We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (901)
Filter reviews
902 results
Traveller rating
722
108
47
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
722
108
47
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews berber tent richard branson atlas mountains infinity pool tennis courts mountain retreat leather slippers superior suite local berber our honeymoon main building high atlas mini bar private terrace magical place spa treatments berber feast
Filter
Updating list...
608 - 613 of 902 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I'm writing this as i'm lounging on our deck looking out to the mountains, we are in a berber tent and it's just amazing. From the silk draped ceilings to the gorgeous morrocan lamps to the bose speakers....it's all great. Very pricey but hey, some things in life are just priceless.

Room tip: Berber tent!!! It's a must.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemissT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Simply fabulous, wonderful, beautiful, delightful and amazing.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We just returned from Kasbah Tamadot, this being out first taste of a Virgin/Branson resort. Overall, we had a lovely experience. The location is stunning, the hotel is attractive, the activities are fun, and most importantly, the staff were dedicated. Yet, though my overall rating is very good, I was reluctant to give this property an "excellent". Read on and I will explain..

Firstly, the location: totally breathtaking. It's high up in the Atlas Mountains, nestled in a valley among snow- capped peaks (yes, go in winter if you wish to see this). Everywhere you look, you see beauty. From the bubbling river below to the hillsides above, which are dotted with quaint mud-walled huts and villages. And at night, when you step outside, you are surrounded by a thousand stars... you really are either in a scene from the Arabian Nights...

Secondly, the activities: simply great fun! You MUST book the quad/off-road bike tour for 2 hours (1 hour is too short, and 3 hours, too long). It's an amazing way to see the countryside as your gentle guide will take you through lakes, hilltops and eventually when you are sufficiently confident, dirt tracks. It's a must do. Also, a must do is the mule trek up to Armed/Ahmed village for lunch. The mules are characterful and lunch spot, divine. You dine at the highest village in the Atlas mountains on a rooftop on sizzling goat tagine and chicken kebabs. Breathtaking!

Thirdly, the staff: they are all dedicated, motivated, and so warm-hearted that you feel like you are living in their home. The wait staff will literally do anything to make you happy. When I didn't like anything on the menu for dinner, they were happy to let me order off the room service menu even though we were in the restaurant. Full credit must also be given to the managers, who are all totally committed to their job (and to Richard Branson!). They responded almost immediately to our requests (paracetamol arrived within 5 minutes) and anticipated others (provided a price list for Necker Island when we asked about this other Virgin resort). All the managers were genuinely nice and happy people and the resort is very lucky to have such a dedicated team running things!

So there we have the numerous positives (and there are many more I can list). But there are some flaws which you need to be aware of. First of all, don't expect this to be a spotless, refurbished Aman or Mamounia. This is a real Kasbah.. it has the feel of a grand old villa and some parts of it haven't been totally modernised. For instance, our room had a lot of dust floating around (so much so that I became allergic and sneezed endlessly inside it). But then again, that is part of the style of this resort... as it's part of the charm and character of the experience.

The other main shortcoming was the food. We really felt that there is tremendous scope for improvement in this area. It seems that something was always lacking in our meals, though admittedly there was a lot of enthusiasm. Breakfast is plentiful as you have a good choice of both western and local dishes (and it's all included). But the smoked salmon didn't taste fresh and the air-dried ham was a touch leathery. Dinner in the main restaurant was also not perfect. Service was enthusiastic but the local food was a bit bland. We tried the tagine/couscous and they lacked freshness and flavor. And the local buffet was a disappointment as the dishes had been cooking for too long in their containers (and noone had bothered to stir them such that they became crusty). Their head chef was away when we stayed but hopefully he will introduce a greater sense of attention to detail when he is back. Food quality is particularly crucial as there are no other dining options nearby..

Anyway, in conclusion, this is a lovely resort managed by wonderful staff. In my opinion, compared to all the Amans, 4 Seasons, etc that I have stayed in worldwide, this is a MUST DO resort. Yes, it has its' shortcomings, but these are not enough to deter the avid luxury traveler (and the food can always be improved)! Go stay and come home with a multitude of special romantic memories from Kasbah Tamadot... we did!!

PS: the reservations specialist in their London office did a fantastic job - she really knows the resort very well, down the layout of each room. When I asked about room size, she called the resort to actually measure the square footage of the room - well done!!

Room tip: Book room 21 - it's the best with a beautiful ornate ceiling and superb views!! And you MUST take the quad bike tour for 2 hours as well as the mule trek for lunch in Armed/Ahmed village!!!
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Titillator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Stayed there for 4 nights recently. The photos don't do it justice. Quite beautiful location, excellent service, and wonderful rooms. Couldn't praise the chef (Ben Xavier) more highly - started his career at 'Fifteen' restaurant with Jamie Oliver. Nothing was too much trouble and was extremely flexible to our needs. Fabulous hiking on the doorstep. Would highly recommend visiting this hotel.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VixG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Turn a corner on a bumpy, dusty road leading up into the mountains and there is Kasbah Tamadot, perched on the edge of the valley out of a fairy tale. From the moment the staf greet you as you walk to the entrance, your are transported into an oasis of tranquility and pampering. Spectacular rooms - ours was a "tent" on the edge of a drop to the valley floor - beautiful common spaces and gardens. Management has just the right combination of attention to detail and friendliness. The staff are just a delight and so obviously proud and happy in their work. The food is excellent and beautifully presented.
I noted the comment about day trippers. None when we stayed but that would have spoilt the feeling a bit. Our party loved the hamman and spa.

Room tip: Take your pick! The tents are dreamy, with their individual decks with pool/jacuzzi, the graden tower is lovely and the main house roomsare lavishly decorated. We were out of season so road noise was minimal. I might avoid rooms which open to the road if there are any.
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews