We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor. Bad service.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sani Pass
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sani Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sani Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Being the only lodge nearby, they tend to overprice their service. They are in the position to overprice, being the only lodge/restaurant/holding the title «highest pub in Africa», but the service is just bad and unprofessional.

We started early in the morning with the Sani pass and wanted to eat breakfast at this lodge. First one waiter said the buffet breakfast was 120 rand per person (which is pricey, but we were hungry, so who gives a damn!), then the price was raised to 130 rand when another waiter charged us (saying that its the price). The first waiter who informed us about the price of 120 rand was not nearby for a while, and after paying the receipt she came asking for us to pay again. I dont mind the waiter asking if we paid, but such confusion and non-organized staff is just sad.

The beer is also pricey. 45 rand for a Maluti 0,66 in bottle. Some quality restaurants of Maseru has lower prices than this.

I was really disappointed by this place and very sad that the staff is so desoriented.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tanja I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2017

We visited this pub on a pre booked day trip from Durban. It is alleged to be the highest pub in Africa and I did not see anything to contradict that.

The tour minibus driver collected us at 5.40am at our Durban hotel and we drove to Underberg where we rested while being transferred to a 4 wheel drive with two other passengers.

The 4 wheel drive vehicle then proceeded with a the tour guide driving, up into the Sani Pass through the Drakensberg mountains. All extremely spectacular.

The pass itself is rough, with lots of deep pot holes so do not try it with a normal saloon car, you will NOT get far! At the top there is the border crossing and passport control into Lesotho where your passport gets stamped.

The Sani Mountain Lodge is just here at the border but part is in South Africa and part is in Lesotho - allegedly it has been built straddling the border. The lodge has spectacular views. Local Lesotho folk visit here and are around the pub outside, they are dressed in their traditional warm, blankets and headgear shepherd style.

The service is excellent, the food very tasty and they stock the local Meloti Lesotho beer, a top drop it is too! I exchanged some rand here at the pub for some Lesotho currency, also the Miloti, just as a souvenir because we were only here for the day, then returning to Durban.

We got back to our Durban hotel at 7.45pm after a long but very exciting and satisfying day out and yet another country visited.

The Sani pass and the lodge are a must see, must do if you are this Durban side of Lesotho.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travello_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Well I didn't stay there overnight, so I am not going to comment on the lodge itself, but the lodge does have the highest pub in Africa, which is really a cool photo moment when you are standing in front of the sign!

The food is fairly western, like burger and steak and I found the beer price is reasonable as well.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank leciel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

"Golden Oldie" going up Sani Pass throught the last few corners, the border post, then a cold Maluti beer at the highest pub in Africa (registerd pub) awsome. Looking down the pass from the deck is just Africa.
We slept in the Backpackers, clean rooms, clean bathrooms with hot showers and toilets. Nice equipped kitchen with fridge and stoves, and cutlery. Price wise not to bad, but affordable.
Although we were really very disappointed in the lodge's chalets prices, that is absolutely ridicules, not for the South Africans price range.
Food, dinner and breakfast supper good and delicious.
Wine prices very expensive.

Room Tip: Backpacker rooms much more affordable than the hotel chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elzabe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

The location is simply breathtaking and any photographers dream and that in itself makes it 100% worth while to visit. The track up the pass is an exhilarating drive or hike for the super fit.
Unfortunately our whole experience with the lodge was somewhat of a disaster. From reservation stage right through we had issues. We were sent incorrect rates and had to complete a second payment for the outstanding balance due to error.
In the end we figured out that we had in actual fact overpaid and was told we could use this in the bar for drinks or meals.

Even tough we reconfirmed our reservation and transport arrangements a few days prior to arrival, our transport didn't show up on time and we were left wondering if they would have ever showed up if we didn't call. Once we established that they had completely forgotten about us we spent two hours sitting in a strangers garden waiting for our driver. When our driver arrived he could barely communicate with us, English not being his first language, but that's ok as we have lived and travelled through so many foreign countries that we have become experts on communicating with hand gestures and smiles and he was super friendly in his own way.

We were promised complimentary coffee or tea on arrival by reservations to apologize for leaving us stranded, but on arrival at the lodge no one knew what we were talking about. Management also didn't seem that bothered that we'd been left stranded after paying quite a bit for this transport.

So we put that aside and decided to see the bright side of life and have a blast in the highest pub in Africa. Beers were cold, so was everything else. Temperatures was around 8 degrees with small patches of snow visible outside. When we mentioned that we had a tab with some credit at the bar no one knew what we were talking about. This was explained to about four different people before it was deducted from our account.

The food is unimpressive, the service even more so. We were very shocked at the standard of service as this is after all a international tourist attraction. If we could recommend anything here it's the local Basotho bread. The pub ran out of the local beer so we had to be happy with South African beer :(

Off we went for a good nights rest and we decided to have a night cap in a small bar in the local village adjacent to the backpackers which to be honest as rustic as it is had a far better atmosphere and the best service.
The following morning we booked ourselves on the tour to the highest point in Southern Africa combined with a village visit, sampling of local bread and beer and a traditional lunch. Again a very pricy tour of which a few of the mentioned attractions on booking was simply not part of the tour that day.

We tolerated this but then when we stopped in the village where we were supposed to have lunch and the villager simply turns around and says they're not serving lunch today we pretty much reached the top level of our irritation. We went back to the lodge and asked to see the manager who offered us a complimentary lunch as the tour was sold to us with lunch included. We will however mention that our guide was our driver from the day before and he managed to find his tongue and actually communicate some awesome facts and stories about Lesotho and the local life. Maybe the poor man was just stressed about fetching people so late that he was scared to talk to us the day before.

Lunch issue solved we explored around the lodge for the remainder of the day and snuggled in front of our fire place under the most fabulous Marino blanket. Had a lovely evening and just as we thought things are turning around we wake up the next day and on check out they tried to charge us for the lunch and the money deducted from our first bill which I had overpaid had been put back onto our account.

So to sum it up, we were pretty happy when we got to the bottom of that mountain and could get in our car to go home. Our recommendation - definitely go and see Sani Pass. Unless you need to be there for photography reasons and need to experience the sunrise and sunset I wouldn't recommend staying at Sani Mountain Lodge. You could probably find far better accommodation with better service in Underberg and do the pass as a day trip.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Carlsaroundtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sani Pass
19.4 km away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
25.5 km away
Premier Resort Sani Pass
Premier Resort Sani Pass
#2 of 2 in Himeville
95 reviews
19.5 km away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Mount Maluti
Hotel Mount Maluti
#1 of 1 in Mohale's Hoek
6 reviews
7.1 km away
Sani Stone Lodge
Sani Stone Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sani Pass
10 reviews
13.7 km away
Mkomazana Mountain Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sani Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sani Mountain Lodge

Address: Sani Pass, Sani Pass, Lesotho (Formerly Sani Top Chalet)
Phone Number:
Region: Lesotho > Mokhotlong District > Sani Pass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sani Pass
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of kind Lodge located at the top of Sani Pass,2874m above sea level,located on the border line of Lesotho and South Africa some 300m from the entry border post of Sani Pass, Lesotho.The lodge has a 48 seater restaurant, serving breakfast, lunch & dinner daily.The Highest Pub in Africa stocks a wide varity of beverages accompanied with a varst selection of great wines, satisfying all ones needs.Satilite TV and free WiFi is available in the lodge area ,enabling one to keep in contact with the outside world and family.The lodge has 9 rooms, made up of double & twin bedded rooms, on suite, togther with 6 & 4 sleeper family rooms.We also have a 22 sleeper Backpackers and Camping Area located next to the backpackers. Both the main Lodge & Backpackers are run on generator power.Activities available-guided hikes,fishing, bird watching and horse riding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sani Top Chalet Hotel Sani Pass
Sani Top Chalet Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing