We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Guest House Pavkovic(Slano)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Apartments Mozara(Slano)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Villa Ane(Slano)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Apartments Nine Slano(Slano)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveller rating
350
161
37
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
161
37
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busmountain viewsleepy villageprivate beachplenty of sunbedsbeach shoesbreakfast and dinnerbuffet styleold townrelaxing holidayhalf boardindoor poollovely hotelquiet baystar hotelsea watersalt water
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 565 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2014

An excellent modern (first TA review was 2009) hotel, the hotel and rooms are typical of modern Mediterranean/Canaries upper end 4*.
By far the largest building in the village of Slano it has the best location and beach in the bay. The village facilities are as described by previous reviewers, but be aware the mini-markets really are mini! Local entertainment is limited, but there are some very pleasant footpaths that offer wonderful views..
The hotel is smart, very clean and overall very impressive. As mentioned in a previous review the staff are good, but some junior dining staff, standing there with crossed arms or hands on hips, do not give a good impression.
There is a gift shop in the hotel which offers items, mainly of high quality by local artists. The other little souvenir shops in the village sell mainly international beach tat.
But is the Admiral Grand 5*? I think not. I recently stayed in a 3* hotel in Lincoln UK which offered a selection of pillows and cushions in the room, a good size modern TV, a good hospitality tray, all day cold or hot light snacks up to a full meal, and a premium full service restaurant in the evening. The Admiral, although claiming 5*, offered none of these, other than limited fast-food type hot snacks during the day. (The in-room TV wasn’t much bigger than a good sized laptop). No fridge, turn down service or (boo-hoo) no chocolates on the pillow. It was just a nice 4* room with a modest balcony. The glass tumblers in the bathroom, although used, were not cleaned or replaced during our weeks stay, though apart from that the housekeeping was excellent.
The restaurant is buffet, and being new, had excellent warming facilities for the food. The selection and quality of the food was good 4*. The breakfast hot food selection was limited, and varied little, however the rest of the breakfast selection was good.
But should a 5* hotel offer just one type of milk? OK, two types, hot & cold. Often there was only white sugar, and never any alternative sweeteners.
Gripe over. Think of the Admiral as a good 4* and you shouldn’t be disappointed. We would certainly visit again, but note room tips.

See http://www.libertasdubrovnik.com/prigradskazapad.swf for bus routes to Dubrovnik, about £2.50e.w. on the No. 12, goes about every 2 hours. (For the old town get off the bus 1st stop after going through the tunnel in Dubrovnik, then follow the paths/steps downhill. Not suitable if you have mobility problems.
On return best to catch a 1 1a or1b from Pile (old town) to Autobusni Kolodvor, the main bus station by the cruise terminal. The No. 12 leaves from here.
Before going to town see http://www.portdubrovnik.hr/girica1.php and select your month, then choose a day with just a few, small cruise ships visiting and so avoid the crowds.

Room Tip: Agree with everyone about sea view rooms. Be aware that rooms 125/6/7 and 225/6 & 7 are above the main rear exit (by the restaurant) to the beach etc. which is the rather comfortable main seating and smoking area. Expect plentiful cigarette fumes on the balconies of these rooms, especially just before and after meals, and in the evenings. This is also the outside area for the main bar.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
12  Thank Grumbleweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2014

The room on the third floor was good. We had a nice view on the sea and the mountains.
The hotel has 80%of Slano bay. So plenty of space for pools, a beach etc.
They also have an indoor pool. Quite nice at the end of summer were the temperatures are less high.
We had a good buffet in the evening.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank FrankXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2014

Would certainly recommend it. Lovely clean rooms; modern, clean bathrooms, reasonably spacious. Dine inside or on a huge veranda with steps onto the beach. It's a big hotel, so big buffet style meals. But the food was good and there were many different choices for each course. The Mrs thought that some of the waiting staff needed a bit of 'hospitality' training. You know: smiling more etc. I think she was a bit fussy. They were probably youngsters drafted in for the holiday season. The senior staff, especially the guy who ran the kitchens (suit and tie, front of house), could not possibly have been more helpful and clearly proud of his food. I think rightly so. He personally went to get some poached eggs for the Mrs for breakfast when she enquired. Other staff inside, especially the young woman who helped advise and organise trips etc., were very helpful. The beach is, I think like all of Croatia, pebbly beach. But there are plenty of sun beds and umbrellas (if you arrive late, you might have to search a bit for them), the water is beautiful, and all you need is those rubber soled water shoe things to walk around in. And if you want, there is an outdoor (salt water) swimming pool and an indoor one too. You can hire canoes, pedelos, jet skis. I hired a mountain bike a couple of times. There are miles of tracks along the coast and up into the mountains behind the resort. The village is pretty tiny: there are a couple of restaurants. The one whose name I have forgotten was lovely (it's recommended on all the reviews): suggest order the lamb in a pot thing the day before. Dubrovnik is only 30km away. You can get the bus just outside the hotel for a few quid. It's air conditioned etc., so very comfortable. Old city is worth seeing. Go for the restaurant on the seafront in the bay in the old city that gets lots of recommendations that they say is used by locals. No fuss service, but really lovely food. If you want a posh silver service there is another restaurant next door which if I recall correctly is called Arsenal or something similar. Teenagers: no nightlife outside that I could see, but there was a disco thing twice in the week we were there. Neither of ours went....All in all, an easy relaxing holiday, beach life and good food and wine. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
12  Thank MarkoDarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2014

We have just recently returned from a 7 night stay at this wonderful hotel. We have stopped off in Slano, for lunch/coffee many times both before and after the hotel was built so this year we decided to holiday here, as we liked the look of the hotel. We were not disappointed as the hotel was everything and even more than we had hoped it would be.
Having read the reviews, we paid for a full sea view and then requested a top floor room. We were told that the location of the room could not be guaranteed, but that the request would be noted on our booking, which was fair enough .
On our arrival, we were given a lovely warm welcome by the receptionist, who informed us that we had a particularly beautiful room on the top floor, and it was indeed just perfect. This hotel is just lovely.
It is spotlessly clean, with such lovely welcoming staff who, after day one, knew our room number off by heart so we just signed for any drinks etc and then paid at the end of our stay. The prices were excellent value, which we knew they would be as the further you get outside of Dubrovnik, everything becomes so much cheaper. For a 5* hotel, a bottle of beer was only £3 and a very large white coffee £1.50 so we ate and drank freely within the hotel restaurants and bars and even used the minibar in our room several times.
The small supermarket outside the hotel and nearby restaurants are much cheaper again, bottle of diet coke 69p and a bottle of beer less than £1 and fresh fruit a few pence. Having stayed in and around Dubrovnik many times, this sort of value is hard to beat and even we were surprised at just how reasonable it was.
We unfortunately had very mixed weather this year and were so glad of such a lovely hotel to shelter in, when the weather was bad....... And some days it was very bad. There is a really lovely indoor swimming pool and 'wellness area' with separate jacuzzi, which we had all to ourselves on several days. The sun terraces are beautiful and the outdoor pool area and restaurants just lovely. The private beach is, as other people have commented, not at all crammed. Loads of lovely sun loungers, each with a parasol and an abundance of towel stations to grab your beach towels. There are jet skis, pedaloes, kayaks and snorkels all available too. Very peaceful shingle beach, very well maintained by hotel staff who even rake it all at the end of the day.

Slano bay is exquisite, lovely walks round either side to very small 'hamlets' one with restaurants and coffee stops. Stunning views as you walk. Fruit and vege stalls in the village, souvenir shops (2) chemist, 2small groceries shops, cigarette/newsagents Tisak and a few bars/restaurants. There is also a Franciscan Monastery dating back to 1399, which is open to the public. Turtle sanctuary nearby and loads of cycle routes, everyone cycles. Slano was badly hit during the war in 1991/1992 ( YouTube) but like most of the Dubrovnik area, has recovered really well.
Bedrooms are a good size, fluffy robes, loads of lovely toiletries and fresh towels & views to die for.
We enjoyed the buffet breakfast and buffet dinner very much. It had everything you could think of for breakfast, cooked items every morning if you want it including omelettes and sausage and bacon, along with every sort of bread, croissant fruit etc you can think of and lots more. Dinner was abundant with several meats, fish, poultry along with soups, salads and chips, different styles of potatoes, rice, pasta...... The list goes on. , it was terrific.
Other people have mentioned the strange nightclub....... We decided to go looking for it one night, and it is in the strangest of places and such a shame as it is beautiful. If it was on the ground floor, where guests could see it and use it, I think it would be fabulous. We just couldn't understand why it was hidden away where you just can't find it? Such a shame and a waste of a beautiful room.
The only other thing which we found 'unfair' for staff was that because you don't need to carry cash around and can sign for all drinks and food etc we felt that the very hardworking waiting staff were most likely being done out of the usual tips? We decided that we would tip, with cash, as we went along, with each drink etc but noticed that no one else seemed to be giving any tips at all, which we felt was a shame. I queried it at reception, if there was any way of us adding gratuities when signing for drinks etc. but was told no, just cash tips. Your money goes a long way here though with roughly 10 kuna =£1, so you could tip well.

All in all an excellent hotel, very well maintained with terrific, friendly professional staff, a wonderful relaxing week, even with bad weather. We will most definitely return.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
12  Thank stephenrodgers119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2014

There are so many positives about this hotel, location, cleanliness, facilities etc however my husband and I want to tell you about the hotel nightclub experience. We were so excited at the prospect of an evening of dance and drink (as there is little going on after dinner) that we set about finding it! This was not as easy as it sounds and we almost ended up in the cleaning cupboard!! We eventually found it on the first floor next to someone's room!! How bizarre. Once inside it was amazing but it soon dawned on us that no one else was joining us and the nightclub was empty as the guests did not want this kind of entertainment. The point of this is to let you know this hotel is very quiet and there is little to do after dinner and guests tend to retire to their room early. If quiet is what you are looking for, it's perfect.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view and got a beautiful view of the sea and pool. Be careful to avoid views of car park.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deb1342104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews