We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a wonderful place!”
The cottage set in 200 acres of private woodland and stunning mountain views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage set in 200 acres of private woodland and stunning mountain views
Our 200 acre private woodland - explore at your will Waterfall in the private woods
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The cottage set in 200 acres of private woodland and stunning mountain views
Our 200 acre private woodland - explore at your will
Waterfall in the private woods
The deep bath is the perfect place to relax after a days walking
The Bathroom
Views from the cottage
The Cottage in wingter
A fully equipped kitchen
Dining for four
The kitchen dining area
The double bedroom
The large twin bedroom
Sitting room with log burner
View from the driveway
Nesting time
Blue Tit
View from the back door
A visiting Robin
Lord Hereford's Knob
Secluded lawn
Campion
New for 2015 - log fired cedar hot tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Velindre, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jennyhami...
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a wonderful place!”
Reviewed 11 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The Cottage in the Woods is a wonderfully peaceful haven. The grounds were so lovely that we only left once during our stay to get more food! The cottage facilities were excellent and easily manageable with a toddler. Our dog had such an amazing time that he barely moved for a week when we got home! We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveTrave...
1 review
“Cosy getaway”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Lovely location,with great walks in the forest with the dogs and grandchildren,cosy cottage and lots of wildlife outside the door

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy P
1 review
“Hideaway”
Reviewed 19 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a fantastic week at this get away from it all cottage, with amazing mountain views and hot tub to relax and star gaze! Our two dogs loved the woods on the doorstep and freedom to roam. Will definitely be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jotterbox
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A bespoke, isolated location, only punctuated by fantastic views, sheep and wild horses. Stunning.”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

From public single track road, onwards though the locked gate, to the private forest path and onward to the detached isolated cottage at the tip of the hill . What bliss. So much wildlife, endless walking and mountain biking from the house. Within a short drive you can access further mountain bike routes, local villages and events. Unlimited heating, cosy bed, seclusion. We loved our week away. Thank you.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisadeaki...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage with wonderful views in a tranquil setting.”
Reviewed 7 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely loved our stay here at Cefn Y Waun.
A lovely clean cottage that felt like home.
Stunning views, peaceful location and lots of wonderful woodland to explore with our dog Millie.
We could not fault the cottage and the little extra touches that Emma included, tea,coffee, milk in the fridge and delicious welsh cakes were really appreciated, Thank you.
We spent our 3 days mainly exploring the woodland and fields nearby which we thoroughly enjoyed.
We had a beautiful meal at The Three Tuns in Hay-on-Wye, which we recommend highly as the food was delicious!
Also a special mention to the local pub in Velindre, The Three Horseshoes. What a wonderful little pub, where we were warmly welcomed by all. We ate here twice, lovely home cooked food and very reasonably priced, definately worth a visit, and the locals were all very friendly.
All in all a wonderful break, and we cant wait to come back!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing