We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A delightful barn conversion full of home comforts”
other travellers have booked this property
Shafts Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shafts Barn
The double height sitting room with its woodburning stove The very light dining area at the entrance to the barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Shafts Barn
The double height sitting room with its woodburning stove
The very light dining area at the entrance to the barn
The sitting room has an impressive vaulted ceiling
A woodburning stove for chilly evenings
Comfortable sofas
Looking through to the dining area
The very light dining area at the entrance to the barn
The country kitchen has oak worktops, a butler sink and integral units
The double bedroom has a king-size bed
The en suite to the double bedroom
The original timber structure is a real feature throughout the barn
The en suite to the double bedroom
The twin bedroom
..... with en suite shower room
The en suite shower room
The paved garden area at the back of the barn
Secluded
Immaculately landscaped
The front of the barn
The driveway approach up to the barn
The view across the countryside
The Thomas Lord pub, West Meon
Winchester Cathedral
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
West Meon, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dan M
Knebworth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A delightful barn conversion full of home comforts”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had a wonderful holiday here, the barn was immaculately renovated, with lots of cosy details. The owners Phil and Jill were very helpful and keen to sort out anything we needed for our stay, they even took us to collect fresh eggs from the chickens nearby! Our son (aged 22 months) enjoyed the range of toys available, and there is sky TV too. The beds were really comfy and all the linen smelled really nice which was conducive to a good nights sleep.

The local shop was run by the community and sold a surprisingly eclectic selection of food, and the local gastro-pub was excellent too, both only a 5 minute walk from the barn. We found lots to do over the week, including visits to the forest, Marwell zoo and Manor Farm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfy beds and the massive shower!
Liked least: We liked everything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2013
Thank you for your positive and helpful comments. So glad you enjoyed your stay at Shafts Barn. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay P
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well-appointed rental in charming village”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Very comfortable, smart and well furnished, with plenty of parking space. Two bathrooms (luxury for a small rented property!) and a safe garden for my 2 grandchildren to play in. The owners were friendly and helpful. West Meon is a lovely spot with an excellent pub, and well-placed for visiting many local tourist attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet without being isolated.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found Shafts Barn suitable for your needs. Hideaways Reservation team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob M
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best self catering cottage we've stayed in”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I go on holiday with my reasonably fit 75 year old Mum every year and generally stay in high end self catering places, so the arrangement of a double and a twin room suited us well. We were attracted to Shafts Barn because of the access to The South Downs, New Forest for simple walks, Isle of Wight for a day trip and Winchester if the weather was unkind. I think even London is possible had we needed it.
However, the Barn itself was beautifully presented, comfortable, very well equipped and felt not just new, but done to a high quality. There is extra fridge and freezer room in an outbuilding should you need and also a patio complete with furniture, fire pit and barbecue where we sat snugly late into the evening listening to the Tawny Owls calling in the adjacent wood. Just lovely.
The owners, Phil and Jill, were great with communication before we got there, allowed us to deliver on line shopping to arrive before we did (half a day saved) and were that unusual balance of attentive without being obtrusive.
The location is quiet, but there are amenities around in the village: of note are ta good gastro pub (book on a weekend) and a lovely cafe behind the village shop (you MUST try the homemade lemon polenta cake).
All in all, simply the best self catering accommodation we have yet found. I can't recommend it enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome and the unusually high standard of accommodation.
Liked least: That its too far for me to go more often.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2013
Thank you for your feed-back about Shafts Barn. We're glad you found it to your liking and had such an enjoyable stay. The Hideaways Reservations Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innerleithen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of decor and quality of fixtures
Liked least: Spotted a few horseflies about - but to be expected in the rural setting
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Jul 2013
Thank you for your detailed and very positive comments, which I'm sure will be helpful for future guests coming to Shafts Barn. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
smashtie
Cambridge, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Idyllic Location with Fabulous Owners”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

From the start, Jill and Phil couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. They clearly cared very much that we made the most of our stay, bringing corn so our children could feed the chickens, and marshmallows to toast over the fire bowl. They even let us use the property well after the normal checkout, since there wasn't another booking immediately, and this really helped to turn the last day from being a rush to being an extra day of holiday.

The location is great, with a fantastic butcher, local shop and pub (the Thomas Lord, excellent food, beer, service, entertainment, but busy so book ahead) all within 2 minutes saunter. And even with all that, it's such a peaceful village. There are good walks on the doorstep, and the countryside is lovely.

The cottage itself, while looking small on the outside, is newly renovated and well laid out. There are two en-suite bathrooms (one with fantastic walk-in shower), comfortable beds, a stylish living room, and a country kitchen, complete with antique butcher's block. There is a secluded patio at the back, and a generous driveway/turning space at the front.

All in all, a blissful weekend away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners and the location
Liked least: Minor problem with the shower which was fixed within 30 minutes...
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2013
Thank you for your very positive feedback; we're really glad you enjoyed your stay at Shafts Barn. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$209
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing