We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairytale honeymoon, words can't describe this island!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
VOI Maayafushi Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Went here for our honeymoon and it was PERFECT!!! Only 74 bungalows on the island, seemed like every couple had there only little honeymoon spot. Food was fantastic, and the staff, well words alone can't say enough for these guys!! The whole experience was breath taking. Have tried booking again but for some reason it wasn't accepting visitors other than Italians :o( This could be due to the fact that the Island was owned by an Italian and maybe he's keeping it for his fellow natives :o/

But if we do get the chance we will definately be back to this beautiful island, it was just like the Bounty advert.......Paradise!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAMMYMOOMOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2009

Island SUPER! Snorkeling SUPER! Varia fishes, turtle, manta, dolphins, etc. SUPER! Water SUPER! People SUPER FRIENDLY! Food SUPER! We go back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ciccio061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We spent one week on Maayafushi island with our 3 young daughters (4, 6, 8). We chose Maayafushi for its simple, Robinson Crusoe feel. We were not looking for a luxury 5* destination. Maayafushi was beautiful, the snorkling directly off the island was excellent (turtles, sharks, rays, etc.). The breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets were good with a fair amount of choice, an italian influence but also curries, lots of fresh fish and fruit. The island itself was kept very clean, as were the rooms. Our two beach bungalows were not the most luxurious, quite simple, but for the amount of time spent in the room, more than adequate. There were some prettier, more modern looking bungalows available and also some garden bungalows and 8 water bungalows. Personally I wouldn't recommend the water bungalows although I did not see the inside of one as they are not that romantic or pretty to look at and are at the end of the island furthest away from the lovely sand spit that stretches out into the sea. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My advice for people travelling with young children : take all the snorkling equipment (masks, flippers, water shoes, etc.) with you. I would also recommend taking wetsuits to keep the young children warm. Despite lovely warm seas, children cool down fairly fast in the water and the smallest wetsuit available on the island was too big for my oldest child. Take lots of suncream for the day and anti-mosquito spray for the evenings, no need for any shoes except water shoes and flippers. The island entertainment is 'soft', there are some day-time and evening activities offered, mainly music in the evenings and volleyball matches against the staff. The island is occupied by italians for the most part, some swiss, french and german. All in all a wonderful week on a lovely island.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spennyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2009

we went two years ago and since then we have had our honeymoon at a different island. Nothing will ever compare to Maayafushi!!!
All the staff were excellent and we met some great friends who we still keep in touch with.
Jay was the best waiter, luca b and his guitar and german chris from the dive centre. We really wanted to go back for our honeymoon but it wasn't available to us brits!
There was loads to see and do, so for the reviews that have slated this island obviously don't know how to enjoy themselves!!!
DON'T BE FOOLED, THIS PLACE IS PARADISE!
love angie & mr chris x

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank janes-e91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

We have been to Maayafushi twice and would go back in a flash. We arrived from Male on a sea plane which was a fantastic experience, the first year we had the plane to ourselves.

We were greeted on the jetty by the staff, our luggage was carried to the reception, after filling in the usual forms we were greeted in the bar by an ice cold drink and cool towel which was very welcome.

Our two week stay was paradise, do not take shoes because you won't need them. I was in my bikini all day every day and then showered and changed for our evening meal.

While showering in the evening in the open air bathroom I could see a couple of fruit bats flying above.

Our teenage son went with us too and was even looking forward to our second year. The staff made us feel so welcome and made a real fuss of our son.

Jalel who ran the coffee shop was fantstic, we would walk in and he would bring our drinks to us without us even asking, even on the second year he remembered our names and drinks we had.

While snorkeling my husband and myself had the pleasure of seeing a manta ray which must have been at least 5ft across.

We went on a few trips over the 2 years we had been which included Fisherman Island, Night fishing, BBQ on a deserted island and I would reccomend them all.

All in all there is nothing bad I could or would say about the island, go and see for yourself and like the previous review if I could find an English tour operator who were doing holidays there I would go back.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank WP-Rolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maayafushi Island
8 km away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
610 reviews
27.5 km away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,199 reviews
5.2 km away
Constance Halaveli
Constance Halaveli
#1 of 1 in Halaveli Island
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
W Maldives
W Maldives
#1 of 1 in Fesdhoo Island
882 reviews
10.1 km away
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
#1 of 1 in Ellaidhoo Island
1,660 reviews
17.9 km away
Nika Island Resort & Spa
Nika Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kudafolhudhoo Island
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VOI Maayafushi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VOI Maayafushi Resort

Address:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Maayafushi Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maayafushi Island
Hotel Class:4 star — VOI Maayafushi Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the northern part of the Ari Atoll, the little island of Maayafushi is a crescent of soft white sand, protected by the reef and by clear water lagoon. The VOI Maayafushi resort surrounded by calm and crystalline water and by a coral reef filled with a coloured fauna is well known to snorkelling enthusiasts, while its proximity to seabed of magnificent beauty, makes this island the perfect destination for diving lovers. Typical Italian dishes are served in the main restaurant, together with international specialities. For water sports lovers, windsurfing and canoeing are available free of charge. Catamaran, snorkelling gears and tours are available. For guests seeking a relaxing holiday, gymnastic, table tennis and volley. Daily and night entertainment program and piano bar music together with a professional animation team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your VOI Maayafushi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maayafushi Island Hotel North Ari Atoll
Hotel Maayafushi Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing