We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunbird Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Cu Guest House(Phalaborwa)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Royal Game Guest House(Phalaborwa)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris(Phalaborwa)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Daan & Zena's(Phalaborwa)(Great Value!)
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A Traveller's Palm(Phalaborwa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
228
49
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
49
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsphalaborwa gatebeautiful gardenkruger national parkgreat hostssecure parkingnice poolafrica triprooms are largetown centrehelpful owneryogurtresidential arearecommend it to anyoneplace to staynext morningself driveminute drive
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

The rooms were clean and neat with a/c forthe really warm days . The outside looks not as good as the inside. This guest lodge is 1km from the kruger park and they serve breakfast from 6:15 this makes it a perfect stop.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Antoinettrhuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to review us, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. A little curious regarding your comment regarding the outside. Do you mean just outside the room or the gardens or the streets outside the property? If you can let us know that will be great and we look forward to seeing you all next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Dave and Samantha are great hosts and very helpful and cheerful. The rooms are comfortable and spotless, looking out onto a lovely garden. The pool is sparkling and breakfast is delicious. What's not to like about Sunbird Lodge?! It is our stay our place of choice when travelling through to Kruger Park.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Beatrice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

It's always a pleasure having you both stay with us, hope you had fun in the Kruger?!
Until next time....
Best wishes
Dave & Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Spent one night here for business. The room was clean and spacious with all that you need. Complimentary toiletries, tea & coffee, TV etc. Situated in a quieter part of the town with easy access to everything.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Surrounding gardens and pool all well kept.

Would stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a great place.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tgrantza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Thanks for your very kind review Trevor, it was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.All the best. Dave & Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

We stayed 6 nghts in the Sunbird lodge. It was a pleasant place for a nice holliday. Dave was of great help with the contacts to SAA because of our delayed luggage. He even went to the airport to pic up our luggage so that we could spend our day in the Kruger park.The lodge has a beautiful garden, nice and clean pool, great breakfast and clean and comfortable rooms with a good bed, fridge and facillities to make coffee.
Thanks for all the help.

Riet and Theo from the Netherlands

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Theo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thanks for your very kind review, it was a pleasure having you guys stay with us. Hope you enjoyed Christmas back home with the family?! Look forward to seeing you both next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

We 2 couples stayed 2 nights in Sunbird in preparation for a 12 day self-drive, self-cater Kruger visit. Dave and Sam (owners) were extremely helpful to us. Things like telling us where to buy food and other items, storing the meat in their freezer as well giving us crockery and cutlery so we could use their braai one night and assisting us organize a Pizza delivery dinner on our last night. The only reason we did not dine in was that we eat later than the time of their meal service but the breakfasts we had were tasty, hearty and wholesome.

The lodge itself is set in lovely gardens and has a bush feel even though its located close to the town centre of Phalaborwa. Rooms are very nice, clean, room, well appointed and there is secure parking which for us hiring expensive rental vehicles was important. I can’t fault anything during our stay. Would we go back … most definitely!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stargaize1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you so much for your very kind review. It was lovely meeting you all and trust you had fun in the Kruger?! Look forward to the next time. Best wishes Samantha & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews