We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, no fuss relaxation in great location...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dovecote Cottage

Dovecote courtyard side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dovecote courtyard side
La Piscine Dovecote kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Dovecote courtyard side
La Piscine
Dovecote kitchen
Dovecote Spring 2011
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Excideuil, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Coxseh
1 review
“Peaceful, no fuss relaxation in great location (great for young families)”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We are a family of four with two children, five and three, and stayed at Tabary (Dovecote Cottage) for the first week of the school holidays. We just wanted a no fuss and peaceful holiday in a characterful, historic property with access to quaint French towns and villages should we feel the need to venture out. A pool was essential too. We were not disappointed in our choice: Richard was welcoming and on hand if you needed him but very much left us to our own devices and with the freedom to use the fantastic pool (with diving board which is nice), walk the grounds where butterflies flutter amidst the lavender and the old barns which house table tennis and assorted games in the cool shade. Our kids loved this holiday and, inevitably, wouldn't get out of the pool which is shared with guests from the two other properties and also the owners but that wasn't a problem at all. The main manor house is stunning and provides a superb backdrop to all the other properties. If you want to venture out, there is a beautiful castle (in Hautefort) about 15 minutes away and further afield places like Sarlat. The location of the property is excellent - secluded and tucked away yet 2 minutes drive from a supermarket and the local town which is very traditional and worth a saunter through. In terms of feedback, the only things we'd raise is having enough beds around the pool for all guests (on the rare occasions they all choose to swim at the same time), perhaps slightly more comfortable chairs for the patio and garden at Dovecote and also more towels in the property. But these are small, trifling points and should not disuade anyone from a visit. We are planning to return - maybe with friends as it would be a good place to hire all the properties in one go. A wonderful holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Thank you James for coming to Tabary - we look forward to your next visit. Point taken about the sun-beds at the pool - we will get some more immediately! We supply a hand towel and a bath towel for everyone here, and beach towels on request. We welcome any further requests as we want all our guests to have a really happy time at Tabary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseG91...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautifully converted dovecote for 4 in an ideal location for exploring Dordogne”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Richard and Louisa are so welcoming when you arrive; there were lovely flowers and bottle of wine waiting for us. The Dovecote is situated on a farmyard square behind the main Domaine de Tarbary. The Dovecote has been beautifully and sympathetically renovated with one double bedroom in the actual dovecote roof complete with all the original beams and holes for the doves, (now filled with books and miniature windows) below this bedroom is a kitchen/sitting room,(the ancient cobbled floor pictured in some adverts is covered up with a laminate board floor, but it must have been a bumpy nightmare to keep clean before) there's a further large double bedroom and a shower room to the side on the ground floor. The conversion has been done well with quality fixtures and has everything you could need to make your stay comfortable including a half size dishwasher. On the Farmyard square attached to the Dovecote but not connected, except by the garden, is one of the other gites: the Ferme de Tarbary; it is a larger house with 3 double bedrooms and a large sitting room with a wood burning stove for colder months, on the other side of the farm square beside the main house is the Gatehouse gite which has another 3 double bedrooms; two on the ground floor and 1 upstairs with the upstairs bathroom & toilet, this is not a house for anyone who is unable or finds climbing stairs a problem. All three properties together would make an ideal rental for an extended family who would like to holiday together but don't want to be on top of each other. The pool is a good walk from the farm square around a barn and down a track next to a rough paddock, It's is a shame the pool is so far from he houses but it also means that if the gites were let to different families, when you were at the pool you could make as much noise as you wanted without disturbing anyone else. The Dovecote garden is shared by the Ferme gite but as it is covers two exterior sides of the farm buildings with each site having a different aspect they can be used as a good playground for a family football match or as two separate gardens although nothing actually separates them. The farm barn contains a ping pong table and a variety of rather ancient toys/balls/bats etc. a heap of bikes for guests use, although only 3 were working when we were there, they was great for cycling down to get croissants in the morning. The pool is very closely fenced with netting and a good springy board, the pool is unusually deep at 2.5m in the deep end. Sitting around the pool there is a pool hut and plenty of sunbathing loungers and a tree and hedge for shade,with mint planted in the grass there is a wonderful smell when trodden on by wet feet, there is also a xlarge BBQ that can be used, (each house also has it's own BBQ as well). The lavender walk from the pool is for the sole use of the main house owners as it leads to their back door, so despite it looking very nice in the advertising pictures, you are not permitted to walk down it and you must take the farm track behind the farm buildings back to the gites. The Domaine de Tarbary is situated just across the road from an old railway line that has had the tracks taken up and been turned into a cycle path, there are good maps available in the tourist office in the village and there are many of these cycle paths all over the area which are well marked by sign posts. The village is a 5 min cycle ride down the old railway line right to the middle of the village,on our first trip we spotted a kingfisher from the railway bridge over the river and hoopoe in the field! The village has a lovely but somewhat touristy market on a Thursday, selling lots of local fruit and veg and delicacies such as macaroons, cheese and fois gras but also plenty of crafts which are not necessarily from the area. The Supermarket is even closer to the house than the village, with a good choice of local foods too. The Fin Chapon, the restaurant in the village sq next to the castle, has good reasonable food but not outstanding, there's plenty of other really good restaurants nearby too at all prices. In the area there is loads to do; caves, chateau's, ancient medieval villages, festivals; Perigeuex on all Wednesday evenings in July and Aug turns its medieval central squares into a performance and food cooking venue with every sort of food under the sun, with a torch procession through the streets later in the evening, riding, canoeing, also swimming from an imported sand beach on a large lake complex with other parts including, pedallo's, water skiing and wake boarding, and a zip wire network in the trees behind with a level for everyone from 6 up and a small restaurant. There is just so much to see and do locally(within 30mins drive), that even in two weeks we had at the Dovecote, there was still plenty more to do another time. The owner assures us that they are going to get a new mattress for the double bed in the Dovecote as restful sleep was the only pleasure that alluded us, so we will be keen for another visit in the next couple of years. Such a wonderful place, with lovely hosts and great value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its in a great position for exploring the area, the helpful hosts and lovely atmosphere. BBQ's in the garden.
Liked least: terrible thin french mattress
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thanks for such a comprehensive and thoughtful review. New thick firm mattress now in place!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaHere...
Herefordshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect base for our house hunt”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a delightful month at the pretty Dovecote looking for a property to buy in the beautiful Dordogne. The charming building is set on the courtyard of the lovely manor house, alongside barns and other cottages. We found it well appointed with everything we needed for our long stay. Our hosts, Richard and Luisa were lovely, friendly and helpful and were able to provide a fund of information to aid us in our quest for our own little bit of heaven in South West France.

The main bedroom in the former pigeon loft has a fascinating array of room timbers and stone nesting places. Both bedrooms are prettily furnished with painted furniture , wicker and linen covered chairs. After long days out visiting houses for sale we appreciated relaxing with a glass of wine on the sunny private patio that comes with the Dovecote, at our own temporary home from home. A stroll down to the end of the garden to the large swimming pool was also a great diversion from viewing houses.

The peaceful situation of the Dovecote, with the convenience of a small, but well stocked supermarket with petrol a moments drive away suited us very well. The little town of Excidueil, with its imposing Chateau and weekly street market was within walking distance and made for a lovely day out.

Luckily for us our house search ended successfully after only two weeks and with the perfect house purchase in the bag soon afterwards we were able to concentrate on enjoying the areas fabulous gastronomy, its beautiful countryside and picturesque towns and villages without being accompanied by estate agents.

We met lovely people during our stay in the Dovecote and felt very lucky to have chanced upon the perfect base for our purpose. But we also know that it is perfect for anyone looking for a comfortable and characterful holiday base from which to explore this truly wonderful part of France.

We bought a house that required major renovation so we knew we would return to the area within the year and need accommodation again. We looked forward to staying in the Dovecote again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
776Mactra...
Port Angeles, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming accommodations, congenial hosts”
Reviewed 6 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in Le Pigeonniere for two months to complete a writing project. The accommodations, were comfortable and attractive. I particularly enjoyed the terrace where I drank my morning coffee and listened to a cuckoo in the woods and the upstairs bedroom -- all domed ceiling, wooden beams and indentations where pigeons had once flown in and out. My stay was enhanced by the warmth and congeniality of hosts Richard and Luisa. When my stay was up, I felt I was bidding adieu to new friends rather than proprietors. A lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The general ambience
Liked least: The slow, frustrating internet connection.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing