We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Insight Resort
Nearby Hotels
South Lake Resort(Ahangama)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Whale villa(Ahangama)(Great Value!)
US$30
US$29
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garton's Cape(Ahangama)
US$80
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kabalana(Ahangama)
US$84
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crystal Oceanic(Ahangama)(Great Value!)
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Dew Surf Camp(Weligama)
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
US$165
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
US$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
92
93
32
21
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
93
32
21
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsselling their warespersonal beachevening buffetkids poolcharming hotelsouthern expresswayenjoyed our staybeach viewgalle roadnew wingnice beachrelaxing stayfront office managerbed roomsmiling staffsecurity guardstayed for two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights in the hotel at the end of our trip and loved it. The rooms could be more clean but it compensated with the nice ocean view room/with a balcony. Hearing the ocean waves 24/24 is bliss. Although the hotel offers a pool, we decided to do an ocean swim and sunbath which is just in front of the hotel. Very safe as there are guards 24/24h. The food is delicious and we ate so much :) the staff attends all your needs and they always smile! Definitely recommended!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Hi Alexandra,
We are so glad that you chose our property for your stay and we are glad that you enjoyed the time. The environment of the hotel reflects the ideal coastal culture in Sri Lanka and we are extremely thrilled to know that the guests admire the atmosphere. The staff also puts their best effort in order to make the time of the customers at our property a memorable one, in terms of safety, cleanliness and comfort of the guests. However, we will pass the comment down to the cleaning staff in order to improve their services further. Again thank you very much for your wonderful comment and we are looking forward to seeing you again at our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Reasonable for the price... Nice location and atmoahpere... Very nice swimming pool with Kids pool. Friendly staff... Many attractions to visit near to the Hotel. Ahangama Twon is very close if you want local shops..

Food is expensive at Restaurant... Mosquitoes in the Rooms at night...

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Umesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Hi Umesh,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comment. We have done everything in our possibility in order to make sure the customer is satisfied with the atmosphere, location, the beach and the conditions of the hotel. We do our best to make sure the guests are provided with a comfortable stay during their time at our property since we know the customers come to enjoy a relaxed time out of their busy routines. We charge the standard 3 star rates for our food and the range we have in our buffet is quite extensive in order to cater the needs of the cutomers.
We are extremely sorry about the problem you had to face due to the mosquitos. Although we try our best to reduce the mosquito problem, being a tropical country, it is extremely hard to completely eradicate them. We spread infecticides to the nearby hotel properties as well, to make sure the surrounding area is mosquito-free as well. However, if you keep the doors closed, there will not be a problem because the room being a sealed, air-conditioned room, there would be no way for mosquitos to come in.
Again, thank you very much for the wonderful comment and we are looking forward to seeing you again at our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

I have booked a Deluxe Sea view room and already paid in full through Agoda, Unfortunately when we arrive the room was given to someone else.
Also I got to know that there are room not suitable as there is no ventilation and I had to stay in such a room

Never again in his Hotel and I think Agoda all other reputed web sites should take this hotel out from their lists.

Room Tip: please don't use this hotel,
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank chamindalankagama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

It is not our usual habit to expose a guest of ours for bad ethics. However, in the circumstances as Mr. Chaminda Lankagama very vindictively states that “Agoda and all other reputed websites should blacklist Insight Resort”, I am compelled to.
Mr. Chaminda Lnkagama did not book a Deluxe room for himself. He booked only a Side Sea-View room which is the second lowest category in the hotel.
However, he also booked a Deluxe sea-view room for Mr. & Mrs. Lehara Rathnaweera who were his friends on honeymoon. (Presume came straight after the wedding as the bride was carrying the bouquet.)
Neitherhas Mr. Chaminda Lankagamage put a remark on the booking and requested a Deluxe room double bed nor had stated that they are honeymooners.
As such, the front office allocated a twin room.
When they arrived at the hotel, room keys were handed over to them, and the guests were accompanied to the room by the lady receptionist.
When they saw a twin-bedded room, the bride had got so angry and she screamed and shouted at the staff. Then the staff had responded, (not knowing that they had not requested for a double room) “I shall report to my manager, look into it and would try and do a room change.”
Then the bride had got so angry, thrashed the reception staff with the bouquet.
In spite of such humiliation and assault, the lady receptionist had gone back to the office crying and had reported the incident to the Front Office Manager.
Then the Front Office Manager intervened and informed Mr. Chaminda Lankagama that there has not been a mistake on our part, they had not requested for a double bed in the booking and that is why it had happened.
In spite of such explanation, they had screamed and shouted at the hotel staff. This displays the quality and the standing of the guest.
Without getting agitated by the behavior of this customer, our senior team of the hotel was calm and professionally approached the issue.
On this day, the hotel was full. So, the only alternative was to talk to another double Deluxe room guest, and do an inter-change. None of the guests in the insight resort had agreed to this.
Fortunately, a Dutch couple in a superior category room had agreed for the inter-change. (Only difference between the Deluxe and a Superior is that the superior room has no balconies. But the room is larger. Rest is all the same.)
Then the front office manager had offered this option to the wedding couple; to inter-change with a superior room with a double bed.
Then the wedding couple has said OK and agreed to it. At that time, late in the evening, just prior to the dinner, the house-full hotel was busy.
In spite of all of it, the staff had to undergo a lot of difficulties with much cleaning to be done in the superior room with a double bed, as it was a used room, and besides the new room that was offered to the wedding couple. Though it was unused, the couple had purposely messed it up out of uncontrollable anger.
As such, this room also had to be re-done.
Having arranged all of it, Mr. Lankagama and the wedding couple had expressed that they are pleased with the quick action taken by the hotel team to recover from the issue that was created due to the initial mistake and incompetency of the guests.
Further, hotel manager has entrusted the F & B, to offer the wedding couple a complementary dinner and drinks, as they moved down from a Deluxe to a Superior room, though it was not a mistake of the hotel. Besides, they had requested for a late check out at 4 pm and that too had been extended without a charge.
Now, the afore-mentioned explanation would truly give the right pictures to the reader. Also, if you look at all the TripAdvisor comments, from here to 4-5 months backwards, no guest has behaved in the hotel in such a manner and nor the hotel has been rated or commented so poorly. When you read this comment, and go through the rating in comparison to others, it is very evident it is such a vindictive comment and we would call it indecent, as the fault is theirs.
All readers and the TripAdvisor could now decide whether the right thing is to black listing Insight Resort from all the online booking engines as Mr. Lankagama says, or black listinng him from TripAdvisor.
Further, there is a query in this regard in Agoda and our front office manager had responded to it. That too will be uploaded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We stayed here for two nights as part of a tour. It was a lovely, relaxing end to what had been a busy trip so far. The hotel is located right on the beach and you can get stunning views of the sun setting on a clear evening. The pool looked lovely although we didn't use it. We loved sitting the chairs just inside, looking out to the beach and reading our books...with a beer! It is obviously a hotel popular with families as the pool was pretty much full of kids most of the time. The beach is gorgeous but be warned, there are very strong currents. The ladies selling their wares on the beach were quick to tell people which sections to avoid which was lovely of them. The food was a bit disappointing but it was okay over all.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CaledonianCalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear CaledonianCalling,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our property. Our main focus as a beach hotel is to give the amazing experience of a typical Island culture to the guests. Our management and the staff do their best in order to create the ideal, relaxed atmosphere which you expect from a vacation and we are so glad that you were able to enjoy it to the maximum. Of course, the hotel is a popular destination with the families, because there are games and activities to fulfil the entertainment requirements of all age groups.
About your comment on the food, thank you for the feedback. As we are on a continuous improvement plans, in the area of food. However being a 3-star hotel e have provided a spread to go in line for the price charged. But of course, we will share your comment with our chef for further improvements.
Thank you again for your wonderful comment and we look forward to seeing you again at Insight Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

The rooms are big and the beds are comfortable. The beach is minutes away. There is a wide range of foods available but the quality varies. The staff are extremely helpful. The pool is nice. Overall it's a comfortable place to stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you Sir / Madam for your nice comments about the Insight Resort. We note a bit of a concern in your statement that the quality of food varies. Thank you very much for your good input and you can be rest assured that it will be certainly looked into for improvement.
We are indeed happy to note that your stay in our Resort was overall comfortable and look forward to have you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews