We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
RM 300
Breakfast included
Priceline
RM 300
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
206
117
22
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
206
117
22
7
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2019

The Swiss Cottage hotel in Tioman has a great, relaxed atmosphere. Plus, it has a great location: 10-20mins walk away from the jetty and occupies the last stretch of the beach. Also, if you are interested in diving with the Tioman Dive Centre, this is the place to be!

The beach itself is beautiful, especially when the sun sets. Although clean, the beach is home to many sandflies. And whilst this isn't the hotel's fault, it does make the prospect of going to the beach a little less enticing. Furthermore, as the hotel is located near greenery, that are also a lot of mosquitos around. The hotel does provide mosquito nets in the rooms and an oil to apply to avoid sandflies however the fact remains that these insects are around.

The rooms itself are quite spacious although the bathrooms are small and basic. It must be noted that the rooms are not cleaned daily. That said, the staff were all really friendly and welcoming. The breakfast included is basic. However, the hotel had areas for you to fill up water bottles or get tea and coffee which were greatly appreciated.

The main attraction of this hotel in my view is its connection with the Tioman Dive Centre which is a fantastic dive centre. Although, you can see some decent coral and marine life just by snorkelling off the beach. Hanging out by the beach is also quite popular however seating was limited and sometimes there were no deck chairs or space in the pagoda available.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PoppyG59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2019 via mobile

Nice staff and good place to stay. Hygiene and the Seaview is really nice and definitely will come again. The room is clean and also have a mosquito net if we want to sleep and avoid from mosquito. The reception also nice and clean.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 482robin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SwissCottageTioman, Owner at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2019

Dear 482robin.

Thank you for writing this review for us.It means a lot to us.Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We do our best to make sure our guest's have a pleasant stay with us.
Hope we get to see you here again.

Kind greetings
Swiss Cottage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and we absolutely loved it! We were greeted my warm staff members at the reception, after a brief introduction about the accommodation & things to do here, we were able to check-in. Our chalet was located right on the beach and we had a very clear view of the sea. The room in itself was very comfortable, the bed was big and the sheets were very soft. It had a really nice modern shower facilities and some toiletries. We always worry about not having enough water pressure in the showers but this was not the case - the shower was hot and powerful. We also loved the fact that we had a hammock right on our deck - we felt super relaxed whilst enjoying the sounds of the ocean.
Did you know that they also include breakfast? It always varies so you never know what you gonna get which is a very nice surprise! They do amazing roti canai for breakfast! They also have a few lunch options and delicious shakes! The best part of this accommodation is the house coral reef. We were able to snorkel right off our beach and see wonderful corals and colourful fish. Not to mention the sunset! It’s stunning.
If you get a chance, which I’m sure you will, have a chat with the owners of this place - Alice (mom) and her daughter Stella. They are super nice ladies, will provide you with lots of tips and other useful info!
We can highly recommend this place to everyone! You will not regret it. Cheers!
Micha & Justina

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Justina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Swiss Cottage for 5 nights during our 3-week-vacation in Malaysia. We stayed in a beachfront hut, the location was beautiful though the sandflies were kind of a bummer but of course that's not the guesthouses fault, they even provided anti sandflies lotion. The AC was very noisy. The matress was not very comfortable, I was under the impression it hasn't been exchanged for quite some time.
There was no room service though the hp states there'd be room service every 3 days. The breakfast was very simple and in times the portions were really small. Like 2 slices of french toast and 2 small pieces of apple.
The water filter is great and helps saving money and cutting down on plastic.
All in all I'd say it's a beautiful place but the price of almost € 50 is very steep.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank antoniaremasneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Not a bad place, bathroom is one where you can poop and shower at the same time, so chances of having wet floors in the bathroom is expected. Needs better lighting and windows as it feels very dark during both day and night.
Wished I got the room facing the sea, however due to it being fully booked, was not able to get one.

It's located right between Tioman Dive center and Tioman Reef Center so very convenient if you just want to dive and have a rest on the bed right after.

Breakfast is very basic. Please improve this.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Fikiwiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Dear Fikiwiki,

Thank you for your constructive thoughts on how to improve our resort. Hope we get the chance to accommodate you in the sea-view facing rooms next year.
Tioman-dive-centre is located onsite and is excellent. We also have a Freedive centre for those who want to learn how to explore the ocean without tanks.
We will work on our breakfast menu for 2019 and hope you will enjoy it here even more the next time you come.

Kind regards
Swiss Cottage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews