We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (717)
Filter reviews
717 results
Traveller rating
296
316
74
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
316
74
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monte gordo wellness centre sea view spanish border superior room indoor pool older clientele standard hotel relaxing holiday breakfast and dinner laundry service high floor half board free safe the hotel offers kids club out of season
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 717 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a two night break in February and it was at a bargain room rate. Even so, this is one if the worst hotels we have ever stayed in for noise from the neighbouring rooms. The walls between rooms must be just plasterboard with no sound insulation. This means you can hear every cough, splutter, snore and even worse noises in the bathroom. Instead of coming away feeling rested we got home and had a sleep!
This is an ageing hotel that has had a cosmetic makeover. It really isn't up to 4 star standard, even though the public areas look superficially glitzy.
The pool area looks good and the room we had (604) was clean, but very small. The bathroom was what I would expect for a single room - really tiny and not what you expect for a double room. All rooms have a good sea view.
First morning we had a cold buffet breakfast of fruit and toast. That was fine. On Sunday we thought we would try the hot buffet dishes, eggs, beans, bacon etc. All of these were cold/lukewarm. It was only 9am, so it wasn't as if they has been there for long. That is not acceptable, even if the majority of your guests are senior citizens! Forget the bar. The prices are from another planet, and the bottle of water in the room with an attached price tags of over 3 € is taking the ****.
Would not return again as it was not a pleasant experience.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank qualityspy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

A lovely tranquil and modernised older hotel on a beautiful coastline in The Algarve. Small and immaculate village beside the Spanish border. Blink…………and you miss this one!!

The building is old. It has been tastefully modernised and is immaculate. Staff are friendly, helpful and warm. Typical Portuguese welcome. Spectacular sunsets/sunrise from our enclosed balcony overlooking the ocean. Wonderful food at the outdoor snack bar. Bedrooms lovely. Large. Super clean. We went off season so very quiet anyway. There were no coffee/tea making facilities in our room. Breakfast very average. No person making omelettes etc……….and the scrambled eggs did not taste like my normal wonderful fresh Portuguese eggs to which I am accustomed? (I live many months a year in Portugal). The continental breakfast was normal and average. Dinner at night was a buffet. 20 Euros including a bottle of wine per couple. I did not like much in the buffet either. The snack bar at lunch time was way way better food? Strange. One can order "A la carte". But…….beware. Very little on the a la carte menu and very expensive. We were told by the Maitre D that if we ordered a la carte……..it would take 20 - 30 minutes. Food IS important to travellers. So I have to point this out even though I adored this hotel. Very limited local eateries……………village very very small but close to pharmacy.
Beautiful beach walks. Children's park and play areas. Immaculate. Overall, I would still go back to this hotel because of its staff, ambiance and stunning location. Close to motorway to Spain/Algarve. A few kilometres from Tavira etc. & glorious golf courses.

Room Tip: The higher the floor………the better the views. Ask for enclosed balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank avrillewis425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Really interesting to read previous evaluations not only for this hotel and after take my own picture.
Bunker, 70th. architecture, tall building, etc.. Difficult to understand as people have the chance before hand to choose the hotel want to stay, believe some of the clients self lives in case of Germans, mostly after war buildings taller then the 10th. floors of Altura Hotel and do not have such a wide and clean and bright escape stairs as here. No idea why people writes nonsense evaluations.
Perfect to spend a couple of weeks late Summer and lots of regular guests, can not be wrong, enjoy renovated and clean rooms, spacious lounges and a very good breakfast offering fresh fruits, juices and local bakery products. On sunny days (2 weeks long) we enjoyed the breakfast at terrace facing swimming pool and garden.
The long and wide beach of Altura can be reached by a gangplank crossing the dunes in front of hotel, 200 meters. Here just enjoy the silence of a quiet sea and beach, walk direction Monte Gordo or Cacela Velha and discover the particularities of East Algarve.
Located closed to the Motorway discover the area from Vila Real De Santo Antonio till Sagres and visit places like Faro, Olhao, Loulé and Albufeira, further Wet Portimao and Lagos or Silves on Monchique hills. 1 1/2 hour drive brings you to Sevilla. A rented car is advisable also because after season many restaurants are closed and in case you do not have half-board to look for places at nearby villages.
Staff is very friendly and keen to help in case of need.
I believe the picture can be other in the Summer season when lots of children will be around as on this part of Algarve beaches are "family friendly" almost no waves and you can get in the sea and walk in ca. 200 meters.

Room Tip: All rooms are beach front, so maybe top floors are advisable for extended views.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank José F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

We used the Eurotel as a base for our golf trip and it is ideal as all the courses we had chosen were within a 30 minute drive. The hotel is perfect for beach/pool holidays and ideal for families. Hard tennis court, and other good outdoor facilities. Usual buffet meals which were good and also a very good a la carte menu is available. The hotel is well located for good local restaurants. Our room was on the smaller end of the scale as was the bathroom but perfectly adequate for a week. Excellent staff. Certainly recommended.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank molarman_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Well, we spent just over 4 weeks here this year, in our second home, and had an amazing relaxing holiday. Just what the doctor ordered, and helped me to recuperate after major surgery. As always our room was comfortable and clean. The staff in the hotel, as always, were charming and helpful on most occasions. We only book for B and B and the Breakfast is excellent, with everything you could possibly wish for. All rooms have an amazing sea view, and we did spend most of our days relaxing on the beautiful beach.
It is also lovely to catch up with friends we have made over the years, who also return to this wonderful hotel every year.
Looking forward to returning yet again in 2018 x ❤️❤️

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews