We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out in the country, but close enough to the beach”
Review of Finca Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Finca Buena Vista
Ranked #1 of 11 Las Lajas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2015

The Las Lajas beach is famous for its 20 km of black sand. Finca Buena Vista is outside of the actual town (which is not on the beach) and, as the name Finca suggests, it is in the countryside. The rooms have a patio that overlooks a quiet, very pleasant area. The most attractive aspect is the quiet during the week; apparently people only go to the beach on the weekend. We were there during the week, and recommend that.
The rooms are pleasant, comfortably sized with a shared patio that looks over the delicious pool; this area is quite warm during the mid-day. One uncomfortable thing is that the patio is shared and if you get near someone who needs to deliver important instructions to his family, you get to hear all about it. The spectacular breakfast is served at your table on the patio. The people who care for the Finca, native German speakers, create some sort of pate or cream cheese or other that is always fun to try.
The wifi situation for our room was quite difficult: it's often slow (no surprise) and parts of the room receive the signal, parts don't. After all, it's out in the countryside.
Restaurants in the town or at the beach resort are quite good; had an amazing fish dinner at the local food restaurant in Las Lajas. One of those where we didn't know the language, didn't know what we were going to get and received a wonderfully prepared large fish. Ask the proprietor about the Panamanian food restaurant in Las Lajas. At the Italian place we had an great experience listening to the toteron: amazing sound from insects.

Room Tip: Try to get further away from the office
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2015

This was our third time staying at Finca Buena Vista. My favorite thing is sitting on the patio and looking out over the countryside. The pool is very nice, the rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is excellent. The owners are very hospitable, I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: I have stayed in three rooms, they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015 via mobile

I loved everything about this place: First, its location close to the town and a 10min ride to the beach but with a beautiful view over lush mountains and a great night sky! Laying in the pool and watching stars is amazing!
Secondly, the hotel. It's very small and run by a lovely couple who make sure that every guest is happy. They also have a super friendly employee. All of the rooms are spacious, have A/C and TV (not that you would need any of these, there is so much nature to enjoy!). Also the bathrooms are big. And you have your own terrace with a beautiful view over the valley! The rooms are spotless!

Thirdly, the best thing is the included breakfast, it is literally the best one I ever had in a hotel. They serve it on your own terrace and it includes eggs, home-made jelly, fruits, yogurt, cheese etc... It's great!

I loved it so much, I came back with friends. Plus: it's very affordable!

Thank you Berit and Uwe!

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea_Rana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2015

This is a great little B+B in the countryside. The place is relatively new, so the rooms are clean, bright and secure. Wifi works well, but our TV did not work. Local channels only in any case. The owners speak German , Spanish and English. The breakfast is outstanding and one of the best we had on our trip! They offer a number of tours and attractions in the area. Las Lajas beach is only a short drive and is very safe and great for swimming. The owner will hook you up with the dive shop at the beach for secure parking and a place to leave beach stuff and change. They will also do a nice curry for dinner if you like! All in all great value!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Super place!!!! as in heaven, we were in January, very nice owner, delicious breakfast, especially preserves, yum, yum, friendly service, beautiful nature, far from the beach and the Pacific, I recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Lajas
37.5 km away
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Hotel Bocas del Mar
#1 of 4 in Boca Chica
527 reviews
37.7 km away
Seagull Cove Resort
Seagull Cove Resort
#2 of 4 in Boca Chica
207 reviews
8.4 km away
Las Lajas Beach Resort
Las Lajas Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Playa Las Lajas
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Naturalmente Boutique Bungalows
1.3 km away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#5 of 6 in Playa Las Lajas
87 reviews
9 km away
Casa Laguna
Casa Laguna
#2 of 6 in Playa Las Lajas
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Buena Vista

Address: Calle 12 de Octubre, Las Lajas 0446, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Las Lajas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Las Lajas
Price Range: RM245 - RM314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Finca Buena Vista 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated on the outskirt of Las Lajas overlooking a beautiful valley and the mountains surrounding it. We strive to provide you with an unforgettable stay in our area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finca Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing