We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Island Oasis with Private Beach”
Arial of The Nutty Mermaid-Your Own Private Beach!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Arial of The Nutty Mermaid-Your Own Private Beach!
The Nutty Mermaid from seaside Early sunrise! Magnificent!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Arial of The Nutty Mermaid-Your Own Private Beach!
The Nutty Mermaid from seaside
Early sunrise! Magnificent!
What a view!From every bedroom and living areas!
Put your feet in the sand,  a drink in your hand , and find paradise!
Downstairs dining and living space with a beach home flair!
PatioTableView - The beach is at your doorstep
Upstairs kitchen area
Downstairs kitchen fully! fully! equipted!
Comfortable dining with a great ocean view
Front of The Nutty Mermaid
Boat at mooring, view from patio
DOWN LIVING ROOM with excellent view of the sea!!
UPSTAIRS BEDROOM -The Nutty Mermaid Penthouse , if you rent get first dibs on this one!!
Living room - put on the music and kick back!
Relax in a chair then get ready to snorkel!!
My home in Abaco, most guest come back and call it their beachhome without the work, just play!!
Tranquility and beauty-what a great place to be,my homeis your home! Enjoy the moment!!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island, Abaco Islands, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matthew N
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Island Oasis with Private Beach”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016
4
people found this review helpful

This review is long overdue as we had the best time in our 7 years of father/son fishing trips to the Abacos. We normally stay at Lubbers Cay on a boat only Cay but saw this house and took a chance. We are a group of dads and their sons and were looking for an isolated location that allows us to spend quality tie together and with our sons. The Nutty Mermaid met and exceeded our expectations - read more and i will elaborate.

Being on Marsh Harbour provided a unique option for us as we could get to the house by car and feel like we were at a private island (is an island). Our group of 3 dads an our sons arrived at different times and the proprietor provided us all the info we needed to rent a van, find the house and get our boat to the location. It is about 20 minutes by car/taxi and about the same by boat. They have a mooring out front which is perfect in calm seas but also arranged for a dock on the inlet behind the house for a ridiculously low price. We typically unloaded at the dock and moored at the beach except for one night which we were worried about the weather.

Upon arrival, the caretaker saw us drive in and arrived as we were walking in to show us the lay of the place. Very helpful and lots of recs for fishing and restaurants. House looks like it could be in any suburban neighborhood in the US until you walk out back. Private beach which is steps away with nobody in sight. Unlike our other Abaco spots, we could swim, snorkel, fish, sail, paddle board, and you name it - 30 paces from the Nutty Mermaid. We caught as many fish using our Hawaiian slings off the beach on the islands that are 100 yards off the beach as we did out on the deeper water.

Best part of our experience was gathering driftwood every afternoon and having a fire on the beach each evening. Priceless and usually lasted late into the night with a moonlight swim. House was very casual and the only downside was trying to get the NBA finals on the TV which we were unsuccessful so we went to the marina in Treasure Cay which was an unsuspecting surprise as it was packed with crazy people in Cleveland and Warriors jerseys (kids had a ball).

As compared to our boat only trips, we loved being able to go to Maxwells grocery to get loaded up with food as we ended up cooking most our meal in the house (inside and BBQ) which saved us a ton of money from buying food in the marinas. Please note, most of the liquor stores close at 6pm on weekends and are closed on Sundays. We arrived on a Sunday and all took advantage of duty free.

Planning on going back again and thank you to the owner for putting up with a bunch of BOYS, big and small!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2017
Memories well made, glad you had a wonderful time and can't wait to have you boys back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slogan100...
usa
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful location with wonderful amenities.”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We spent a week at The Nutty Mermaid and could have spent a year. It is a beautiful spot with an almost deserted beach. We saw two dog walkers each morning, but no one else. The water is crystal clear and gently sloping for fantastic floating. The house comes with a kayak, a sunfish and a sailboard along with assorted floats, noodles, and even some fun water toys I have not seen. The kitchen was better stocked than I expected and everything worked! We loved it and will be back. I do recommend the grocery store in Treasure Cay as it has better meat selection than what we found in Marsh Harbor. Also Coco Beach Restaurant was great for lunch and we went to steak night at Bahama Beach Club. Both were yummy. Fish is the right item on Abaco! We even looked at lots to build - liked it that much, maybe we will be neighbors! As they say, "Haste Ye Back"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Restaurants are expensive.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
You just made my day!!
Love to hear from guests and hope to have you back again soon.
I travel for a living and find Abaco my favorite place to chill, relax and enjoy the clear turquoise waters. Breathtaking beauty on Abaco.
Think sand between your toes!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami H
Wilton, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place to stay in the Bahamas”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My finance and I truly enjoyed our vacation at The Nutty Mermaid! We fell in with the place for many reasons:

*Fantastic accommodations and hospitality by Michelle and Joy.
*Beautiful views of the gorgeous turquoise ocean.
*Good snorkeling right off of their private beach.
*Perfect location with easy access by boat to Treasure Cay (Cocoa Beach) and Guana Cay (Nippers Bar).
*Stunning views of the sun rises every morning.
*Great fishing in the area.
*We got married in Marsh Harbor!
*Both Michelle and Joy were a pleasure to work with and full of information about the house, the area and things to do.

As other reviewers mentioned, pictures do not do the place justice. It was comfortable, very clean and had everything you needed to have a wonderful vacation! We will definitely be back! Thank you Michelle and Joy for an awesome time!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, location and private beach.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Larry_Bec...
Winneconne, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location and house”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

There is so much to say about this rental. From the great rentor Michelle to the house on the Great Abaco Sea. The owner is very helpful and responsive. Before we got there we had so much good information from her about places to eat and rent cars or boats and places to see whether it's diving or boating or driving. The house sits on the ocean, east side of Great Abaco between Marsh Harbor and Treasure Cay. Great middle of two location. The house is part of a large development but the development is all "behind" you and you don't see any other places unless you look out the front of the house, which you won't do because the back is where you will spend your time. All bedrooms have great views of the beach and ocean. Small islands off the beach are good to snorkel and see some of the excellent colorful fish and find some lobster if you wish. The house itself is furnished very nicely in an "island" feeling. There are some nice extras in the house such as a kayak, sunfish and paddle board. There are also a whole "boatload" of snorkel masks and fins. I counted at least 10 masks. Lots of stuff is left by others that stay there and decided to leave things behind instead of traveling with them I guess.

Now just a couple words about a car rental we made and a boat rental. We rented a car from Cornish car rental. They must get their cars from the junk yard for cheep. Just a warning.. Seaside boat rental on Elbow Cay was ok. They will pick you up in Marsh Harbor to deliver the boat, if they remember.... Right., I called them the afternoon before we were to pick up the boat to confirm and the next day they did not show up until I called again at the dock to remind them. The boat was nice though, an Albury Brothers 20 foot..

Oh, air travel. Silver Air is horrible. If you can find an alternate way to get there do it. You will avoid a lot of stress. We lost a day of vacation because of them.

A word of advice. if you go out boating take a GPS with you to mark spots you may find. Locating anything more than once if you find them is like a needle in a hay stack. The Abaco Sea is bigger than you think. Also, if I had it to do again I'd rent a 23 foot or larger boat. We used the mooring off the front of the house and it worked just fine. You will just have to wade out there to get in the boat.

There is much more to say about the stay and all of it is excellent. I'd stay there again if I went to Great Abaco. Michelle, the owner, is wonderful to deal with and the house is great. We will be there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: On the beach location and clean house.
Liked least: Barking dogs to the south of us. Not real loud but just annoying.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing