We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“70th birthday meal”
Review of The Playa

The Playa
Reserve with TopTable
The Playa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Playa is set on Minster seafront providing wonderful views over the Thames estuary. We pride ourselves on our home-cooked top quality food, our range of fine ales, lagers and wines but above all exceptional customer service. We are a family run business headed up by sister and brother, Laura and Neil. We only purchase top quality products and travel weekly to billingsgate market and Smithfield markets to purchase fresh fish and meat for the week, when you visit The Playa we will endeavour to make the whole experience special for you and guarantee you will want to visit us again! We offer a 2 course senior citizen menu from Monday to Friday lunch time for £9.95 per head and Thursday night is buy one get one free on our Smithfield Steaks!! You will often find live music and a busy dance floor in The Playa on a Saturday night and a fresh home-cooked roast available on a Sunday. We cater for children and vegetarians please just enquire with one of our friendly waiting staff as to the days options. Our team of highly trained chefs will happily accommodate your needs. We cater for large parties and events, for any enquiries please phone us. We look forward to welcoming you to our establishment soon!
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I booked a surprise birthday meal for my husband's 70th, I have got to say everything was perfect. The table looked amazing, the service was 1st class, the food amazing and the staff couldn't do enough to make the occasion any better.
I am so glad that we chose the Player and can't wait to return.
Thank you so much to all the staff , we had a table for 18 and everyone loved it ❤️

1  Thank susanharring2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Owner at The Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you for this lovely review and the thank you card! We are so pleased you chose to celebrate such a special event with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Bang on. Fish and Chips were amazing and the chocolate cake and custard was just as nice. Very good value at £28 for two meals and two puds.

Very friendly family pub with very clean baby changing facilities.

Thank SimonYall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Owner at The Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you for the review :) delighted you enjoyed and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

We are regular visitors and could not fault the food albeit the portions have shrunk and the choices on the 2 course pensioners menu are very limited. We felt very sorry for the waitress who was doing a sterling job of covering every table. We will return but do feel standards have slipped this year.

1  Thank Maggie1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Owner at The Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi Maggie,

I am so disappointed to hear that you feel standards have slipped. As you can see from our other reviews it is very unusual for us to receive such feedback and I put every effort into making sure our customers are made to feel special during their visit with us. Our Senior Menu consists of 4/5 starter and Main choices which is more than it has ever been for £10.95.
The only think I can think is that you visited during or just after the snow when we had to limit the menu due to no deliveries and also both chef's unexpectedly going off on long term sick leaving us with a limited menu on both accounts. Please do come back and see us and hopefully you will have your mind changed. I am going off to have a baby next week so will not be around for a few weeks but please ask to see my manageress Charlotte during your visit if there are any problems. We prefer to try and solve any issues before our customers leave.
Sincere apologies again that you felt dissatisfied and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Excellent, quality food, good service at a fare price, Friendly atmosphere Location has great views.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mizzm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Owner at The Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for this lovely review, we love to hear such great feedback from our customers. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Amazing Sunday Lunch. Lovely staff highly recommend it! Couldn't do enough for us. Definately go back.

Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Owner at The Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this lovely review :)
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Playa also viewed

Sheerness, Isle of Sheppey
Queenborough, Isle of Sheppey
 
Harty, Isle of Sheppey
Minster on Sea, Isle of Sheppey
 

Been to The Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;