We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”

Swan Hotel Bar & Grill
Ranked #15 of 113 Restaurants in Maldon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Description: We can't wait to welcome you to The Swan Hotel, Bar & Grill and show you the newly refurbished bar, restaurant, function room, meeting room and bedrooms. Our complete overhaul of this beautiful 15th century building has created somewhere stunning, stylish and friendly to eat, drink and stay in Maldon. Our cocktail menu is fun and funky. Our wine list is diverse and daring. Our menus are exciting
Restaurant details
Description: We can't wait to welcome you to The Swan Hotel, Bar & Grill and show you the newly refurbished bar, restaurant, function room, meeting room and bedrooms. Our complete overhaul of this beautiful 15th century building has created somewhere stunning, stylish and friendly to eat, drink and stay in Maldon. Our cocktail menu is fun and funky. Our wine list is diverse and daring. Our menus are exciting
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My wife and I met friends who were staying at The Swan for sunday lunch. Lovely 15th century building that has recently been completely refurbished. Nice welcoming atmosphere with good bar service. Lots of choice on the lunchtime menu. The lunch was excellent the staff friendly and attentive. We would highly recommend. Our friends were very impressed with their accommodation too.
Ian and Caroline.

Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Awful manager and customer service! Cancelled the night before my daughters 7th birthday party for the use of the cygnet hall! Double booked WITHOUT phoning back after previously confirmation was given as apparently no message was passed on! Disgustingly rude manager with the words ‘I have nothing to apologise for!’ Would never ever recommend!

3  Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieWhit, Owner at Swan Hotel Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Georgia
We do not normally respond to fabricated stories but feel the need to this time. Your partner contacted us to make an enquiry about hiring the Cygnet room for your daughters birthday party for Saturday 24th March leaving his mobile number .It was explained that a deposit was required(a company policy for all bookings) to confirm the booking which was NEVER made !We tried to contact your husband on numerous occasions myself 4 times on Saturday 10th March(please check the mobile number which was left with us for missed calls) to see if you wanted to hire the hall but we had NO response .I was dealing with this particular booking myself as I wanted assurances from your partner that the "Go-Karts" he mentioned for the party would not damage our flooring .As there was no response from yourselves as a business we hired the room to somebody else(there was never a double booking !) who paid the deposit immediately .Our only contact with yourselves after your partners initial enquiry was Friday night the 23rd the eve before your enquired date when you phoned to check the booking was still ok ??Having had children and now having grandchildren obviously if there had been anything we could have done to assist your situation we would have,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Fantastic....very welcoming staff.
We popped in early evening on a Saturday on our way back from a very long wind swept stroll with two young children.... The Swan was very welcoming and had an extensive Gin menu. The Food looked lovely but the children were playing up and we didn’t want to continue to disturb the diners, so we left after two drinks.. promising ourselves to return without the little ones.
Next time we visit Malden we plan to try a few more of their Gins!!

Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Having eaten here twice before and having had a nice experience we chose to come back to the swan on Saturday night. Being parents of a 9 month old baby we don’t get out much anymore so we were looking forward to a nice meal and some drinks. When we arrived we waited in the bar area because our table wasn’t ready and we could see how busy it was in there. We finally got seated at our table and the waitress muttered something about the kitchen being flooded with orders so she will bring us some olives on the house. When the olives came out I noticed at least 2 other tables in our section were being given olives too.. not a good sign. They took our order pretty quickly, we ordered starters and mains. We waited a long time for our starters and in that time decided to order a bottle of wine. Took quite a while to get anyone’s attention. The waitress then brought the bottle over to the table and put it down and walked away!! Didn’t open it or pour it, didn’t ask if my partner would like a glass to have some, didn’t even give us a wine cooler!! We waited a bit longer for our starters then decided to just leave. Our table was booked at 8.15pm and by nearly 10pm we still hadn’t had our starters! They were clearly over booked and need to re think how many covers their kitchen can actually handle. So disappointed, this isn’t the place to visit at the weekend.

3  Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, Owner at Swan Hotel Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Hi Beth
Please accept our apologies for the very late response to your review.
Your review is correct concerning that Saturday night ,unfortunately 2 of our chefs were feeling unwell and we had no option but to send them home .
Our floor staff should have made diners aware of the unacceptable delay and under our new floor Manager this issue of customer relations has been rectified.
Please private message us as we would like to compensate you in some way for ruining your evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

My partner and I with a friend, were part of a walking group, where the walk finished at The Swan.The meals for the whole group had been pre-ordered for 1pm. As you can imagine we were hungry after the walk, and were also very thirsty. The drinks arrived eventually, after a long period of waiting. The lunch had been booked for 1pm, annoyingly the drinks arrived at 1:23pm. The meals finally arrived at 1:40pm, and were less than appetising. My partner and I had the chicken roast and our friend had the lamb. The meal had been served on cold plates, which cooled the food immediately the it was served. Both our chicken was far too overcooked, and was dry and chewy. The vegetables cooled rapidly and by halfway through were stone cold. Our friend wanted her lamb well cooked, as she likes it that way, and it was served with blood oozing out of it. Needless to say the lamb was left uneaten. I feel the cost of the meal was completely unjustified. In future I shall visit our local carvery where it is two thirds the price and many times better than here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Lester W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swan Hotel Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Tollesbury, Maldon
 

Been to Swan Hotel Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing