We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“finding nemo”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tekek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swiss Cottage Tioman
Ranked #1 of 4 Tekek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We've been back to Swiss Cottage 4 times now & we've never before been people to go to the same place more than once. Most people there are travelling around south east Asia and when you ask them about other places they say good things but most say Tioman is better. Swiss Cottage is great, the cabins are fairly simple but they are clean and comfy. The people on reception are friendly and knowledgable. The communal breakfast space gives the place a feel of community where you are able to pick up bits of info or advice from fellow travellers. And the beach is stunning. swim out 2 minutes and you hit the reef. Wow!

Room Tip: beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank getsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear Getsusan,
thanks for your encouraging feedback! It is wonderful to know you feel at home here. Tioman really is a special place and it is a great pleasure for us to see our guests having a good time and coming back. We hope you are enjoying your time wherever you are and would love to see you again in Tioman.

Warm greetings
Swiss Cottage Tioman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

While the hotel itself is ok, clean, simple but comfortable, it is inhabited by sixteen disgusting cats. They are everywhere. They beg for food, they scratch. They do their business everywhere. They lie and sleep in the dining area- just today I saw one scratch itself and all of its fur went right on the eating table. They smell awful. It is so unsanitary - the cats sit on the sofa, they smell terrible, it's like a cat sanctuary. So awful, since I am allergic to cats. Also, so disgusting to have their fur in the food! It is very disappointing. The smell is the worst. So it would be a nice stay if not for the disgusting cats.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank anitasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Dear Anistasta,

Before we confirm any bookings you are sent terms and conditions that clearly state that we have cats on the premises,these are our pets.

We require you to accept these terms and conditions before we complete your booking.

It is clear that you have a strong dislike towards our feline friends and this is reflected in the language you have used in your review.

Food is prepared in a western style kitchen with stainless steel worktops and is not accessible to the cats or monkeys for that matter! All food is freshly prepared and brought straight from the kitchen to the table. We receive regular inspections from the Food Hygiene Authority and the kitchen is currently rated as “A” , which is the top ranking available.

In the 10 years of operation we have not received a complaint of this nature.
Yes there are cats at Swiss cottage.
However, they are well cared for and generally well behaved.

Also remember they are spread out over a large premises, which you have said yourself is “clean simple but comfortable “. The only time you see them together is at feeding time (away from the restaurant), which most guests actually enjoy.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, also that your dislike of cats wasn't brought to light earlier in the booking process, however, regardless, we think your review is not an accurate description of our business.

Kind Regards,
Swiss Cottage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

I like quiet places and Swiss Cottage is definitely a quiet place - if only we did not get the room just next to the restaurant where the Tioman dive crew and owners talk every night. I specifically asked for a room as far away from noise as possible in my email and booked half a year in advance so one should think the could have at least warned me - or given me a room furtger away from restaurant, music and loud talk at night. For me personally - with kids - this was a great minus! Another minus was that the beach was inhabited by bugs - not the fault of Swiss Cottage of course but when they only provide 2 chairs for a family of four, we had literally nowhere to sit and relax. Therefore, when you book, make sure you do not get room T5! I'm sure the bungalows are much better than the family room we had to live with. I tried to upgrade but all rooms were fully booked. I'm getting another room the last two days of our stay and hope for less noise. At least they tried to help when I complained.
On the more positive side, the people there are friendly and had I travelled 20 years ago without kids, I would have loved it more just because of the atmosphere. It's quite far to get good food but if you don't mind a less cosy restaurant, go to the restaurant just next door or walk one hour to abc where many restaurants can be found. You can also go to the resorts up the road to find two nice but very touristy restaurants.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Lone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Dear Lone T,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor. I’m glad that you enjoyed the setting and overall ambience here at Swiss Cottage .

We sympathise with you in regards to your experience of hearing loud talk and music at night,this should not have happened.The communal area is a place for our guests to eat,relax,read books,use the internet or meet up during the day, but surely not suitable for big gatherings and loud talk at night, we will implement some new guidelines to avoid this scenario from happening again.

Generally Swiss Cottage is calm and peaceful, we love having families here and most seem to really enjoy their stay. We only have two rooms that are able to cater to families, the beach bungalows being more suited to couples.

We make an effort to be precise of what you can expect at Swiss Cottage on our website and will prevail to keep up with the updates. In the tropics it is usual to expect insects, mosquitos and sandflies, this can change season to season month to month but we do give advice on how to protect from them.

It is true that the closest restaurants are relatively basic, but they all have a specific personality and are hygienic.

We are happy to advise our guests if they are unsure about what to eat and believe there is something tasty to find for everyone. Within 2-3 minutes walk there is a Chinese restaurant called Sarang (the mongolian chicken is a must try) and right next to it there is a place called Syahirah which is famous for its BBQ.

Matahari Restaurant at the Berjaya hotel complex ( is a 15min walk or a 5min drive) is also a good option. The Restaurant is mostly built with wood decorated with traditional malay carvings.The food is tasty and relatively affordable, if you really want to treat yourself opt for the excellent buffet.

Tioman Cabbana is a must for good atmosphere and food. It’s right by the beach and a 5min walk from Swiss Cottage.

Thank you for your comments, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay. Over the last few years we have developed a good reputation and will continue to do our utmost to ensure this continues.

Kind regards
Swiss Cottage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Very comfortable accomodation, most of the staff are very friendly and helpfull, be ready to put up with sandflies , they are very fierce. The water at front is generally crystal clear, depending on wind conditions. The only big minus is.... the breakfast, you have to be starving to eat it so unless it is ramadan and there is nowhere else to go, i do recommend to take a stroll and get pampered somewhere else

Room Tip: Nice place to go if you are into scuba or free diving, the owner Stella is a very nice person
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sameli57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear Sameli57,
Thanks for staying with us. We are glad you had a nice stay at Swiss Cottage and enjoyed the water and activities. We appreciate your opinion on the breakfast. We take pride in the quality of what we offer and frequently get great feedback on our food. We wish you many beautiful holidays and hope to have you here as a guest again one day.

Kind regards
Swiss Cottage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

This is our second visit to Swiss Cottage and we were not disappointed as it was just like we left it in 2014, with the addition of a free diving school the only change. Tekek has stood still in time as well and life goes on as normal.

If you are looking forward to a 5 star location then this it but without the frilly bits. If it can be done it will, but in island time . One thing that has changed is the availability of alcohol, you cannot purchase alcohol anywhere apart from the duty free shops which are scattered along the main drag. However, just about all the restaurants allow you to bring your own alcohol in providing you are eating there, without any problems.

If you are looking for that 5 star feeling but in a laid back out of this world location this is the place for you.

It is still our kind of paradise !!!

Room Tip: Beach view bungalow is a must !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AlfieG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Dear Alfie G13,
Thank you for writing this excellent review. Hopefully this place will be able to remain your
" idea of paradise" for many more years to come.
Was great to see your cheerful faces again. Its the people that make the place ;-)

King greetings
Swiss Cottage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tekek
8.4 km away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
534 reviews
10.5 km away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
3.4 km away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
1.0 km away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
10.9 km away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#4 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Cottage Tioman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Cottage Tioman

Address: Lot 888 Kampung Tekek, Tekek, Pulau Tioman 86800, Malaysia (Formerly Samudra Swiss Cottage)
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman > Tekek
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tekek
Price Range: RM104 - RM187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Samudra Swiss Cottage Hotel Tekek
Swiss Cottage Tioman Pulau Tioman/Tekek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing