We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Private Day Tour from Bath to Bowood House, Castle Combe and Lacock with Pickup
0 reviews

Book in advance
from
US$578.12
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Bowood House & Gardens
Reviews (805)
Filter reviews
805 results
Traveller rating
411
234
102
39
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
411
234
102
39
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews play area entrance fee all ages something for everyone run around coffee shop adventure playground pirate ship soft play golf course gardens are lovely long walk death mask national trust ticket office grounds tractor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 805 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2022

Very clear and sensible management of this beautiful property and its surroundings: the golf course, hotel and spa, have a separate entrance from the children's play area, the House and the parkland.
With a long road from the entrance to the car parks, and ticket office, there is no bottle neck - entry was regulated and ran smoothly.
The cate and one set of toilets is right at the entrance, which is only a hundred yards to the ( very enthusiastic) children's adventure play area, and there is some very imaginative, and safe activities. Great fun for the children.
200 yards further on, the house is slightly hidden, but glimpsed from side it is so impressive. It is a lovely setting, and a superb view from the floral terraces.
We were one of the first couples that morning to see the house, ( which opens at 11.00am), and we defiantly benefited from viewing a less crowded house. The house stewards are very helpful, as well as having a wealth of knowledge which they shared with us in a friendly understandable fashion. So much to see, and the rooms as well as the museum rooms upstairs are equally enjoyable.
Outside the terrace is equally impressive, with many stunning statues and sculptures, with exquisite carefully tended formal garden borders - with a back drop of the house, and in the other direction the vista of the lake and parkland.
The grassland leads down to the lake, which is home to swans, herons Canada and grey geese, also the usual mallard ducks, moorhens, coots and we even saw a pair of crested grebes fishing.
It is a lovely relaxed day in a charming, elegant location.

Date of experience: May 2022
1  Thank Cherriesfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowoodResort, Guest Relations Manager at Bowood House & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Cherriesfan99,
Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Bowood House & Gardens, so pleased to hear you enjoyed your day here at Bowood. We hope to welcome you back to Bowood again in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2022

Beautiful Gardens, lovely to stroll around.
Spectacular views..
House has so much history in it, and well worth a look.
Nice cafe, huge play area for kids, nice shop.

Date of experience: May 2022
Thank vald2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowoodResort, Guest Relations Manager at Bowood House & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2022

Dear vald2022,
Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Bowood House & Gardens, so pleased to hear you enjoyed your day. We hope to welcome you back to Bowood again in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2022 via mobile

We arrived just before Bowood opens at 11.00am and went straight to the house. We were the first ones in the house and had it all to ourselves. The guide at the door was very knowledgeable and helpful. Beautiful house and gardens. Loved the walk around the lake and the cascades. Plenty to do for children there is a really good play park and picnic area. There is also a den where there are play tractors for children to play on. Great day out.

Date of experience: May 2022
Thank annie20061
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowoodResort, Guest Relations Manager at Bowood House & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2022

Dear annie20061,
Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Bowood House & Gardens, so pleased to hear you enjoyed your day here and our guide was helpful at the House.
We hope to welcome you back to Bowood again in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2021 via mobile

We did the autumn trail which was good and the children played in the adventure playground, which is excellent. We went to the cafe for lunch and despite it being half term at 12.30 there were no children's sandwiches for the lunch boxes. Very poor planning on a half term day. Massive queue and poor choice- needs addressing.

Date of experience: October 2021
1  Thank D462HJcharlotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowoodResort, Guest Relations Manager at Bowood House & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2021

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Bowood House & Gardens. We are pleased to hear the children enjoyed the Autumn Trail and Adventure Playground. I am sorry to hear there was no children's sandwiches when you came to the Treehouse Café for lunch. I will pass this across to the team to look into this. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2021 via mobile

Again a lovely location ,acres to walk around ,wonderful trees and gardens and of course the history of the family and building, ,' Landsdown and Shelbourne are very familiar names in Dublin City .

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowoodResort, Guest Relations Manager at Bowood House & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2021

Dear Ken R,
Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Bowood House & Gardens. We hope to welcome you back to Bowood again in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews