We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent stay on Lewis!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kabuis Chalet

Shawbost Beach - a 15 minute walk from the Chalet.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shawbost Beach - a 15 minute walk from the Chalet.
Chalet with wrap around decked verandah.leading on to picnic table in garden Spacious Chalet Lounge - through to Kitchen /Dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Shawbost Beach - a 15 minute walk from the Chalet.
Chalet with wrap around decked verandah.leading on to picnic table in garden
Spacious Chalet Lounge - through to Kitchen /Dining
Chalett Kitchen / Dining - open plan.
Kitchen/Dining area
Chalet Lounge - taken from open plan kitchen
Chalet Lounge, spacious and comfortable with cream leather sofas
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom with shower over bath.
One of the many spectacular sunsets that can be captured, this one over Shawbost Beach.
Our Cavalier King Charles - named Rusti.
The start of the coastal walk from Shawbost Beach to Dalbeg / Dalmore and finish at Garen Blackhouse
Your already on the coastal walk to Dalbeg etc.
Dalbeg Beach.
Garenin Blackhouse Village.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Shawbost, Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Pam H
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent stay on Lewis!”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were greeted by Rhoda who treated us like family, provided fresh cake, cheese and smoked salmon. What a great start to our week. Rhoda and Neil, knowing the island inside out, directed us to the best sites and interests making sure we missed nothing. The accomodation was spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. We can thoroughly recommend Kabuis to anyone planning a visit to the Hebrides.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin B
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Fantastic property, a real home from home. Of course the best place to be on these island is out and about enjoying the beautiful scenery but if you got rained in all holiday I could think of no better place. There are some fascinating books and newspaper cuttings in the chalet directly related to the owners who share an interesting lineage going back centuries, and warmer and more welcoming people you would travel a long way to find. Smoked salmon and a delicious home made cake greeted us on our arrival and another cake left with us to Skye for our second week, the accommodation wasn't a patch on this. Huge thanks to Neil and Rhoda. Tapadh leat! Chan eil aon chanan gu leor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: attention to detail
Liked least: if I was being picky, lack of direct views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous holiday in a fabulous place with fabulous hosts”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

myself my wife and daughter drove from Warrington. Staying overnight on Skye before catching the morning ferry to Harris/Lewis , We arrived at the chalet and straight away felt at home and the greeting from Rhoda and Neil was fabulous, we had never met them before and it was like meeting old friends within seconds . The chalet was warm and comfortable and had everything we needed for the weeks stay and more. The chalet was clean and well maintained with quality everything. The local knowledge of our hosts - and Rhoda's baking - was excellent and nothing was to much trouble.10 out of 10.we are already planning our next stay but it will be at least two weeks as one was nowhere near enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean W
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in a beautiful part of the world”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We booked the Chalet for a week in August 2015. All booking was done with Rhoda and this was very easy to sort out. Communication was great with good directions etc provided.
We arrived Saturday evening and were warmly welcomed by Rhoda, Neil and Rusti.
The accommodation was lovely and clean and perfect for the 3 of us.
The fridge was stocked with fresh salmon, milk etc and Rhoda regularly provided home made cake and biscuits.
The location was excellent and we managed to see the whole Island within the week. The village of Shawbost feels quite remote (which we liked) but then you are only 25 / 30 minutes away from all that you need in Stornoway. We mixed it up and had a few meals out and ate in a few nights with provisions from the butchers in Stornoway.
Neil and Rhoda are lovely people who welcomed us and provided us with ideas of what to do and where to go and also set us up with fishing gear for an evenings fishing.
There is a lovely beach within walking distance. There are some fantastic beaches (Uig and Luskentyre) within a short drive away.
We had a fantastic holiday and are already considering coming back soon.
Thanks Rhoda and Neil for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James and...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Everything you need”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This doesn't look quite like the picture - it is a wooden chalet and there are more houses around than you'd anticipate from looking at the picture - but it is great base on Lewis. It is very comfortable and well equipped and the owners are great - supplying home made cakes and some salmon when we arrived. It is a 15-20 minute walk along lanes to the lovely Shawbost Cove and it is easy to do the West Side Coast path from here. The location is also good for travelling around Lewis and to Harris.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing