We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
101
4
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his team table decorations private retreat stayed for four nights curry leaves wooden villa sister property felt like royalty boat trip infinity pool sunrise and sunset big pool tranquil place stunning property marari beach peace and quiet delicious food
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2015 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit to Vismaya and we absolutely adore this place.

All the previous reviews are right on the button as it is simply exquisite! The setting, the service, the accommodation, the food, the ambience..... I could go on & on & on!!...

It's when you find places like this you realise that Tripadvisor should really have an "Exclusive" category!

We hope to return next year again to this paradise on earth.

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank ALandOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2015

An exquisitely gorgeous white bungalow, designed in the typical Keralite manner, Vismaya looked like a pristine palace in the middle of an obscure jungle, flanked by green on one side, and the calming Vembanad lake on the other. From the stunning architecture to the extremely tasteful decor, the outdoor pool to the main sit out; this place spells class and comfort in every breath.

The little things – Those are what you are sure to notice when you step into Vismaya. From the welcome drink (made out of coconut and pineapple pulp), to the fragrant candles strewn around various parts of the property. The dry leaves and bamboo shavings encased by beautiful earthen pots in your room, to the cosy little alcove with cushions by the pool. The little things you are sure to notice.
Located on a highly miss-able and obscure bylane on the Thvanakkandavuroad, Chenganda; this 300 year old wooden villa likes to call itself a private hide away. Created by a fine German architect and designed by a Belgian specialist, the prowess with which this villa has been made is sure to not miss your attention.
There are only two rooms with luxury bath gardens (washing table, open air rain shower, toilet and private garden). There is a large lobby with sitting corners, a game table and library. There is a verandah for relaxation and dining, a 13 X 5 m swimming pool with a sun deck, a vantage point on the lake for sunrise and sunset.
The amenities are standard. From luxury bed linen, pillows and sheets, to fresh soaps and towels – both bath and beach. Hot water, coffee and tea maker, luggage rack and safe locker in the room. There is a water and beer cooler, free mineral water, private hammock, sun lounger, free wi fi connection and such like.
The staff is warm and pleasing – adept at their job and knowledgeable about the property and its surroundings. The food is also worth remembering.
Some of the activities that the guests are free to avail of are: neighborhood walks, spotting fishermen’s daily life, local bicycle tours, banana boat rides (to small canals in the area), village walks, tuk-tuk (auto rickshaw) tours to surrounding temples, churches and coir industries, visit to Cherthala or the Alleppey town, visit to Fort Kochi (50 km).
If you’re looking for a private place, to let your hair down without the noise, Vismaya is certainly the place for you. 7 Star or 5 Star, Luxury or Boutique – No matter where you’re coming from – This place will not disappoint.

Room tip: Rooms are noise free.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Amish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2015

We stayed at Vismaya to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We thought it would be lovely, but nothing could prepare us for how beautiful and serene this secret little world was!

Vinod, the host, really made the trip perfect - helping us book a house boat in Allepey and always be there when we needed something, but quietly disappearing when we wanted some quiet time to ourselves.

Vismaya and the staff made our trip perfect! We were fortunate to book one room, however ended up having the entire place to ourselves. To be honest, I would not have it any other way and the next time we go there we will be booking the place to ourselves to ensure the same serenity!

Flawless - what can I else can I say. This was my third trip to India and Vismaya was the most beautiful accommodation I have experienced yet!

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank WAGirl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2015

If you want to fall into heaven then you need to visit Vismaya. It's breathtaking, when you turn up you are not sure what to look at. You can see a 360 view of the backwaters. The house itself is ozzing with character and history . Every tiny area had something hand carved. There are only two rooms so a maximum of four people staying at once. The rooms are luxurious, with great amenities, you have an outdoor shower and water basin which is lovely in the hot weather. The grounds are covered in swings, hammocks, sun beds and an amazing pool which makes it seem like your swimming in the back waters. The staff are exceptional. Nothing is to much but they are not in your face about it. We had them organise a tuk tuk to take us to town and also a boat ride on the back water. The food cooked by an amazing chef was the best food that I have ever eaten.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2014

What a property!!! The kind of place you can only dream of! We spent 7 nights at Vismaya which we rented exclusively to ourselves and enjoyed every minute in this paradise.The house itself is just gorgeous, tastefully furnished and decorated. Not a single default. Everything is just beautiful! The house stands on 6000m2 of perfectly maintained tropical gardens on the edge of Lake Vembanad. The views are spectacular from any corner and at any time of the day. Lots of tropical vegetation, flowers, birds of all kinds. The large infinity pool is amazing!
Vinod, the villa host/private buttler is extremely professional, always at your disposal and doing his utmost to make you feel comfortable and happy. Lots of little details that make the whole experience so special.On top of that, he's very friendly and discreet. The food is very good and will always be prepared according to your requirements. It will be served as you wish, under the veranda or on the small private jetty. Just ask! It's like your own private 5-star resort without the disturbance of any other guests around you.
It looks quite isolated but at the same time, the small but very lively town of Cherthala is just 12 minutes away by tuk-tuk. The neighbor next door has a tuk tuk and a AC Toyota Innova. So whenever you want to move, just ask Vinod to arrange the neighbor to drive you somewhere.
Considering the space available at Vismaya, it would be very nice to consider a small massage parlour where local masseurs would be able to give some ayurvedic massages. Right now, if you want massages, you need to go to neighboring resorts or to the KVM in Cherthala.
If you're looking for a nice place to rest, for peace, privacy, nature, good food and top class service, then this is your place! Congratulations to Jan and Christel, the Belgian managers who run this exceptional property.
Thanks to all the superb staff at Vismaya ! Hope to be back soon!

Room tip: If you really want to give yourself a royal treat, rent the place exclusively. Or share it with a nice couple of friends.
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank belgotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews