SBH Club Paraiso Playa.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Too warm in room, AC not realy cooling,
Pools not heated,
Elevator damaged on friday morning, monday (as we left) still damaged.
Room clean, stuff nice. Food ok. Great for families. Not recomanded for elderly people, or disabled, because of many stairs and long waiting at the elevator. Many stairs to the ocean.

Room Tip: All rooms with ocean viev, eaven it it is from the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Doris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Club Paraiso Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Dear Doris R,

We are very sorry to read you have not enjoyed your holiday and we haven’t lived up to your expectations. Our goal is to fulfil our client’s expectations and make their holiday an unforgettable one.

Our maintenance team is available to our guest in case minor reparations have to be done e.g. the AC is not really cooling. We can guarantee our competent staff works as quickly as possible to find a suitable solution.

We are happy to read you have enjoyed our delicious food as you chef shows a lot of dedication and passion while preparing the wide range of our high quality food.

We would love to welcome you again soon if not in our SBH Club Paraiso Playa perhaps in one of our other SBH hotels.

Kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel is definitely not a 4 star it is a average 3 star.

Bad points-
1.Room very basic as mentioned in other reviews. Our room was on 5th floor sea view room (definitely pay for a sea view room), the room was right at the end which was ok during the daytime but at night the wind was so strong our door was shaking. The door had black stains all over it inside. Tv was very old and didnt have even one english channel. Beds are uncomfortable definitely not a 4 star standard ive been to alot of places in europe and never slept in a bed like that in a 4 star hotel. If you ask for a double bed you will get two single beds pushed together. Have to pay for the safe but we seen that on other reviews so we took padlocks with us. Air conditioning wasnt brilliant so be prepared to feel hot at night.
2. No bottled water given in rooms or anywhere around the hotel if you wanted bottled water you have to pay for it in the hotel shop or the vending machine. Cheaper to get it at the hotel shop €1 for a big bottle where as vending machine charges €1.50 for a small bottle.
3. Dinner choice got boring for us again for a 4 star there should have been more effort put in the variety. Breakfast and lunch was fine.
4. Have to pay for wi-fi we were only there for 5 days but had to pay €25 which is 7 days worth...we had no choice but pay as we wanted to use it to check news and watch things on our phones as tv didnt have english channels. Also wi-fi can only be used one device at a time. I read on another review the reason for this is because of the location of the hotel- thats not good enough...ive been to a hotel in Mexico which was literally in the middle of nowhere and had free wi-fi and 4 devices could connect at the same time.
5. Reception staff seemed more happy talking to the german/spanish/french guests. Passports were taken from us when we checked in without any explanation just got told to collect them the next day.
6. Regarding drinks at night the dining hall had beer, sangria, white wine and red wine on tap - sangria tasted watered down and just tasted like normal red wine. Only beer available was Amstel which again tasted watered down. Cocktails that were made at the bar are pre mixed cocktails from a bottle that are just poured in a glass for you.
7. Swimming pool is freezing! You wont see alot of adults in the pool as its so cold its not very enjoyable especially when you've got wind blowing aswell.
8. We took our own beach towels as read in other reviews they dont give them unless you leave a deposit.
9. Very windy anywhere you sit around the pool - drinks were given in plastic cups if you are sitting by the pool but the wind kept knocking them- even when we double cupped them

Good points
1. Beach is stunning first time i have been to a beach like that in europe. There are around 100 steps to go down to the beach but its well worth it water is clear and lovely to go in- cold but warmer then the pool.
2. We left the hotel at 7.30am to go to the airport they made arrangements for us to have breakfast early.
3. Staff around the hotel and animation team are great and thats what is keeping the hotel going.
4. Hotel is clean enough - only thing that made us worried was there was alot of cheese out in the dining hall so we didnt eat it as it looked sweaty.
5. The person at the tour desk is very friendly and helpful he booked us in to go to Oasis Park explained everything clearly and also recommend the right camel ride to go on. If you get a chance this is a must see place animals are great the camel ride is really good and well worth the money €12 for adults and you get to see the whole coast. There are two different types they do Zone 1 and Zone 2. Zone 1 is the best one. You get a free bus to the park from the hotel and back to the hotel.


Other things to consider:
-We booked with travel republic and booked the holiday with transfers which i would suggest as the hotel is around 90mins from the airport so dont know how much that would be in a taxi. Very organised at the airport regarding transfers and picked us up on time aswell.
- It gets very windy in the evening so take a cardigan/hoody to wear sometimes warm wind sometimes a bit cold.
- If you go to the hotel shop the man thats normally behind the till has no manners at all and doesnt smile at all - doesnt leave a good reputation for the hotel.

I have based my review on what i think should be a 4 star and other 4 star hotels ive been too. I think this hotel has been based as a 4 star based on location and beach but a 4 star should cover all aspects of the hotel from the staff to the room to the food and drink. I personally wouldnt stay at the hotel again and im glad we were only there for 4 nights/5 days.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
5  Thank krupa_galoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Club Paraiso Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Dear krupa_galoria,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for have taken the time to write such a detailed report about our SBH Club Paraiso Playa. Your opinion is valuable for us as it gives us an idea of where we could improve our services. We will now review all points and pass them on to our heads of departments.
We would also like to share with you and potential clients that our hotel is a 4 Star hotel the ranking was given to us by official authorities. We maintain our 4* standard by taking care of various points such as daily maintenance of the hotel and gardens and of course cleanliness within the whole hotel as well as all our rooms.
We are sorry we haven’t meet your expectations.

If for any reason a client is not satisfied with their allocated room, our helpful and very professional reception staff can assist you with organising a room change. Reception is manned 24/7 and will listen to your complaints if there are any and will find a solution quickly. They can for example contact maintenance for minor repairs like the temperature of the A/C.

Extra costs like Safe or Wifi come with a fee to guarantee good value for money. These extra charges are also pointed out in all the catalogues and most clients are informed prior to their stay with us. We are sorry you haven’t received this information before your stay in our beautiful SBH Club Paraiso Playa.

Clients are more then welcome to take their drinks to their rooms at night time. Our bars stay open till 01:00 am. As you have rightly pointed out the clients can purchase bottles in our vending machines or the hotel shop if they wish to.

We would also like to point out quality and variety is very important to us whether it is service, food or beverages.
Our kitchen staff prepares the wide range of food freshly every day and does so with a lot of passion for their work.
The goal of our always helpful, friendly and professional staff from all areas of the hotel is to meet all the expectations of our clients.
We are sorry you didn’t see it that way.

Thank you very much for all the tips regarding transfer, excursions and weather in Fuerteventura we are sure potential clients will appreciate your input.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope you were able to take some positive memories back home.

Kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esquinzo
4.2 km away
Occidental Jandia Playa
7.9 km away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
1.5 km away
Fuerteventura Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
4.1 km away
Occidental Jandia Mar
Occidental Jandia Mar
#19 of 73 in Pajara
5,679 reviews
3.6 km away
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park
#3 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SBH Club Paraiso Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH Club Paraiso Playa

Address: Lomo de Acebuche s/n | Esquinzo, Pajara, 35620 Esquinzo, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Sunrise Club Paraiso Playa)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Esquinzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Esquinzo
Price Range: RM 549 - RM 969 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SBH Club Paraiso Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SBH Club Paraíso Playa is a modern hotel in the Esquinzo Beach, a hotel to enjoy the holiday, with activities designed for all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SBH Club Paraiso Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Club Paraiso Playa Hotel Marabu
Sunrise Hotel Fuerteventura
Sunrise Hotel Paraiso Playa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing