We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very good accommodation, but hot tub needs...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Applebarn

Applebarn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Applebarn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Applebarn
Open plan kitchen
Apple barn private garden patio.
A view of Glastonbury Tor
A birds eye view
Modern fully equiped kitchen.
Dinner is served
Kitchen bench
An original feature of Applebarn
Under the stairs
The lounge
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom with bunk beds
En-suite bathroom
Inside out
Flowers
Applebarn blossom
Applebarn
ApplebarnHolidays.co.uk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
West Pennard, Glastonbury, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue B
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good accommodation, but hot tub needs attention daily, which it didn't get.”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

You can not fault the actual accommodation. It has been converted to a very high standard. There is lots of space. It could certainly do with three bedrooms but converting the upstairs to achieve this would have been difficult. It would be no good if you have children of varying ages and different sexes, or indeed children that do not get on with each other.

The area it is in in beautiful with views of the Tor from the left side of the building. There is no signage to the farm, however, and we ended up calling at another homestead to find out where we were going. The drive by the farm gate is also well worn, and if you have a low car, be very careful.

There is a tennis court in front of the accommodation. It is tired but handy to have. We never actually played tennis on it but my son played on it with his RC car nearly every day.

There is a well stocked kitchen, to the extreme of having 11 sharp knives. Just the ones in the block would have been sufficient.

There is also a good supply of utensils, crockery, cutlery etc. We were disappointed to find two very greasy trays in the oven that had to be cleaned before we could use them. They were obviously left by a previous holiday maker, but this should have been checked before new people came in.

The hob is digital and a complete pain to operate until you get used to it. It’s a very good job the manuals for the appliances are in the utility room cupboard.

There is also a good supply of Tourist Information leaflets. It’s such a pity though, that so many of them are out of date, going back, would you believe, to 2013!

Some attention is needed on the booking confirmation side. We had to chase them up as we hadn’t received it. It came two days before our arrival date.

Attention is also needed from John to his guests. The only person we saw regularly was Mr Turner Senior and his lovely dog. We didn’t see John until the Thursday morning and after that not all. Every morning his front door would be wide open, but on the day we left, it was closed. He didn’t even come around to ask how we had got on. That was inexcusable and ignorant. He seemed happy to leave it up to his dad to talk to guests, even though his dad knew nothing about the running of the accommodation. He didn’t have anything to do with the web side of things, only about the set up of the house.

The hot tub was a big factor for us when booking this holiday. When we got there it was at 28 degrees. The owner had completely emptied and refilled it on changeover day, so it was not up to temperature. We were told that 28 is perfectly hot enough. I don’t know about you, but that is a luke warm bath to most people. On the Sunday it was absolutely lovely. We tended to go in it at night time when the sky was dark and the stars were out. It was beautiful just lying there watching the sky, without the interference of lights.

On the Tuesday night the water was going green. By the Wednesday night it stunk, and I mean, really stunk. John had obviously not been checking it on a daily basis, like you should, and as it was late at night there was nothing we could do. We knocked on his door at 10am the following morning to tell him. There was no problem in him coming and pouring chemicals in, but really, we should not have had to tell him in the first place. He should have been checking it regularly.

Unfortunately, this was not the end of the saga. On the Friday night, our last night in the hot tub, we had been in for about 30 minutes and an error came up and that was the end of the jets. The water was still hot, the lights still worked, but no jets. We didn’t stay in much longer as it was 10.30pm and too late to go knocking on doors. It would have been helpful to have the manual for the tub. We might have been able to sort it out.

Taking out the hot tub saga, Applebarn is a lovely place to stay. It is very peaceful, and Mr Turner senior is a pleasure to talk to, and his lovely little dog is an absolute delight, just get down to her level and be gently with her.

I almost forgot, there are three external doors to the property. The one coming in from your car sticks and the patio doors didn't work at all. We told the children if they had to get out quickly, go through the lounge area door out to the patio. They couldn't have got out of the garden as the gates are locked from the outside, but at least they would be out of the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area
Liked least: Lack of attendance to the hot tub, and the manager basically ignored us.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2017
During our quiet time we like to respond to some of the comments left here and other places. There are some lovely comments in this review and some criticisms. We do our best to keep Applebarn and the Dairy to as high a standard as possible. When we set up Applebarn, Nigel, Jean and John all lived in the farmhouse and shared the resposability for welcoming guests. It was unfortunate that over the summer Jean was taken ill over this summer, Nigel and Jean had to move out. John was left to clean and keep Applebarn up together as well as running Jeans Cheesemaking business (Batch Farm Cheesemakers Ltd.), 10 miles away, whilst she recovered. Added to this extra pressure was arranging music for a local panto, to be held later in the year. Nigel was asked to greet the guests to help out as he was looking after his farm and was around, it sounds as though he and the dog were good hosts. He would report back that everything was ok. The hot tub is refilled after all guests leave the property, as to keep it as fresh as possible. We have from 10am to 4pm to do this and it takes a while for the water to heat. We do not keep chemicals in Applebarn for guests and children safety. Depending on the use of the hot tub depends on how much chemical is added. We ask all guests to keep us informed of use and when chemicals may need adding. The garden gates lead onto other private gardens to the farmhouse, but these comments will be taken into consideration. Some of our guests like to know that their Children are safe and can't roam the farm unaccompanied. All of the other points raised have been reviewed and taken into consideration and action points have been taken if necessary. Applebarn holidays would like to wish you all the best for 2017.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vincenzob...
Shell Beach, California
1 review
“Superb Quiet Retreat With All The Welcome Comforts of Home”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is the third time we've stayed here at Applebarn. Our hosts are always accommodating. The Tor is visible nicely from the property. There is a public footpath that goes from the property across the fields to Glastonbury and it takes about an hour to walk there. Until recently it was a working farm so it has a farm feel which we like: big barns, the occasional tractor, rural, connected to the dairy culture of England. It's no more than 5 minutes drive from Glastonbury and quite a way off of the A361 so it's quiet. It's nice and big inside. Good internet connection. When we arrived it smelled of manure and I was concerned but we were there for 10 days and it was just the night we arrived that the aroma was present. Again, you're surrounded by farmland so that's going to happen sometimes. Just a fabulous experience overall.Thanks to Nigel and the family for another great stay at Applebarn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and Rural setting. Quiet and beautiful.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cotfordho...
Malvern, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Quite exceptional”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived for the Glastonbury Festival weekend to be welcomed by Nigel, ( the owner) his family , their lovely little dog "Milly" and 3 very affectionate cats onto a beautifully kept, farm-of-old with all the characteristics of a by-gone era. Quite sublime !!
I originated from a dairy farm childhood and it was akin to a very warm "step-back-in-time" moment. From the occasional crow of a cockerel , the mooing of the cows in a neighboring field awaiting milking to the owls in the trees after dark....... no road traffic noise to be heard , lovely !
Then the 2 cottages that we occupied, WOW, STUNNING and so so comfortable. A proper farmhouse experience with the open living accommodation to the creaky floorboards and a superbly modernized refurbishment. Nothing was left to chance and every comfort was catered for. The other reviews say so much that I'm not going to repeat whats already been said, suffice to say that they exceeded expectation in each and every department. The only sad bit is that we really wanted to sample their home-made cheese but never had the opportunity........... Next time we will..promise !
Thank you to you all for a very emotional and memorable stay and we really hope that we can visit and stay again.
Fondest wishes to you all
Chris and Barbara Morgan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quite farmhouse experience
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & Hot tub
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SCJJR
Saint Leonard, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed for three weeks, from 16 April to 6 May 2016. While within reasonable driving distance of Wells, Bath, Plymouth, Portsmouth and Tintagel, if you enjoy country living and quiet, this is the place. We were four adults comprising two couples. With two private bedrooms and attached bathrooms upstairs, we had all the privacy we needed. The modern downstairs living room, kitchen/dining area and laundry room are spacious and well organized. You wake every morning with a beautiful view of the Glastonbury Tor from several windows. If you feel up to it, there is a marked foot path to the Tor but be ready for a walk of a couple of miles round trip. The proprietors are responsive but also steeped in local history of the area and very welcoming. The farm has been in the family for three generations. Clark and Anita Jones

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very spacious and comfortable.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Thank you both for your lovely comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Applebarn, it was good to meet you all. Hope to see you some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing