We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beach just down from our house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
The beach just down from our house
Sunset from our Lounge
St Kilda View Point
Lobster Pot
Garage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
North Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
boothroyd...
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 20 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This was the first time we had visited the Outer Hebrides and it will not be the last time either. Why we picked North Uist, well, why not is the answer, if you do not know an area you have to start somewhere. Picking Tranquil Sands holiday cottage was perfect, there is absolutely nothing you will want that is not supplied, it is superbly equipped and beautifully laid out and furnished, if you're not comfortable in this cottage then there is something wrong with you.
The weather for our stay was great with sunsets and sunrises virtually everyday. The walk down to the beach and the beach itself were fabulous, Sitting there watching the sun go down will be a memory of mine forever.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2017
Thank you for writing such a fantatstic and very informative review. I agree 100% with you about watching when the sun goes down it is just awesome and I will never get bored watching them!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dotpendre...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely holiday in a superb house in North Uist”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our fourth trip to Tranquil Sands was excellent as usual - the house is equipped with everything one could wish for and immaculately presented. We love the walks from the house and everything is peaceful and quiet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
Thank you again for taking the time to let everybody know on Trip advisor your views on your 4th Visit!! Look forward to welcoming you back on your 5th Visit!! Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanStocky
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic House & Location”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Spacious, stylish, extremely well equipped holiday home with long, white, deserted beaches just a short walk away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments we are just so happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our house on North Uist, Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful house in a stunning location!”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Absolutely loved our time at Tranquil Sands. The house is just perfect, spacious and has everything you would ever need in it. Very easy to find and in a stunning location. You can see for miles out of the large windows! The sunsets are amazing. The beach is on your doorstep and is a great walk, we had the beach to ourselves every time we went down. There are several beaches within 5 to 10 minutes drive from the house and we explored all of them, the weather was kind to us! Looking forward to our next visit. Tranquil Sands will not disappoint you.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and informative review. I also love watching the sunsets especially through the large windows and as you mentioned the beach is usually deserted. We are always grateful when guests like yourselves take the time to write about their experiences staying in our house on our beautiful Island of North Uist. Hope to welcome you back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth C
2 reviews
“Twice, because we had to go back”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We actually stayed here during May 2014/15, & its improved since then.
I think that all the positive comments have been pretty well covered, its quite simply Fantastic!!

The owners have thought of everything that us tourists might need, during our stay & communicating with Mark (owner),on the phone was always a pleasure, he couldn't have been more helpful.
I've tried to book another stay over the last couple of years but due to its popularity, I've been unsuccessful, however I shall keep trying as no other accommodation, on Island, comes close to Tranquil Sands.
Apart from the beauty of the property, its location's also excellent. As a naturalist its the ideal area for accessing the discrete beaches & the magical western coastline, including the infamous (machair).

To sum up, one simply has to go & pay a visit, you won't regret it ,I promise you.

Thanks for an unforgettable experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
We are so humbled by the fantatstic reviews that everybody writes. Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an informative review. It means a lot to us and certainly makes us feel that we are doing things right, which we will continue on doing. We hope that you can eventually secure yourself a booking and look forward to welcoming you back to Tranquil Sands, hopefully sooner rather than later.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing