We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place, great value”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Rey Apartment

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Competa, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison T
Surbiton, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place, great value”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This Apartment is in a lovely location not far from Competa. It is kept very clean and tidy and great views. Helpful friendly owners and I would defintely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Condition of the property and views.
Liked least: Leaving the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5151
kiddy
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The picture of the studio looked lovely but sadly we were a little disappointed because we thought it needed a little bit of TLC but for the money it is a reasonable option .It does have lovely views and is very quiet .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Casa Rey. We are sorry that the apartment did not meet your expectations. As you will see from previous reviews this is the first time in 9 years that we have had anything other than a positive review and many of our guests have returned several times. It is decorated inside and out at the beginning of each season and is equipped with everything we feel is needed for an enjoyable holiday. You do not mention the areas that you feel are in need of TLC and we would very much appreciate it if you could mail us to let us know so we can address them for future customers. We do feel, however, that Casa Rey offers excellent value for money.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little oasis of calm and relaxation”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this oasis of peace and tranquillity.
Debbie and Alick were the perfect hosts - there if you needed them, but left you to your own devices. It was a prefect location for walking in the hills above Competa and there are several walks which can be done from the apartment and the views are stunning. The property has everything you need and is spotlessly clean.
The directions we received were spot-on and we got there with no difficulties.
We can highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare D
1 review
“Great place to stay for cycling”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We spent 2 weeks at Casa Rey in April, just before Easter. We were exceptionally lucky with the weather - 18 to 25 degrees and lovely blue skies.

We took our bikes with us and spent quite a few days either cycling directly from Casa Rey or driving to another area. The roads were generally quiet and fantastic to cycle on with smooth tarmac - long sweeping downhills to compensate for the work going up!

We also (at Alick's suggestion) walked up La Maroma - a 2060m mountain with clearly marked paths and fantastic views all of the way up. In addition there was a great gorge walk from Frigiliana.

Casa Rey itself was perfect for us - very well equipped, quiet but lots of stuff to do on the doorstep. We enjoyed wandering around Competa too.

Overall we had a lovely relaxing break. Alick and Debbie were really helpful but not intrusive. A great place to stay which I would recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and apartment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing