We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Island experience. Staff was incredibly friendly and caring.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Island Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was an amazing experience for my wife and I. Really fantastic staff and beautiful island. Food was excellent and there was a huge selection. Diving center was professional and very helpful. The reef around the island is spectacular on all sides. It was a brilliant time. Just make sure you book the beach villas and not the garden villas. The garden villas are not very nice and are hidden and do not have direct access to the beach. The island was overbooked the first night and the staff asked whether we would be willing to move to the garden villa for one night in exchange for vouchers. I looked at the garden villa and refused as this is not a good alternative no matter what vouchers they will give you. Otherwise, best experience.

Room Tip: Beach Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank christarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my family passed a beautiful week in Royal Island Resort & Spa on January,we found many positive aspects like the food which was abundant and excellent, the personnel was available in every moment and the rooms were very clean. we have lodged in the Beach villa with a breathtaking view of the sea. As it regards the excursions, even if some of these are a bit expensives, it is worth to do it. I would absolutely return there and I recommend to everybody to go there on January because it's the most beautiful period.

Room Tip: Beach villas are the best to stay because of the beautiful view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gianni_Giusti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

We just came back after a week spent at the Royal Island at the beginning of January and need to say the beauty of the environment exceeded our expectations ! The nature, the resort, the people, the peace and serenity you can find is simply amazing. Everything went well and was perfectly organized: the resort is great, rooms are spacious and elegant with a semi private portion of beach in front. A great variety of food was offered, we suggest the all inclusive treatment if you drink a beer or glass of wine and if you want to have a mid afternoon snack. People and staff were simply super gentle and always helpful. Range of activities was wide and all perfectly organized (we recommed the snorkelling with turtles above all). We attended the manta & sharks feeding and we woudn't suggest: it is much more beautiful to see these fantastic animals in their natural environment rather than getting used to humans and food.Try the a la carte restaurant on the beach, super romantic and quiet.
All in all, absolutely recommened, we hope tobe back soon :-)

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

After seeing reviews for this resort,I decided to spent Christmas vacation on this resort with my family.Right from arrival till our departure this resort didn't disappoint us.Beach villa was spacious enough for 3 adults with nice open air bathroom.A safe beach was right in front of us with good in house coral reefs and marine life.An excursion for swimming with sea turtles was memorable lifetime experience.Food quality and variety was good,Christmas eve dinner was excellent.For arranging transfer to another resort ,staff made extra effort late at night and scheduled it to our satisfaction.Overall a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

I have been staying for 8 days at this resort during the new years at the beach villa with all inclusive. For 3 nights in a row we had rats coming to our bathroom and we kept calling the security and they would 'assure' us that there is nothing we should be afraid of.

I have asked to speak with the hotel manager who has dogged me for 2 days and finally when I met him his words were: "it is something normal". It is not the first time I am visiting Maldives, and I've never ever had this issue in the past. Imagine having crazy noises on the rooftop and in the bathroom of rats, you would not be able to sleep. The manager didn't took any measure to solve this issue and I've been really disappointed by his manners.

In addition, the food in all inclusive was terrible. The food selection was just so poor and the quality I would say below average. Food has mainly an Indian influence and without any other options. The hotel management should consider offering more food varieties due to everyone tastes.

A holiday which didn't worth the money and with a hotel manager that didn't care about the rats problem. I believe this shows the cleanness of the hotel by attracting rats... Really disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
13  Thank AChemal04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horubadhoo Island
9.1 km away
Kihaa Maldives
Kihaa Maldives
#12 of 16 in Baa Atoll
605 reviews
39.5 km away
Kudafushi Resort and Spa
Kudafushi Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Kudafushi
206 reviews
16 km away
Reethi Beach Resort
Reethi Beach Resort
#7 of 16 in Baa Atoll
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 km away
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
#1 of 1 in Dhunikolhu Island
1,440 reviews
33.6 km away
Furaveri Island Resort & Spa
Furaveri Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meedhoo Island
358 reviews
5.8 km away
Dusit Thani Maldives
Dusit Thani Maldives
#6 of 16 in Baa Atoll
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Island Resort & Spa

Address:
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Baa Atoll > Horubadhoo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horubadhoo Island
Price Range: RM 658 - RM 3,651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the Maldives you’ve always dreamt of at Royal Island Resort & Spa. Amidst the sparkling jewels of the Indian Ocean, our exquisite Maldives luxury hotel shines and dazzles above all. Indulge and immerse yourself in a colorful journey of discovery, where shores lined with luxuriant banyans and lush palms yield to a majestic underwater world that will render you speechless. Enjoy unmatched services and facilities, including the lavish Araamu Spa and a fabulous selection of restaurants and bars. Relax and unwind with a vast selection of resort activities , including a fully equipped gymnasium, tennis, and squash to scuba diving and water skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Island Hotel Baa Atoll
Royal Island Resort And Spa
Royal Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing