We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$331
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Maafushivaru(Southern Ari Atoll)
US$742
US$631
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vakarufalhi Island Resort(Vakarufalhi Island)
US$277
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$334
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
LUX* South Ari Atoll(Dhidhoofinolhu Island)
US$321
US$258
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 44% below average rates

The price you found is 44% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$459/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mirihi Island Resort(Mirihi)
US$520
US$386
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$642/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ocean Beach Inn(Hangnaameedhoo Island)
US$50
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Island Resort & Spa(Maamingili Island)
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,418)
Filter reviews
2,418 results
Traveller rating
2,039
260
82
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,039
260
82
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplatinum planocean adventureour honeymoonfishwater villamain restaurantsea planekids clubglass floorinfinity poolour waiteraqua barmini barall inclusive packagesunset cruisea la cartemale airport
Filter
Updating list...
667 - 672 of 2,418 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2015

We planned a Sea and Sun vacation for ten days at this resort. From the international airport of Mali you continue your journey with a small sea-plane. Meanwhile, before boarding, you can spend your time in a separate private air lounge by the resort. The short flight gives a first impression of the many very small exotic islands in the atolls surrounded by azure waters. After landing we were picked up by a boat from the resort. At the jetty, we were welcomed by musicians and were offered a drink. The rooms were not yet ready (we arrived at around 9:00 am). They were only available in the afternoon but meanwhile we could freshen up in the wellness centre, take a first exploration of the hotel grounds and prepare for lunch. We had a spacious beach villa, with good functioning air conditioning. The bathroom and toilet are outside in the open air, though partly covered. All very spacious. On the terrace there were two sun loungers and a little further on the beach there were two more marked with the number of the room. Wi-Fi worked well in the room. The main restaurant provided a sumptuous buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Theme days were present with extensive selections and variations. So, we did not have the impression of too much repetition. In the all-in formula there was a wide choice of different wines. The bar had an extensive list of cocktails, juices and spirits. Beautiful for the aperitif and fun as after dinner. There are two restaurants to the two swimming pools. Not too busy, beautiful views and tasty snacks. A dinner at the Tamarind restaurant (Asian fusion) is also included in the all-in formula. As in all the other restaurants you can eat outside. The sunset cruise is a fun experience, floating around the island during sunset with a glass of bubbles. Ideal holiday! During our whole stay there was always enough room (pool, restaurant ...), never overcrowded. It is best to go for the all-inclusive plan because additional options are expensive. This also applies to the wellness center.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maurits V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B, Manager at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Dear Valued guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Lily beach.

We regularly make improvements to our service as a result of the valuable feedback we
receive from our guests to ensure that all our guests experience true Lily beach moments.

I was happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us the service extend by all members of the team,

This is indeed great encouragements in our objective to continuously improve our performance and thoroughly delight our guests.


May I take this opportunity to thank you again for your valuable feedback. My entire team at Lily beach look forward to welcoming you back to experience our resort at its best.

Thank you for choosing Lily beach as you preferred destination.

Looking forward to welcome you back

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015

my issue is not with the island, the food or the service. We saved up to go to the maldives and we were excited for a week of peace and quiet and relaxation.

basically there were a lot of kids on the island, i have nothing aghainst kids but i had prepped myself for a week of quiet and relaxation, difficult to relax when there are kids running about the pool and screaming. Anyway the quiet zone is meant to be kid free but no one says anything when the families take their kids there menaing there is nowhere on the island that is 'kid free'.

so in a nutsehll, if its peace and quiet of the maldives you want you may not get it at lily beach, we didn't and wish we had of went to another island, if you plan on taking kids to the maldive then lily beach is ideal

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank mmb7508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B, Manager at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment your recent stay at our Resort Lily Beach
Your review is very important to us Lily beach management

We regret any inconveniences you have experienced with our quiet zone and we assure you that we are very anxious to retain you as a satisfied customer.

We have looked into quiet zone issue and we have applied corrective measurements with our employee.

I regret that we did not succeed and exceed to make your stay memorable, more enjoyable ,we have taken your comments extremely seriously and
we are deeply apologizing for the inconvenience caused

We regularly make improvements to our services as a results of the valuable feedback we receive from our guests
to ensure that you experience Lily beach resort at its best.

I would like to re-assure you that we will more than exceed your expectations on your next visit to Lily beach resort.

I would like to once again extend our heartfelt apologies to you for the most unfortunate experience.

We hope you will offer us the opportunity to redeem your confidence to Lily hotel.

Cordially yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

We can highly recommend a family holiday to the beautiful island of Lily Beach. It was the best family holiday we have experienced in sometime and it came down to a combination of the fantastic accommodation, the helpful and friendly staff and most of all the amazing snorkelling around the island.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jode_stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B, Manager at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2015

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your time to comment on your recent stay at our Resort Lily Beach. Your review is very important to us.

We have been delighted by many positive aspects you mentioned. It gives me great pleasure to share your feedback regarding our staff with the team.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your villa so much.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Sincerely Yours

Marc Boge

Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2015

Upon choosing the Maldives as part of our honeymoon destination, we were suggested Lily Beach Resort & Spa by our travel agent. A couple of flicks through a brochure, and a few lookups on Trip Advisor, and our minds were made up! We went in June 2015 on the Platinum package (as well as benefitting from certain extras because we were on honeymoon). I shall divide my review according to the various aspects of the resort:

Getting There
Having arrived at Male International Airport, we were met by Lily Beach staff who took us to Lily Lounge, where we waited for the sea plane transfer to the resort. A 25-minute trip offered glorious views of the various atolls and resorts between Male and Huvahendhoo Island (where Lily Beach is situated). The sea plane lands a few meters away from the island next to a landing barge from which Lily Beach staff will pick you and your luggage up and take you the remaining part via local dhoni. A fresh towel and refreshments are already provided at this stage 

The Resort
The resort is incredibly beautiful and encompasses all that one can associate with a Maldives resort: tall palm trees, white sand and turquoise seas. The resort has different types of accommodation as well as one major buffet restaurant (Lily Maa), 2 other pool bar/restaurants (Vibes and Aqua), a fine dining restaurant (Tamarind) and a cocktail/spirits bar (Spirit). A football pitch, a tennis court, a kids club and a gym can be found. For relaxation and pampering, the beautiful Tamarind Spa huts are the place to be.

Beach Villa
We spent 4 nights in a beach villa. The front entrance was accessed from the central part of the island. The back end led to a porch with 2 private deckchairs overlooking green foliage and a few steps away from the beach. A further two deckchairs were assigned to our room on the beach in front of us. The villa was extremely comfortable and luxurious it contained a double bed, a well stocked bar, which was topped up every day with snacks and wines and sodas, as well as a tv and an outside bathroom with Jacuzzi. Room service was excellent and we had an excellent butler who took care of our room and provided excellent turn down service for our honeymoon. Thank you Ali!

Lagoon Villa
We spent our final night in a lagoon villa, an upgrade on our previous room. The lagoon villas faces another side of the island and are also accessed from the land side, however the porch is built directly on water and offers stunning views. Same facilities offered by beach villa are offered here but the room is distributed differently, somewhat proving more spacious.

Staff
The staff is ever so splendid, courteous and ready to help. Most are English-speaking and you are sure to warm to them. A special mention must go to a few people however, who made our stay that extra 10 percent special.
Miki, the guest relations officer who met us when we stepped off the sea plane and helped us right through our holiday.
Boram Lee, the front office manager, who always proved to be a point of reference for us
Zalif, our almost personal waiter and friend for our stay, who made our breakfast, lunches and dinners all the more special by preparing our tables in flower arrangements and on the sand next to the sea.
Dr Rashad, who took care of my wife after a fall she had while she used the segway around the island, his help was invaluable.
Marc Borge, the resort manager, who took great interest and compassion after my wife’s incident and made sure to see we had every care we need.

Food and Beverage
Food and Beverage was included as part of the platinum package so we could eat and drink as much as we wanted! There is such a large variety at Lily Maa restaurant to meet everyone’s tastes, and it is so great to have live cooking stations too. Special mention goes to Francesco, the Italian pasta chef and the BBQ station boys. Also my wife said the fresh sea food was the best she ever took and the stir fry was exquisite. Re beverages, have I mentioned the non-alcoholic cocktails and also fresh juices are super!?

Excursions
We took coral garden snorkeling, sunset fishing and a visit to the local island Dhangethi. All three excursions were by local dhoni and well organized, with free water and soft drinks on the way. I must mention the large variety of fish which we encountered on these trips! The staff was also helpful so thumbs up to the water sports centre guys!

Finally Mr Borge, kindly bring this review to the attention of the mentioned staff as well as the pictures I am attaching. It was a truly memorable stay and we hope to see you again in future. We made some good friends over there.

Thanks and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Colin_Frendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B, Manager at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2015

Dear Valued guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Lily beach.

We regularly make improvements to our service as a result of the valuable feedback we
receive from our guests to ensure that all our guests experience true Lily beach moments.

I was happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us the service extend by all members of the team, especially Mikki, Boram, Zalif, Francesco and Dr. Rashed

This is indeed great encouragements in our objective to continuously improve our performance and thoroughly delight our guests.


May I take this opportunity to thank you again for your valuable feedback. My entire team at Lily beach look forward to welcoming you back to experience our resort at its best.

Thank you for choosing Lily beach as you preferred destination.

Looking forward to welcome you back

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

We had a family holiday travelling with 3 kids respectively 14, 12, and 3 years old. It was our fifth visit to the Maldives. At Lily beach resort we had a 3-4 star experience.

Below there is a list of positive and negative things.

Positive points of Lily Beach Resort:

1)Nice house reef for snorkelling and well organised entry points to snorkel on the drop off
2)Nice choice of food and every different type of food is cooked and presented by a chef who is native of the same country where the food comes from and the result is a truly authentic taste of the food of each specific country.
3)Good pool service
4)There was a member of the staff waiting for us when we arrived at the airport
5) The lounge at Male' airport is comfortable
6) The staff at reception welcomed us with a refreshing cocktail upon arrival at resort and they gave our children a turtle shaped rucksack
7) The beach and the view outside the beach villas is nice and there is direct access to the house reef from the beach villas, so you can literally swim until the drop off and go back to your room to relax and drink your nespresso coffee!
8) The kids club staff were very good and caring for our children, especially our 3 years old daughter
9) Tidy up room is twice a day


Negative points of the resort

1)Average welcome upon arrival, at the airport the staff of the resort follows a protocol. The welcoming approach is cold and you feel part of a protocol. We had the impression, on several occasions during our holiday, that the staff works like robots. The staff does not have a sense of touch and does not try to understand the needs of people, especially the needs of families travelling from far away places, with young children.
Upon our arrival at reception the manager, who explained us about the life at the resort, have told us while we were caring for our little daughter, that she was not going to repeat her explanation twice! She gave us a feeling that she was trying to cut short the time to explain the resort facts and this happened again when she was showing our beach villa. She did not understand that travelling with young children, from far away countries, requires time and patience, she was following a protocol. This was a general attitude of all staff at the resort during our stay, with some few little exceptions from chefs and waiters.
2) The resort close the buffet very early so you better hurry up with your activities otherwise you will miss your breakfast, lunch or dinner! Especially on our first and second day, in the morning and at dinner, it was a real challenge to arrive in time at the lily Maa buffet and we have been told to hurry up getting our food! It never happened to us, anywhere in the world, in any other resorts, even in 3 or 2 stars resorts, that they were shutting all the lights a taking away food from the plates when we were caring for our children and we did not have time to enjoy the buffet!
3) All food at Lily Maa buffet is kept in display at room temperature - around 30 degree (centigrade) - and this is not nice, especially for the desserts which should be kept cold. The Lily Maa restaurant does not have air conditioning, it has only ventilators on the ceiling and sometimes the restaurant is very hot and it is difficult to enjoy the food. The staff does not have a sense of touch to recognise when it is too hot to eat outside, in the terrace, it happened with out little daughter that we needed to change table, away from the terrace because it was so hot that we were sweating and could not enjoy to eat any of the food.
4)The restaurant choice is limited and you have to book very well in advance to get a table especially at Tamarind restaurant
5)There is a smell of mould in the bedroom, I am allergic to mould and I was sneezing and having runny nose when I was in the bedroom, especially when the weather was particularly dump.
6)The furniture in bedrooms and the storage are not well organised, there is not enough space in the tiny wardrobe, no desk, no little table outside to enjoy your drinks or in room dining, the furniture is very basic like a 3 star hotel, no iron board, no sewing kit
7)Although they tidy up your room twice a day in 5 stars resort they should tidy up the room more often than twice a day, making sure there are always fresh towels especially whit young children.
8)There were ants in our bedroom every where in the room especially on coffee cups and inside the bath and they were still there after the bedroom was cleaned. We found cockroaches in our children room and in our bathroom.
9)The indoor area of the kids club is very small.
10)No life guards on duty in the kids pool area
11)They close the pool at 6pm and it is forbidden to swim in the ocean after 5.30pm so if you arrive late in the afternoon with your flight you will not have a chance to swim into the ocean or in the pool on your arrival.
12) The diving experience was average
13) On our return we were waiting very long to get the seaplane from Lily Beach to Male'. The platform to get the seaplane is in the middle of the ocean, so you will need to get there by speed boat and wait until the seaplane arrives


We will never come back to this resort and I have explained all my concerns to the manager during our stay, they have offered us a fruit basket to apologies for the inconvenience and chocolates that got covered by ants the followings days in our bedroom!

Lily beach resort is not a five star resort, do not expect that service when you are booking this hotel. There are other resorts where we have been on family holidays in the past: Constance, Four Season, Shangri-La and One and Only resorts and we can confirm that these are the truly 5 stars resorts. We have been also to Lux, Centara and Bandos in the Maldives and we can say that these resorts are far better organised and they are much better value for money than Lily beach resort and Spa

The resort was a big disappointment as we were trusting all the good tripadvisor reviews!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Eleonora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc B, Manager at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment your recent stay at our Resort Lily Beach.

Your review is very important to us Lily beach management ,
to explain the issues that you have occurred during your stay at Lily Beach Resort.

This was very unfortunate that during your stay , I was unable to meet you personally.

We regret any inconveniences you have experienced and we assure you that we are very anxious to retain you as a satisfied customer.

We are indeed very concern about your comments concerning the mentioned short falls,

AIRPORT LOUNGE.

Priority is given to families with kids to go through check-in procedures without any delays at our counter and Seaplane check-in counter .

ROOMS

Our standards set up for Beach Villa ( closet with 4 drawers) upon guest request extra luggage rack, hanger, are delivered.

We do cleaning twice a day upon guest request extra cleaning no issue.

We have daily fumigation on going on the resorts.

We have recently extended our kids club space and ongoing improvement to our facilities for children safety.

RESTAURANT

Our opening times were: breakfast 7am-10:30am, lunch 12:30-14:30 and dinner 7pm-9:30pm.


LIFE GUARDS

Our resort information is no life guard on duty, unless for kid club.

SEAPLANE TRANSFER

This is subjective of TMA (trans Maldivian Airplanes)

We have investigated all matters and we have applied corrective measurements with our employee.

I regret that we did not succeed and exceed to make your stay memorable, more enjoyable ,we have taken your comments extremely seriously and
we are deeply apologizing for all the inconveniences caused

We regularly make improvements to our services as a results of the valuable feedback we receive from our guests
to ensure that you experience Lily beach resort at its best.

I have taken all corrective actions necessary, both in terms of the persons involved, as well as reinforcing our standards and practices to make sure such does not occur
Anymore, I would like to re-assure you that we will more than exceed your expectations on your next visit to Lily beach resort.

I would like to once again extend our heartfelt apologies to you for the most unfortunate experience.

We hope you will offer us the opportunity to redeem your confidence to Lily hotel.

Cordially yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews