We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful customer service”

The Knockerdown Inn and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Knockerdown Inn & Restaurant is a traditional 17th Century 'OLDE WORLDE' English Pub, it is privately owned and has been under the same ownershop since 1996. Situated overlooking Carsington Water it has everything the local visitor could wish for, its open all day, every day throughout the Summer holidays. At other times, it opens for lunch and evenings in the week and ALL Day every Saturday & Sunday. It offers traditional pub food & cask ales,a separate extensive childrens' menu, wheelchair access & disabled toilets, high chairs and baby changing room. There is a childrens' adventure play area and separate toddler play area, an award winning garden & patio area large car park coaches welcome, by appointment. The pub is dog friendly and offers free WIFI. They also offer Caravan & Camping, with toilet and shower facilities.
Reviewed 1 June 2021

Absolutely shambolic way of running a business ! Landlady was down right rude . Do not recommend and will not be returning .

Date of visit: June 2021
3  Thank katecottam73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2021

I just want to say massive thanks to Matt & team at Knockerdown Inn
We are staying camping& they go out way to serve us food with some staffing difficulties & card machine broke! I’ve heard & seen some people disappointed..

All I can say The food is great honest pub grub
Here is my Rump with nice Guinness
my wife & son & friends also enjoyed there food & hospitality was spot on...

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank Amy_Mike_Harrison123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2021 via mobile

Visited over the bank holiday weekend after visiting a few times last summer. Extremely busy pub garden. Was able to sit straight away. Manager cleared our table as soon as the other couple left and sanitized, she was very honest and said they were short staffed but would be with us ASAP which they were. As a business owner myself, staff are hard to come by in the current climate. A few things not on the menu, but still lots to choose from. They had an issue with card machine being dropped and not working but dealt with it with grace and decorum. Food came out within the half an hour waiting time which was great. Very fresh and well presented. Seen some unfair reviews so thought I best straighten the record and tell everyone that yes, it is very busy... but well worth it! If you see it’s busy and you don’t like people, don’t go.. but if you’re a nice human and want this brilliant place to thrive, give them a visit! Best pub we’ve been too whilst visiting the local area!

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank JaxPerrot1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

Food was ok, typical pub grub, waitresses were lovely but the managers/owners were quite short with customers and aggressive at times, took a long time to be served, I know it’s difficult at the moment with everything going on but I would have thought they’d be more pleasant, it was like we were in the way, we won’t be going back.

Date of visit: April 2021
2  Thank FranandSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2021

Average food but expensive prices. £3.90 for a pint of Pedigree. Lovely setting shame the quality has dropped over the last few years.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank V7511WTjohnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Knockerdown Inn and Restaurant also viewed

Mugginton, Derbyshire
 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Knockerdown Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.