We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice if you are in Tekek and want to dive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tekek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swiss Cottage Tioman
Ranked #1 of 4 Tekek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent choice if you are in Tekek and want to dive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2016

The place is just off the beach, with only a dive school (TDC, where we did the open water course) in between. Being almost on one end of Tekek, the place is also quiet (but then, Tekek isn't really noisy).
We stayed in a non-AC room and it was pretty good. Clean sheets and bathroom, and a handy broom to wipe away the sand you will drag in with you. Hot water in the shower for those who want it.
Basic breakfast included in the rent. Free drinking water (which is bizarrely unusual in most of the country), as well as tea/coffee at the reception lounge. There are also tons of books if you feel like reading but didn't carry your own.
Everyone behind the counter is friendly and helpful, though the counter itself officially closes in the evening (6 pm or 8 pm, don't remember).
All in all, well recommended if you are on Tekek and don't mind spending a bit.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ComplacentlyInsane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Owner at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review, 17 January 2017
Dear ComplacentlyInsane,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate it very much. We do our best to cover the basic
comforts required for people to have a pleasant stay. Glad you enjoyed the benefits of being able to get free water as and when.
We are quite proud of our growing library and always welcome new additions from guests
The reception officially closes at 6pm,however, we live onsite and are available for emergencies or urgent requests at anytime.
We wish you all the best for your further travels and hope you find you way back to Tioman someday.

Kind Greetings,
Swiss Cottage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    98
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
58
138
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2016

We went back, this time to a beach hut room with ac and it was just as lovely as we remembered from last time! Everyone was so friendly and welcoming, some even remembered us from last year. The breakfast was very tasty, and I really love the Roti Cani, the beach front huts were really nice, with the hammock for you to just relax and read in the warmth listening to the sea. We went out on a snorkelling trip with Wasabi (local guide and fount of knowledge about the sea) and our friend who was staying there as well, it was fantastic, we saw lots of fish, sharks and a turtle which made our day! We also went on the island trek with the guide Pat Lan, he is so knowledgeable about the local flora and fauna and really good fun, he has proper eagle eyes, and can spot things in the jungle we would never have seen without him.
All in all, a wonderful holiday again, thank you to everyone at Swiss Cottage for making us feel so at home, it was so relaxing being back at your beautiful place, we hope to be back again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: love the beach front huts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2016

We stayed in the Swiss Cottage for 4 nights (in the meantime we did our PADI with TDC that's located at the same place).
Swiss Cottage is located near the beach, the cottages are very beautiful, comfortable beds en clean bathrooms. Peaceful and quiet too.
At the reception you can have delicious snacks, free water tea and coffee and al kinds of soda drinks for only 3 MYR.
Also the staff is really friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Best to take a room with airconditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anneliesmichiels34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review, 17 September 2016
Dear Anneliesmichiels34

Thank you for writing this lovely review.Great to read that you enjoyed your holiday and felt well taken cared of.
TDC is indeed a passionate and friendly dive centre that we are lucky to have on-site.
Wishing you all the best for your future holidays and we hope to have you back with us again someday.

Kind greetings
Swiss Cottage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrara, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely and tidy. Fantastic location, inside Swiss Cottage they have Tioman Dive Centre that is professionally run by Rosie. Many excellent restaurants within walking distance.Beautiful beach and clear water

Stayed September 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank mgumiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review, 22 September 2016
Dear Mgumiba,

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad we managed to make your stay enjoyable and are grateful for your feedback! Wishing you all the best and hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Swiss Cottage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016

We stayed here for one week for a diving holiday. Getting to Tioman is a bit of a hassle with the one unorganized ferry, but it is well worth it. We were greeted very friendly at the reception (everyone at the reception speaks excellent english) and the room was already ready. We stayed in the air-conditioned terrace room T5, adjacent to the reception, which had the benefit of the wifi reaching the room (the reception/dining area is generally the only area with wifi). Even though you shouldn't expect internet speeds for more than an Email or Whatsapp text anywhere on the island. The room was simple but nice and clean. The Air-con kept the room at a nice temperature in the evening, night and morning, but of course during the day it still got quite hot in the room (especially after a power outage (usually happened for about half a minute at some point in the afternoon) it took a while until it cooled at all again), but I assume if you're not reading up for your PADI course you anyway won't be in your room during the day. For our next stay we would probably consider a sea front room (chalet), as they have a nice terrace/balcony with a hammock (at least most of them) and there are only 2 sunbeds on the beach (alternatively they also have mats for laying on the beach). The Dive Center in the hotel is also excellent.
They have a restaurant for breakfast and lunch and the food is very good at a fair price (They always just have one menu for breakfast (which is included) and if you wish to order something else it will be charged).
Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fridolin1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review, 22 September 2016
Dear Pascal R
Thank you very much for your candid feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are aware that the speed and reach of the internet is a bit of a weak spot which is owing to our island location. However, this makes for a great excuse to enjoy our beachside location, to explore the jungle, and just take a break from it all and relax ;)
We wish you a wonderful time home and hope to welcome you at the cottage again one day!

Best greetings
Swiss Cottage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tekek
10.5 km away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
0.3 km away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
8.4 km away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
1.0 km away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
10.9 km away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Cottage Tioman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Cottage Tioman

Property: Swiss Cottage Tioman
Address: Lot 888 Kampung Tekek, Tekek, Pulau Tioman 86800, Malaysia (Formerly Samudra Swiss Cottage)
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman > Tekek
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tekek
Price range (per night): RM109 - RM197
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Samudra Swiss Cottage Hotel Tekek
Swiss Cottage Tioman Pulau Tioman/Tekek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing