We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swiss Cottage Tioman
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
180
109
19
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
109
19
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmosquito netgarden viewlaid backdive centre on siteroti canaireception areaac roomjungle tourinteresting peoplehot showerdive schoolsound of the wavesbeautiful beachtekek jettybring your ownsnorkeling tripcoral island
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We stayed in the Swiss Cottage for 4 nights (in the meantime we did our PADI with TDC that's located at the same place).
Swiss Cottage is located near the beach, the cottages are very beautiful, comfortable beds en clean bathrooms. Peaceful and quiet too.
At the reception you can have delicious snacks, free water tea and coffee and al kinds of soda drinks for only 3 MYR.
Also the staff is really friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Best to take a room with airconditioning.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank anneliesmichiels34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

Dear Anneliesmichiels34

Thank you for writing this lovely review.Great to read that you enjoyed your holiday and felt well taken cared of.
TDC is indeed a passionate and friendly dive centre that we are lucky to have on-site.
Wishing you all the best for your future holidays and we hope to have you back with us again someday.

Kind greetings
Swiss Cottage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely and tidy. Fantastic location, inside Swiss Cottage they have Tioman Dive Centre that is professionally run by Rosie. Many excellent restaurants within walking distance.Beautiful beach and clear water

Stayed: September 2016
1  Thank mgumiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear Mgumiba,

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad we managed to make your stay enjoyable and are grateful for your feedback! Wishing you all the best and hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Swiss Cottage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We stayed here for one week for a diving holiday. Getting to Tioman is a bit of a hassle with the one unorganized ferry, but it is well worth it. We were greeted very friendly at the reception (everyone at the reception speaks excellent english) and the room was already ready. We stayed in the air-conditioned terrace room T5, adjacent to the reception, which had the benefit of the wifi reaching the room (the reception/dining area is generally the only area with wifi). Even though you shouldn't expect internet speeds for more than an Email or Whatsapp text anywhere on the island. The room was simple but nice and clean. The Air-con kept the room at a nice temperature in the evening, night and morning, but of course during the day it still got quite hot in the room (especially after a power outage (usually happened for about half a minute at some point in the afternoon) it took a while until it cooled at all again), but I assume if you're not reading up for your PADI course you anyway won't be in your room during the day. For our next stay we would probably consider a sea front room (chalet), as they have a nice terrace/balcony with a hammock (at least most of them) and there are only 2 sunbeds on the beach (alternatively they also have mats for laying on the beach). The Dive Center in the hotel is also excellent.
They have a restaurant for breakfast and lunch and the food is very good at a fair price (They always just have one menu for breakfast (which is included) and if you wish to order something else it will be charged).
Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fridolin1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear Pascal R
Thank you very much for your candid feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are aware that the speed and reach of the internet is a bit of a weak spot which is owing to our island location. However, this makes for a great excuse to enjoy our beachside location, to explore the jungle, and just take a break from it all and relax ;)
We wish you a wonderful time home and hope to welcome you at the cottage again one day!

Best greetings
Swiss Cottage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Right on the beach with it's own reef, accredited Freediving school, a dive centre next door, paddle boards and other equipment to hire, this place is marine paradise. But it's more than that, the warm welcome by Stella and Richard and the whole team it's no wonder that there are so many return guests. I know I'll be one of them.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Ronan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016


Dear Ronan,
cheers for the glowing feedback! It's always a pleasure to know your guests feel comfortable at the place you love and live. It was great to have you here and we look forward to having you back one day.

Kind regards
Swiss Cottage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

This is our second time staying at the Swiss Cottage, this time at the sea view bungalow.

Room was satisfactory, and our favourite part was to sit at the balcony, day and night, to enjoy the sea breeze, listen to the waves, read and simply chill out. Felt so relaxed!

Was hoping though, that the breakfasts could be improved - perhaps a choice of how eggs can be done, doing our own toast, and maybe a platter of fruits, and some yoghurt.

Will love to be back again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CW_6973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear CW_6973,
we are happy to read you enjoyed your second time at Swiss Cottage as well! Relaxing on the porch and listening to the waves coming in on the shore is definitely a fantastic way to spend your time.
Thank you, too, for your candid suggestions. While we believe that we offer a high standard, we aim to improve the quality wherever we can.
Looking forward to having you stay with us again!

Warm greetings
Swiss Cottage Tioman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews