We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another nice stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tekek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swiss Cottage Tioman
Ranked #1 of 4 Tekek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Another nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2016

This is our second time staying at the Swiss Cottage, this time at the sea view bungalow.

Room was satisfactory, and our favourite part was to sit at the balcony, day and night, to enjoy the sea breeze, listen to the waves, read and simply chill out. Felt so relaxed!

Was hoping though, that the breakfasts could be improved - perhaps a choice of how eggs can be done, doing our own toast, and maybe a platter of fruits, and some yoghurt.

Will love to be back again soon!

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CW_6973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review, 22 September 2016
Dear CW_6973,
we are happy to read you enjoyed your second time at Swiss Cottage as well! Relaxing on the porch and listening to the waves coming in on the shore is definitely a fantastic way to spend your time.
Thank you, too, for your candid suggestions. While we believe that we offer a high standard, we aim to improve the quality wherever we can.
Looking forward to having you stay with us again!

Warm greetings
Swiss Cottage Tioman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    98
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
57
138
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2016

Well located, well furnished, and well organized, with a rustic-chic feel. Snorkeling right off the beach. Breakfast included. The location (10 minutes' walk from ferry landing) in the village of Tekek is very good--much nicer than places on beaches with only one or more hotels, and gives many choices of restaurants. If you tire of the water, there is a nice walk to the turtle hatchery beach (beautiful), through the golf course at Berjaya. You can go all the way to Paya but at the fork be sure to take the path through the rocks next to the water, not the scary motorcycle path up the hill.

Room Tip: sea view bunglaow fan, which is right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeirutMoores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review, 22 September 2016
Dear BeirutMoores,
thanks heaps for your lovely description of our place and the surroundings! It's great to also get feedback on the furnishing :) I'm glad to read you took walks around the village and along the coast. The beach south of Berjaya is truly a gem. We're happy to have had you stay with us and hope to welcome you guys again at Swiss Cottage!

Warm greetings
Swiss Cottage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2016

We've been back to Swiss Cottage 4 times now & we've never before been people to go to the same place more than once. Most people there are travelling around south east Asia and when you ask them about other places they say good things but most say Tioman is better. Swiss Cottage is great, the cabins are fairly simple but they are clean and comfy. The people on reception are friendly and knowledgable. The communal breakfast space gives the place a feel of community where you are able to pick up bits of info or advice from fellow travellers. And the beach is stunning. swim out 2 minutes and you hit the reef. Wow!

Room Tip: beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review, 22 September 2016
Dear Getsusan,
thanks for your encouraging feedback! It is wonderful to know you feel at home here. Tioman really is a special place and it is a great pleasure for us to see our guests having a good time and coming back. We hope you are enjoying your time wherever you are and would love to see you again in Tioman.

Warm greetings
Swiss Cottage Tioman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

While the hotel itself is ok, clean, simple but comfortable, it is inhabited by sixteen disgusting cats. They are everywhere. They beg for food, they scratch. They do their business everywhere. They lie and sleep in the dining area- just today I saw one scratch itself and all of its fur went right on the eating table. They smell awful. It is so unsanitary - the cats sit on the sofa, they smell terrible, it's like a cat sanctuary. So awful, since I am allergic to cats. Also, so disgusting to have their fur in the food! It is very disappointing. The smell is the worst. So it would be a nice stay if not for the disgusting cats.

Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anitasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review, 13 August 2016
Dear Anistasta,

Before we confirm any bookings you are sent terms and conditions that clearly state that we have cats on the premises,these are our pets.

We require you to accept these terms and conditions before we complete your booking.

It is clear that you have a strong dislike towards our feline friends and this is reflected in the language you have used in your review.

Food is prepared in a western style kitchen with stainless steel worktops and is not accessible to the cats or monkeys for that matter! All food is freshly prepared and brought straight from the kitchen to the table. We receive regular inspections from the Food Hygiene Authority and the kitchen is currently rated as “A” , which is the top ranking available.

In the 10 years of operation we have not received a complaint of this nature.
Yes there are cats at Swiss cottage.
However, they are well cared for and generally well behaved.

Also remember they are spread out over a large premises, which you have said yourself is “clean simple but comfortable “. The only time you see them together is at feeding time (away from the restaurant), which most guests actually enjoy.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, also that your dislike of cats wasn't brought to light earlier in the booking process, however, regardless, we think your review is not an accurate description of our business.

Kind Regards,
Swiss Cottage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

I like quiet places and Swiss Cottage is definitely a quiet place - if only we did not get the room just next to the restaurant where the Tioman dive crew and owners talk every night. I specifically asked for a room as far away from noise as possible in my email and booked half a year in advance so one should think the could have at least warned me - or given me a room furtger away from restaurant, music and loud talk at night. For me personally - with kids - this was a great minus! Another minus was that the beach was inhabited by bugs - not the fault of Swiss Cottage of course but when they only provide 2 chairs for a family of four, we had literally nowhere to sit and relax. Therefore, when you book, make sure you do not get room T5! I'm sure the bungalows are much better than the family room we had to live with. I tried to upgrade but all rooms were fully booked. I'm getting another room the last two days of our stay and hope for less noise. At least they tried to help when I complained.
On the more positive side, the people there are friendly and had I travelled 20 years ago without kids, I would have loved it more just because of the atmosphere. It's quite far to get good food but if you don't mind a less cosy restaurant, go to the restaurant just next door or walk one hour to abc where many restaurants can be found. You can also go to the resorts up the road to find two nice but very touristy restaurants.

Stayed July 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review, 30 July 2016
Dear Lone T,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor. I’m glad that you enjoyed the setting and overall ambience here at Swiss Cottage .

We sympathise with you in regards to your experience of hearing loud talk and music at night,this should not have happened.The communal area is a place for our guests to eat,relax,read books,use the internet or meet up during the day, but surely not suitable for big gatherings and loud talk at night, we will implement some new guidelines to avoid this scenario from happening again.

Generally Swiss Cottage is calm and peaceful, we love having families here and most seem to really enjoy their stay. We only have two rooms that are able to cater to families, the beach bungalows being more suited to couples.

We make an effort to be precise of what you can expect at Swiss Cottage on our website and will prevail to keep up with the updates. In the tropics it is usual to expect insects, mosquitos and sandflies, this can change season to season month to month but we do give advice on how to protect from them.

It is true that the closest restaurants are relatively basic, but they all have a specific personality and are hygienic.

We are happy to advise our guests if they are unsure about what to eat and believe there is something tasty to find for everyone. Within 2-3 minutes walk there is a Chinese restaurant called Sarang (the mongolian chicken is a must try) and right next to it there is a place called Syahirah which is famous for its BBQ.

Matahari Restaurant at the Berjaya hotel complex ( is a 15min walk or a 5min drive) is also a good option. The Restaurant is mostly built with wood decorated with traditional malay carvings.The food is tasty and relatively affordable, if you really want to treat yourself opt for the excellent buffet.

Tioman Cabbana is a must for good atmosphere and food. It’s right by the beach and a 5min walk from Swiss Cottage.

Thank you for your comments, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay. Over the last few years we have developed a good reputation and will continue to do our utmost to ensure this continues.

Kind regards
Swiss Cottage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tekek
10.5 km away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
0.3 km away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
8.4 km away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
1.0 km away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
10.9 km away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Cottage Tioman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Cottage Tioman

Property: Swiss Cottage Tioman
Address: Lot 888 Kampung Tekek, Tekek, Pulau Tioman 86800, Malaysia (Formerly Samudra Swiss Cottage)
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman > Tekek
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tekek
Price range (per night): RM110 - RM198
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Samudra Swiss Cottage Hotel Tekek
Swiss Cottage Tioman Pulau Tioman/Tekek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing