We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at Elephant Trail”
Review of Elephant Trails

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elephant Trails
Reviewed 5 April 2015

My wife and I stayed here for one night prior to a safari at Udawalawe. It was a short stay but a nice stay. Everything was really easy: we booked the same day of arrival, and the staff took care of everything for us.

We got in late (10 pm) and the manager still arranged a safari and a take-away breakfast for us for the next morning (according to a driver from Colombo the safari price was fair. The safari was great! the tour guide with the safari was excellent -- knowledgeable and energetic). The room and bathroom were clean, and the room had a balcony. Not sure what the deal was with wifi though, no networks were available from our room.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2015

The hotel looked beautiful at first sight…but, there is BEDBUGS !!! The shower was blocked and there was all sort of bugs in the room.

The worst part about it is that the management was TERRIBLE.

We specifically booked for a balcony room but on arrival, the staff took us to a room at the ground floor. When we told the manager that we were supposed to get a balcony room, he just stormed about the fact that we booked after a certain hour and that therefor we couldn't get this bedroom. (On booking.com it only shows balcony room, but that's not what you get half of the time).
He ''offered'' us another bedroom without hot water but with a balcony and stormed again when we said it was not acceptable.

The WIFI was NOT working during the 2 days we were here (the weather was beautiful but apparently it wasn't working because of the rain…)

On my pillow, there was about 20 BED BUG spots and when I asked the Manager about it, his answer was "You should have asked me for another pillowcase''. Yes because as everybody knows changing the pillowcase is the best remedy for bedbugs…

He NEVER apologised for anything, didn't offer us anything to compensate the disagreement

The buffet is average, the fish overcooked and you r not allowed to order anything else than it at dinner time (you have the choice in between 2 main dishes only for the price of 1200 roupies).

They overcharge the safaris, just get out of the hotel and ask any of the Jeep guys and you will have a 1500roupies discount !)..

Stay away from this hotel, there are plenty of better ones in the area

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Austrofrankish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015

We arrived in the Uda Walawe National Park at around lunch time. Our driver brought us to this hotel in order to have lunch (we were staying at another place - Kalu's Hideaway). The restaurant (and what we could see of the hotel) was very smart and we had a very nice buffet lunch (which wasn't expensive - only about GBP11 for the two of us). We recommend this as a lunch stop.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015 via mobile

The Elephant Trail is a very new hotel and is a lot smarter than many others we drove past. Location wise we were near the park and the set up was ideal. Our room was very clean and smart, we had a ground floor room which opened onto the pool area. The pool was great, relaxing to sit around.

The only real downside was the food which let this place down. We had dinner here as little options to go elsewhere and it was a very basic buffet which I didn't enjoy. We also had lunch there and I would steer clear of the prawns as they were tiny and all shelled, a nightmare to eat! Food was also expensive for what it was.

We did also have a huge cockroach in our room, biggest one I have ever seen! We may have just been very unlucky though I saw no other roaches whilst in Sri Lanka for 2 weeks

This hotel nearly has it right and is pretty comfortable and ideal for a night near Uda Walawe park



Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2015

We were very happy with this hotel - just 5 minutes from the entrance to Uda Walawe National Park. It seemed very new and we had a fantastic cavernous room with very smart bathroom and balcony. Asankar the manager was exceptionally helpful and as a result of him, we had a wonderful safari experience. We explained it was our first safari and that it was really important to us to have an experienced guide that spoke good English. He rang the park office to help ensure this happened, he also booked us a jeep and driver.

Rooms on first and second floors have nice balconies to sit out on. There are lovely views from platforms in the hotel out over a rural landscape with a pleasant breeze that cools you. The food was very nice and the staff were great. Beers and food were reasonable. Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uda Walawe National Park
0.0 km away
Udawalawa Safari Village Hotel
Udawalawa Safari Village Hotel
#2 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
45 reviews
6.5 km away
Green View Safari Resort
Green View Safari Resort
#1 of 3 in Udawalawa
28 reviews
26.1 km away
OwinRich Resort
OwinRich Resort
#1 of 1 in Godakawela
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resor...
#3 of 26 in Uda Walawe National Park
832 reviews
3.9 km away
Eliyanth Udawalawa Hotel
Eliyanth Udawalawa Hotel
#2 of 3 in Udawalawa
33 reviews
16.0 km away
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
#3 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Trails

Address: 5th Mile Post, Uda Walawe National Park 70190, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range: RM210 - RM354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elephant Trails 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Elephant Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing