We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
43
56
24
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
56
24
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews log cabin main building stunning views local village amazing location great spot really enjoyed our stay here evening meal annex nature terrace mountains road walks funchal island madeira
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is basic, but in a fantastic location. The staff are friendly and helpful. The beds were not as comfy as I'd like and the breakfast could be improved, however dinner was excellent, we ate here every night of our stay. The hotel provides great value for money and is perfect for exploring the mountains.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stevie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorisolHotels, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for such a nice review of our lovely Pousada dos Vinháticos! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

The first thing you notice when arriving at the hotel are the simply stunning views. The second is the slightly eccentric nature of the building with its "garage" bar and multi-level terraces, These are massive plus points which, if you're anything like us, you'll take full advantage of. Inside the hotel is charming, in a quirky, slightly outdated way. For us another plus. We were staying in the "logs". Perfectly fine, a bit noisy and we did have something of a drainish pong now and again but we weren't in there enough for it to be an unbearable problem. Another big tick is the restaurant. Decent enough food in the evenings and a hearty breakfast buffet in the mornings. All in all, it would be hard to beat on price; location could be a problem for some but if you're in the hiking fraternity I'm guessing you like it as much as we did.

Room tip: Don't stay in the annex if you're noise averse
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isummers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorisolHotels, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you so much for your positive review of our lovely Pousada dos Vinháticos. We are ideally located in the mountains of Madeira, and I wanted to clarify that there is no noise from traffic, only roosters and dogs baying from a nearby village. It is very peaceful here, and close to the start of beautiful walks through our levadas. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

We booked this to be close to walking routes for a couple of nights before our week in Funchal. Got a good deal - arrived just after 8 pm in time for dinner.

Accommodation is on 3 floors. But it IS on the side of a mountain. Our room was on the lower floor but still afforded great views from the bedroom. The corridor was dark and gloomy because it is 2m from the rock face!

The room was a bit damp (the hotel is in the clouds at night and early am). But nevertheless it was a great find.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank AOC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thank you for your review of our lovely Pousada dos Vinháticos! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

The location is unbelievable stunning. I ended up staying two extra days. Quiet and beautiful, and a great base for walking. The interior is very outdated, not sure its changed much since the early 80`s, not the most comfortable, but if you are all about nature, stunning views, friendly staff and quiet unreal surroundings - suddenly the colours and the decor becomes invisible.. would stay again ..

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GorilHebnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thank you for your review of our lovely Pousada dos Vinháticos! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

This is a really lovely hotel.

Views are great and it is in a fantastic location if you want to go walking and explore the hills and levadas. You can easily drive down to the coast if you want.

The food is excellent and breakfast was good, but if you are a tea lover then bring your own tea bags!

The hot water can be temperamental at times, but overall it was fine.

The restaurant is excellent and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EssexPianist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Pousada dos Vinhaticos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thank you so much for such a positive review of our lovely Pousada dos Vinháticos! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews