We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,681)
Filter reviews
1,681 results
Traveller rating
1,208
347
86
24
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,208
347
86
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butterfly garden heritage mansion cgh earth bird watching sunset cruise cgh group spice village flute music pool villa main restaurant vembanad lake nature walk seafood restaurant outdoor bathroom yoga classes open air coconut water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,681 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2021

In our minds, CGHEarth had a halo before this trip, but I can't quite say the same now.

Location - the resort is at a great location and the whole experience of getting there in a boat makes the getaway feeling all the more real. You will need to park your car on the other side of the lake and then carry all your stuff in a boat. We were not warned about this, and carrying all our stuff to the room was messy. Anyway, you get amazing views of the lake from the property and the small canals running all around the place add to the feel. Most of the rooms however, don't have views (ours was 229 without a view).

Rooms - Very well maintained, super-clean and comfortable. A good blend of the modern and the traditional - reminded me of my ancestral home where we had those ceramic flip switches and the old-fashioned wooden locks on the doors.

Food - We came with high expectations, but the food was really underwhelming. I wouldn't call it bad, just ordinary. Of all the dishes that we tasted, may be 1 or 2 were noteworthy, but none outstanding. At the prices that they charge, one would expect most of the dishes to be near-perfect. Basic dishes like egg roast, masala dosa, chutney, sambar, pasta were average. Pulav was really bad with the taste of spoilt oil/ghee. Crab roast was ordinary. I remember a prawn dish and chicken stew that were good. Scrambled egg was great. Can’t remember a "wow" dessert. And surprisingly for Kumarakom, they don't really give you the real deal with fish. Karimeen which is the specialty of the area is absent from the menu. I had expected seafood to be a highlight.

Safety - Almost all staff wear masks all the time, and basic sanitation protocols are in place. The linen and towels seemed very clean too. However, there is scope to improve in the kids' safety area. With so many canals and the lakeshore, it can be a bit stressful if you have children less than 3-4 years old with you. But I understand that they don't want to spoil the looks with grills etc. At least they could instruct guests with toddlers about the dangers and what to do in case of an incident.

Service - Service is good, but not great. Our friend who also visited with us had major issues with their agreed wheelchair and transport arrangement which was messed up. I had to call back the property for an expensive item that I thought I lost, but got a lethargic response.

Overall, if the prices were 20% lower, it would have been worth it.

Date of stay: April 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank wrinkledword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2021

A beautiful property which has been maintained well despite the pandemic.
We visited during the Easter weekend and the property ensured the guests were entertained with traditional shows in the evening. and during the day we roamed around the beautiful property (when the heat wasn't scorching) or lazed in our private pool otherwise. I cannot forget the calm and peaceful mornings when getting up early didn't seem a struggle at all because i wouldn't want to miss the calm. All in all, a place to go back to again for sure!

Date of stay: April 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sanchari_Maity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2021

Very very good stay. Courteous staff pollution free environment . River and lakeside view the Morning birdwatching trip with expert specialists, butterfly garden every thing nice. Food and services excellent

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lalkgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2021

Planning a vaction wasnt easy! But a quick search for a tranquil vacation away from the hustle n bustle of Kochi city made me choose Coconut Lagoon by CGH Earth at Kumarakom. The name says it all. Another name for hospitality n great vacation is undoubtedly the CGH Earth experience.
Their service right from the reservation desk to each n every staff who serve you as soon as you land there, adorn you with memories to cherish. Everybody has a responsible role to fulfill.
The elderly musician soothing flute notes as you step into the reception makes one feel that you are in the midst of an ecosystem of peace n love. You are pampered to the core by the staff(s) at the reception, the restaurant, etc.
Talking about the property, it was a breath taking experience staying there. Briliance is that, none of their rooms has television, so we spend more time close to the nature, exploring their vast n wide property. You get to see different kinds of birds n darters especially, well maitained streams with variety of fishes. Spotting pearl spots of different sizes was a bonus.
Authentic n rich food with a magical touch by the chef n his whole team was marvelous. Their breakfast buffet spread made our taste buds want for more.
We all need a vacation from work, business, kids online classes, etc. Go ahead n choose your CGH Earth experience n get pampered. They make you feel home away from home.
Not to mention they have their own bottled (glass) water plant, bio-gas plant, vegetation, rainwater harvest system, etc within the property. A well maintained ecosystem is what you get to see there.
Other attractions are, butterfly garden, yoga n fitness centre, ayurvedic massage hub with a consultant doctor, an informative guide who takes you for a property tour.
Friendly n caring staff makes you feel cozy n comfortable. Im in awe of the management for such an awesome n well deveopled system that ensure 100% customer satisfaction.
Sorry for the lengthy write-up, I couldnt help it.
Thank you very much for the wonderful vacation! Cheers.....Vinita & Nesto

Date of stay: April 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank experience_soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2021

Coconut lagoon is based on sustainability model and its one of the most beautiful property i have ever stayed at. Your soul feels happy when u enter this property. Entry to property is one of the high point and the serene views starts from there. Staff here is very hospitable and adjusting. Rooms are quite good and spacious and open washroom is another high point. Food ofcourse is really yummy and there is a great variety. Front desk staff are really humble and helpful. Restaurant host is chatty.. helpful and always ready to experiment with new dishes. Overall i have never stayed at such a beautiful property ever in my life.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jassi5corr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews