We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabanas Isla del Sol
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Restaurante La Terraza(Same)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Hosteria Golden Blue(Same)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Elicio's(Atacames)
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cielo Azul(Atacames)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel La Barca(Atacames)(Great Value!)
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Perla Verde(Esmeraldas)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
19
19
9
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
19
9
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Old room with ventilator, almost no AC, doors locks in very bad shape, small old fashion TV , cable almost not working,very bad service . We had to live after 2 hours of arriving. No food available. Far away of all other reataurants

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IgorAlfredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Gerente at Cabanas Isla del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2015

Our offer is plain and simple, great comfortable cabins right on the beach, parking, pool, and cafeteria for breakfast on the ocean front.

As to the rooms they are in great shape, including the cabins with fan. If a person doesn't like what they get they should say so right away, and request a change of room if possible, which I believe was never asked from the guests but even a free upgrade was offered from management to the guests but not accepted. The other option someone has is not to take the room, and say so immediately as (most hotels won't refund you after a two hour stay).

And as per hotel/reservation policy its published so anyone planing to make a reservation can check out the policies of the hotel: http://www.cabanasisladelsol.com/reservation-policy.html

We really hope you come back again and I offer you a free night stay (non-transferable), so you can see that it is a really great place to stay.

Kind regards,
Eric Hedo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2015

Hotel offers free tents, boogey boards and the service was fantastic!

The beach is very peaceful, clean and with very few people (basically a private beach!). About a nice 15 minute walk along the beach to the cobachas (food and drink huts - make sure to have some fresh piña coladas! BOMB!).

Eric speaks perfect English~ Originally we were a group of 5 but ended up in a group of 4. We arrived at midnight and our room was all set with 5 beds, went to talk to Eric the next day saying the 5th person wasn't coming and he said there was no problem and didn't charge us for the extra bed! He is very attentive and was so patient with us and all of our special requests!

The cabin had two rooms and a shared bathroom. There was a little kitchen a big refridgerator and one air conditioner for the whole cabin. We thought the air conditioner wouldn't be enough to cool the entire cabin but we were so wrong! We slept with both doors to the rooms opened and ended up turning the A.C. down in the middle of the night!

The cabins are a little old but well maintained and we were RIGHT ON THE BEACH! We literally, walked down 5 stairs and are on the beach. It was SO nice falling asleep to the sound of the waves and waking up to them. We watched the sunset every evening!

Overall, wonderful place to stay, WiFi was good, great service and worth every penny!

Room Tip: Get the cabins out ON the beach!
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Chitatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2015

Super security when we were there (Feb 2015). Clean and well maintained by Ecuadorian standards. We realize there was a security problem last year. We had a large room right on the beach in the new modern building and our room door locked automatically when we closed it. Security cameras, night guard, they lock the gates to the beach and to the road at night, lights at night under the cabins. We've toured around Ecuador, stayed in at least 12 different hotels, this was in the top 2 of cleanliness and being well maintained. English speaking manager Eric was helpful. breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Wifi in common areas. 2 of the cabins have kitchenettes.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JulieP552014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2015

It's funny because each of us has read the review about the incident of april 2014 without sharing the knowledge. Let me assure you, they now have security guard and cameras everywhere.
Whatever, it was a very cool place, just on the beach.
Friendly people around.

Room Tip: ask for casa on the beach!
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abarbeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We booked our stay at Isla del Sol before reading the previous review. With some trepidation we decided to go ahead. When we arrived we were reassured that additional security measures were in place, and, indeed, a CCTV system has now been installed. We found Eric and his staff to be welcoming and helpful.
Breakfast is good with beautiful fresh fruit, eggs etc. The other meals we had there were good but they stop serving early so it pays to let the staff know if you want a meal. Our rooms were all comfortable (we had 4 rooms). Sometimes the water is hot but as the weather is so hot there we were not bothered about having cool showers!
It is very upsetting to think of nasty things happening when on holiday. This place is not Fort Knox but provided they keep up the security measures they have put in place I would definitely recommend it.
Ps don't travel to Ecuador without adequate travel and health insurance.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank EarthMother_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews