We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Welcoming on a snowy night”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
3 reviews
Your hosts, Gerry & Patty Kehl
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mitchell, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
debramari...
Grand Bend, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute rental, nice pool, bugs were issues.”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Cute, basement rental. Bring your own cutting board and garbage bags. I have no complaints of the unit itself except I don't think the kitchen was cleaned well as there was grime around the taps and the BBQ was very dirty inside and out to the touch.
Also, it is noisy with above we were awoken by walking and shoes on the floor, so not the best for peace and tranquility. It would benefit by being better insulated so people below don't have to listen to others walking around the upstairs.
Pool area was nice, but my daughter and I got stung and it would have been best if the owners put out bug traps or environmental repellents for them. It ruined the swimming time. It would have been nice to have the pool private for us in the evening. Owners were decent, but on check out when we were leaving they were not overly friendly and made us leave feeling uncomfortable. I wouldn't return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area was nice, unit was cute, private.
Liked least: The pool area not private or lit up for night use unless expecting you, not much privacy out at pool, noisy downstairs when they were home, owners were not friendly when we left and didn't thank us for coming. We left 15 min late and they complained.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
This is our first negative review on numerous booking websites in over three years and we are sorry our guests didn’t appreciate our efforts.
There are two glass-cutting boards on the counter – for sanitary purposes we do not provide a wooden cutting board. Additional garbage bags are under the lid of the garbage container under the sink (there is a label on the lid indicating this) and there are more garbage bags in the kitchen drawer. The kitchen is very thoroughly cleaned prior to our guests’ arrival and there may be a very slight residue of mineral deposit around the taps as we do have hard water here. Admittedly, the BBQ shows signs of use and is cleaned as best as possible without going to extremes. We try very hard to be quiet upstairs particularly in the early hours as well as in the evening. The pool area is sprayed regularly with environmental repellants and yet not every insect can be eliminated. Our guests did enjoy the pool constantly while here for three days and it was late on the very last night that one of them got stung. We promptly provided them with first aid, anti sting treatments.
The evening before checkout we advised our guests that we had more guests checking in immediately upon their departure and yet they did not checkout until 20 minutes after the posted check out time. If we seemed less friendly and didn’t visit with them upon departure it was only because we had a lot of time to make up in getting the suite prepared for the next guests.
Once in the suite, after checkout, we observed that we had an additional amount of preparation time needed and consequently immediately marked this guest file as “return not acceptable”. We are pleased to see in the comments that these guests would not ask to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beefsgood
Wamego, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Welcoming on a snowy night”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had not intended to spend this wintery night in Mitchell but the highway was closed in the direction we were headed. Guys at the local Subway handed us the Heron's Nest card (there are no motels in town). Fortunately the owners answered the phone at 10:30 pm, got busy shoveling snow and we had a warm place to stay. It was clean and the hosts were very accommodating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review. We hope the rest of your excursion went without further complications.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing