We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,454)
Filter reviews
7,454 results
Traveller rating
2,700
2,656
1,291
469
338
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,700
2,656
1,291
469
338
Show reviews that mention
All reviews riu guanacaste costa rica sports bar zip lining horseback riding steak pura vida italian restaurant specialty restaurants monkey bar hot springs howler monkeys make reservations ocean view rainy season black sand sushi
Filter
Updating list...
434 - 439 of 7,454 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

From the minute we arrived until the minute we left we were left surprised and happy. When we first arrived we were greeted by a man to take our luggage and were given delicious, fresh juice. The room was very nice. Nothing over the top, but it had everything you would need and my ocean view was incredible. Room service came everyday and kept the room tidy. The food at every restaurant on site was very very good. Pool was great, poolside drink service was great. I really have nothing bad to say. We had a great time and would definitely come back/recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I booked at the Riu Guanacaste for our anniversary. It was very average. The beach is very rocky and unmaintained so we didn't use it at all. As such, the pool is overused and not very clean. The beds were very hard and pillows small. We asked for a mattress pad that Sunwing had told us about not only once but twice, but they never dropped it off. The food was ok but they don't take reservations at the a la cartes. As such, we were unable to get into any of the restaurants for our actual anniversary. Overall, it was ok - nothing special about it and I wouldn't bother coming back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Serena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your anniversary and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are committed to providing excellent quality of products and services to our guests. It is disappointing to learn that you left our hotel thinking otherwise. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve our services, and for this reason, we will share your impressions with the relevant department in line with the main goal to achieve the highest levels of customer satisfaction.

We really hope you will give us a second chance to redeem ourselves and to demonstrate the high standards of guest service and quality that are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

At one point, this hotel may have been a 5-Star. It’s not anymore. A 5-Star hotel doesn’t greet guests by chasing them through the lobby yelling at them to move their car while they check in (we were greeted upon arrival by nobody but security— not a very hospitable start).

Every meal was buffet style - no reservations allowed at the two restaurants that are not buffet.

Ran out of pool towels every morning; also impossible to find a chair by the pool since people scout them out before dawn, claim them, then don’t come back down until 2 in the afternoon.

The manager on duty, Dayan, was also very rude and made no attempt to be customer focused.

I very rarely leave bad reviews, but for a very expensive vacation to a five star resort, we expected at the very least to be greeted with smiles.

Don’t stay here expecting a 5-Star hotel. I will never stay at a RIU again, and would encourage you to look at other options before settling on this hotel. Costa Rica is a beautiful country with very friendly people; the RIU has managed to over fill their hotel with thousands of tourists on a daily basis, completely eroding the friendliness of the country for every spare penny they can get.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

We are committed to providing excellent quality of products and services to our guests. It is disappointing to learn that you left our hotel thinking otherwise. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve our services, and for this reason, we will share your impressions with the relevant department in line with the main goal to achieve the highest levels of customer satisfaction.

We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to demonstrate the high standards of service and quality that are typical of our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

All of the amenities and things to do in the area are wonderful! However, the room itself is lacking!

1- The ac will not go below 64 degrees F/18 degrees C. I assure you that is never got down to 64 in here. I am from central Texas and I know what 64 feels like. We barely used the sheets at night. It was hot in here, which made for miserable sleeping.

2- The walls are extremely thin. We heard all of the footsteps, furniture movement, voices, and things dropping at all hours in the rooms above and beside us.

3- The toilets barely flush. Not good!!! Ever!

4- There is no ventilation in the bathrooms. It gets smoldering hot in there anytime you have the door closed.

5- The shower water has no consistency, no matter what time of day it is. It is constantly changing as you shower. There are bursts of cold and bursts of scolding hot water throughout your shower.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Terrance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are pleased to inform you that at RIU, we are constantly working on the renovation and maintenance of our hotel portfolio ranging from Europe via Africa and Asia to America. We have set ourselves the goal of bringing all hotels up to date, which is achieved step by step. Of course, we will share your impressions with the relevant department, to make adjustments if necessary, or to take them into consideration for future refurbishments.

We hope to get another chance to welcome you again at one of our worldwide RIU hotels in order to deliver the high standards of guest service and quality which are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Let’s start from the good things , very nice staff , polite , attentive , respectful and helpful , night show was ok , nothing to said about nice monkey view , beach ok . I’m just finishing my vacations here and I’m leaving disappointed, this hotel is old , not well maintained but clean , mirrors in the bathroom eroded from being old , as well as the bed , locks etc , but that’s ok I can still live with that , no shampoo or conditioner or cream what so ever in the rooms , but that ok I still live with that and enjoy now when you come with family that’s where I give the lowest point there is absolutely no entertainment for kids other than the pool and ping pong table , there is a mini club that was always empty with a mini swimming pool working only until 4-6 I’m not sure but worthless , no dedicated personal for kids entertainment at all , so keep that in mind if you coming only for the hotel , we fortunately did a lot of outside tours and activities and still have fun , at night 30 minutes of mini disco and that’s it . The hotel has a disco working until 3 am but not personal for child care even if we paid for it . There is not room services , , the restaurants are full and I strongly advice to go there at 6 make the line and you will get a nice dinner later on. Buffet just ok liberia, the one on the pool with too many flies so we never ate there . Pool is nice and well maintained . Car, you don’t need to rent any I waste my Money and time , never again . Activities vendors are polite and knowledgeable, attentive specially those with greyline . There is another Riu hotel -Riu palace in the side and we asked to go there and they told us that we are not allowed to enter there but their guest they can come here , not sure Well if all of the riu hotels are like this one I will stay in other one , this is definitely my last time

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank naygian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a valued feedback following your recent stay with us and for highlighting our staff.

On the other hand, we wish to inform that at RIU, we work hard to satisfy the needs of our guests; making our customers happy and comfortable in our hotels is our mission. Please be assured that we never stop renovating our hotels so we can offer you the most up-to-date facilities. Of course, we will share your impressions with the relevant department, to make adjustments if necessary, or to take them into consideration for future refurbishments.

Regarding the exchange privileges between resorts, at RIU guests can use some facilities of neighbouring hotels as long as they are of equal or inferior categories (some exceptions may apply).

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back at one of our RIU hotels soon in order to deliver the high standards of guest service and quality which are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews