We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Roncesvalles(Orreaga-Roncesvalles)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa de Beneficiados(Orreaga-Roncesvalles)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada de Roncesvalles(Orreaga-Roncesvalles)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
15
51
14
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
51
14
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspilgrim menujean pied de portbed was comfortableroom was largecamino walkersplace to stayloftpyreneespilgrimsaccommodationhostelwifistagehikealbergueeuros
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Excellent place to stay after a hard days walking. Lovely warm rooms with a huge restaurant downstairs. Lots and lots of lovely hot water. Right on the Camino. Literally on the road with a big sign to Santiago opposite. Good pilgrims dinner. Four of us shared a room and it was good value for money.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Travelling_Person_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

We had a very nice stay at this hostel. The room was large and bed was comfortable. This is a very old hotel right on the Camino. Although it was dark in the long wide hallways upstairs it still had a cozy feeling. Only access to rooms via stairs I believe. There was a bar off the main entrance with about 8-10 tables and tables outside. The hotel had a large dining area with assigned tables for breakfast. The hostel seems to cater to Camino walkers; however, tourists stay here too. We enjoyed our stay and it was a treat to arrive. Room registration doesn't begin until 3pm (maybe 2 pm) so no one is at the counter until then. Hard to find someone to talk to before then. Secure access to rooms. Good place to stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kathyp686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

After having walked over the Pyrenees mountains from St Jean Pied de Port it was a very welcoming site to see our accommodation. I had pre booked this accommodation and my communication with the hotel was excellent. On arrival we were greeted and were given a room on the top floor. There are no lifts, stairs only, but a great room for three ladies. Two beds upstairs in a loft and one downstairs. They offer breakfast and a pilgrims dinner. They also have a bar and you can get small meals there. All up I thought this was a great hotel and would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Leeanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

If you're in Roncesvalles, then you're most likely walking the Camino de Santiago. There are only two choices in where to stay here: the overcrowded hostel in the monastery or this hotel. Therefore, you MUST reserve your room well before your trip or you're unlikely to be able to book the day you arrive. Since I was traveling with my parents, we had a room with a staircase leading to an open loft where my bed was located (my parents' beds were below). There were two skylight-type windows open which provided a nice circulation of the cool mountain air. Otherwise there was no AC. The room was very spacious owing to the design. The bathroom was small, but clean with toiletries provided. One caveat...no elevator, so we had to lug our heavy suitcases up a few flights which was the last thing we wanted to do after a 19-mile hike across the Pyrenees, but that was our only con to this hotel. Receptionist was nice. The dinner was served family-style which was fun as you could socialize with people you saw during the day on the hike. Tasty food...typical Pilgrim menu. Nice servers. Cute dining room and cute bar area. I would strongly recommend this place. You'll appreciate the comfort after a long day of hiking.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank PBCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Wow! For a dormitory, I could not have been more surprised by the friendly staff that are volunteers from the Netherlands. And the bunks were clean and easy to manage. Male and female bathrooms were always available. Mixed beds (about 60 on one floor) were not a problem. Remember to bring ear plugs as there were many loud sleepers in one area. You must be out by 8am so be prepared to rise early.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Dahlcast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews