We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sani Stone Lodge(Sani Pass)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
99
137
55
21
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
137
55
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshighest pub in africathe pubday tripcoal firemountain lodgesouth africahot water bottlesbucket listamazing viewsborder postgreat experienceunique locationwheel drivehis teamelectric blanketslounge areabreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 327 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2017

We had a lunch here, after we climbed the sani pass by the 4X4 jeep.
The highest pub in Africa! 2873 meter.
wonderful view, take some pictures of the mountains and not to forget: take a picture at the sign!

food was ok.
service good
toilets good

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeroen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Being the only lodge nearby, they tend to overprice their service. They are in the position to overprice, being the only lodge/restaurant/holding the title «highest pub in Africa», but the service is just bad and unprofessional.

We started early in the morning with the Sani pass and wanted to eat breakfast at this lodge. First one waiter said the buffet breakfast was 120 rand per person (which is pricey, but we were hungry, so who gives a damn!), then the price was raised to 130 rand when another waiter charged us (saying that its the price). The first waiter who informed us about the price of 120 rand was not nearby for a while, and after paying the receipt she came asking for us to pay again. I dont mind the waiter asking if we paid, but such confusion and non-organized staff is just sad.

The beer is also pricey. 45 rand for a Maluti 0,66 in bottle. Some quality restaurants of Maseru has lower prices than this.

I was really disappointed by this place and very sad that the staff is so desoriented.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tanja I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We visited this pub on a pre booked day trip from Durban. It is alleged to be the highest pub in Africa and I did not see anything to contradict that.

The tour minibus driver collected us at 5.40am at our Durban hotel and we drove to Underberg where we rested while being transferred to a 4 wheel drive with two other passengers.

The 4 wheel drive vehicle then proceeded with a the tour guide driving, up into the Sani Pass through the Drakensberg mountains. All extremely spectacular.

The pass itself is rough, with lots of deep pot holes so do not try it with a normal saloon car, you will NOT get far! At the top there is the border crossing and passport control into Lesotho where your passport gets stamped.

The Sani Mountain Lodge is just here at the border but part is in South Africa and part is in Lesotho - allegedly it has been built straddling the border. The lodge has spectacular views. Local Lesotho folk visit here and are around the pub outside, they are dressed in their traditional warm, blankets and headgear shepherd style.

The service is excellent, the food very tasty and they stock the local Meloti Lesotho beer, a top drop it is too! I exchanged some rand here at the pub for some Lesotho currency, also the Miloti, just as a souvenir because we were only here for the day, then returning to Durban.

We got back to our Durban hotel at 7.45pm after a long but very exciting and satisfying day out and yet another country visited.

The Sani pass and the lodge are a must see, must do if you are this Durban side of Lesotho.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travello_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Well I didn't stay there overnight, so I am not going to comment on the lodge itself, but the lodge does have the highest pub in Africa, which is really a cool photo moment when you are standing in front of the sign!

The food is fairly western, like burger and steak and I found the beer price is reasonable as well.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank leciel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

"Golden Oldie" going up Sani Pass throught the last few corners, the border post, then a cold Maluti beer at the highest pub in Africa (registerd pub) awsome. Looking down the pass from the deck is just Africa.
We slept in the Backpackers, clean rooms, clean bathrooms with hot showers and toilets. Nice equipped kitchen with fridge and stoves, and cutlery. Price wise not to bad, but affordable.
Although we were really very disappointed in the lodge's chalets prices, that is absolutely ridicules, not for the South Africans price range.
Food, dinner and breakfast supper good and delicious.
Wine prices very expensive.

Room Tip: Backpacker rooms much more affordable than the hotel chalets.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elzabe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews