We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming, beautiful ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tekek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swiss Cottage Tioman
Ranked #1 of 4 Tekek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Right on the beach with it's own reef, accredited Freediving school, a dive centre next door, paddle boards and other equipment to hire, this place is marine paradise. But it's more than that, the warm welcome by Stella and Richard and the whole team it's no wonder that there are so many return guests. I know I'll be one of them.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Ronan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016


Dear Ronan,
cheers for the glowing feedback! It's always a pleasure to know your guests feel comfortable at the place you love and live. It was great to have you here and we look forward to having you back one day.

Kind regards
Swiss Cottage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2016

This is our second time staying at the Swiss Cottage, this time at the sea view bungalow.

Room was satisfactory, and our favourite part was to sit at the balcony, day and night, to enjoy the sea breeze, listen to the waves, read and simply chill out. Felt so relaxed!

Was hoping though, that the breakfasts could be improved - perhaps a choice of how eggs can be done, doing our own toast, and maybe a platter of fruits, and some yoghurt.

Will love to be back again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CW_6973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear CW_6973,
we are happy to read you enjoyed your second time at Swiss Cottage as well! Relaxing on the porch and listening to the waves coming in on the shore is definitely a fantastic way to spend your time.
Thank you, too, for your candid suggestions. While we believe that we offer a high standard, we aim to improve the quality wherever we can.
Looking forward to having you stay with us again!

Warm greetings
Swiss Cottage Tioman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Well located, well furnished, and well organized, with a rustic-chic feel. Snorkeling right off the beach. Breakfast included. The location (10 minutes' walk from ferry landing) in the village of Tekek is very good--much nicer than places on beaches with only one or more hotels, and gives many choices of restaurants. If you tire of the water, there is a nice walk to the turtle hatchery beach (beautiful), through the golf course at Berjaya. You can go all the way to Paya but at the fork be sure to take the path through the rocks next to the water, not the scary motorcycle path up the hill.

Room Tip: sea view bunglaow fan, which is right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BeirutMoores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear BeirutMoores,
thanks heaps for your lovely description of our place and the surroundings! It's great to also get feedback on the furnishing :) I'm glad to read you took walks around the village and along the coast. The beach south of Berjaya is truly a gem. We're happy to have had you stay with us and hope to welcome you guys again at Swiss Cottage!

Warm greetings
Swiss Cottage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We've been back to Swiss Cottage 4 times now & we've never before been people to go to the same place more than once. Most people there are travelling around south east Asia and when you ask them about other places they say good things but most say Tioman is better. Swiss Cottage is great, the cabins are fairly simple but they are clean and comfy. The people on reception are friendly and knowledgable. The communal breakfast space gives the place a feel of community where you are able to pick up bits of info or advice from fellow travellers. And the beach is stunning. swim out 2 minutes and you hit the reef. Wow!

Room Tip: beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank getsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear Getsusan,
thanks for your encouraging feedback! It is wonderful to know you feel at home here. Tioman really is a special place and it is a great pleasure for us to see our guests having a good time and coming back. We hope you are enjoying your time wherever you are and would love to see you again in Tioman.

Warm greetings
Swiss Cottage Tioman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

While the hotel itself is ok, clean, simple but comfortable, it is inhabited by sixteen disgusting cats. They are everywhere. They beg for food, they scratch. They do their business everywhere. They lie and sleep in the dining area- just today I saw one scratch itself and all of its fur went right on the eating table. They smell awful. It is so unsanitary - the cats sit on the sofa, they smell terrible, it's like a cat sanctuary. So awful, since I am allergic to cats. Also, so disgusting to have their fur in the food! It is very disappointing. The smell is the worst. So it would be a nice stay if not for the disgusting cats.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank anitasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Dear Anistasta,

Before we confirm any bookings you are sent terms and conditions that clearly state that we have cats on the premises,these are our pets.

We require you to accept these terms and conditions before we complete your booking.

It is clear that you have a strong dislike towards our feline friends and this is reflected in the language you have used in your review.

Food is prepared in a western style kitchen with stainless steel worktops and is not accessible to the cats or monkeys for that matter! All food is freshly prepared and brought straight from the kitchen to the table. We receive regular inspections from the Food Hygiene Authority and the kitchen is currently rated as “A” , which is the top ranking available.

In the 10 years of operation we have not received a complaint of this nature.
Yes there are cats at Swiss cottage.
However, they are well cared for and generally well behaved.

Also remember they are spread out over a large premises, which you have said yourself is “clean simple but comfortable “. The only time you see them together is at feeding time (away from the restaurant), which most guests actually enjoy.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, also that your dislike of cats wasn't brought to light earlier in the booking process, however, regardless, we think your review is not an accurate description of our business.

Kind Regards,
Swiss Cottage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tekek
8.4 km away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
534 reviews
10.5 km away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
3.4 km away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
1.0 km away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
10.9 km away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#4 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Cottage Tioman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Cottage Tioman

Address: Lot 888 Kampung Tekek, Tekek, Pulau Tioman 86800, Malaysia (Formerly Samudra Swiss Cottage)
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman > Tekek
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tekek
Price Range: RM104 - RM186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Samudra Swiss Cottage Hotel Tekek
Swiss Cottage Tioman Pulau Tioman/Tekek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing