We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The essence of Namibia!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Outjo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Matunda Guest Farm (Gastefarm)
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Outjo
Reviewed 15 March 2016

This was our 6th stopover during our Namibian road trip. Matunda is perfectly situated from which to explore Etosha. We had stayed in some stunning lodges and complexes up to this point however Matunda is different in that it is a working farm. Michel, the owner is also the cook, barman, raconteur and all round human Dynamo. His food is freshly prepared with style and incorporates the best of Namibian game. Accommodation is clean and spacious however a ceiling fan would have been a welcome addition! All in all, a very special stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HardyMarsh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2016

Staying with Michael at matunda was like staying with good friends. He is so welcoming and considerate of your every need and makes sure that you are happy at all times. The accomodation was prfectly clean and adequately comfortable and private which was great. Michael cooks for his guests too and each meal was a wonderful treat and more than sufficient. Meals are prepared where possible using produce from his own back yard to say and the sprinkling of fresh herbs or the home made fruit preserves were an additional bonus. There are lovely fair distance walks through the farm which give one viewing s of the game on the farm and allow one to enjoy the tranquility of the bush. Matunda is close enough to etosha for those guests wanting to make day trips to the park. I would return to Michaels farm again in a heart beat.

Stayed: December 2015
1  Thank Reviewmargot1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2015

Michael is a very friendly and funny host from Germany who has built up a very beautiful place where you feel immediately at home. The wild Kudus in his "backyard", his easy going dog and adorable three year old son made our stay even more interesting and fun. The absolute highlight was the dinner which Michael prepares himself with outmost love and talent. From home-made bread and Oryx ham over Impala filet to Sorbet from home-grown lemons it was the most delicious dinner I enjoyed during our trip through Namibia. The only fault was that we stayed for just one night on our way to Etosha National Park. In my opinion Matunda Guest Farm is a perfect accomodation from which to explore Etosha. If you´re interested in exquisite food and entertaining company the 40 minute drive to Etosha is definitly worth the effort.
A stay at Matunda Guest Farm is a absolute must-have during your trip to Namibia.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015

We stayed at Matunda Guest Farm on our way back from Etosha Pan to Windhoek. The eco friendly guest farm and its nice garden with olives, lemons and - on our visit - freshly cut palm trees is a great place to relax and to enjoy the beauty of Namibia (plus a refreshing pool). The home-made food was delicious and a good wine was served with the dinner. The breakfast was a perfect start in the day and included besides all standard ingredients self-made cold cuts, bread and and a hand cut fruit salad. My omelet with self-made smoked kudu bacon was delicious. We can highly recommend the guest farm.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jdb2012015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The farm where the guest huts are located is owned by a German national, Michael, who has put his expertise in building an eco friendly environment. The pathways, huts and the water make use of solar energy. The huts are strewn around the property in a green landscape. They are simple, functional, very clean and tastefully furnished, There is a pool on a high deck where one has a lovely view on a waterhole where kudus, warthogs and duiker come and drink in the late afternoons. In the evenings the guests gather around a brick fire and drink a sundowner and can enjoy the peaceful atmosphere. Michael cooks himself and the food was delicious. He was extremely helpful and friendly and offers to drive and pick up guests back and forth. We had a lovely stay and can highly recommend the guest farm!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CFarinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Outjo hotels
6.8 km away
Sasa Safari Camp
Sasa Safari Camp
#4 of 15 in Outjo
96 reviews
211.5 km away
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
#1 of 15 in Outjo
739 reviews
2.1 km away
Etosha Hotel
Etosha Hotel
#2 of 2 in Outjo
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Libertas Game Farm
#13 of 15 in Outjo
2 reviews
8.3 km away
Sophienhof Lodge
Sophienhof Lodge
#7 of 15 in Outjo
39 reviews
0.7 km away
Etotongwe Lodge
Etotongwe Lodge
#1 of 3 in Outjo
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matunda Guest Farm (Gastefarm)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matunda Guest Farm (Gastefarm)

Address: Outjo, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Kunene Region > Outjo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Outjo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing