We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Local Pub”
Review of The Cock Inn

The Cock Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Traditional village pub serving good quality home cooked food, also a good selection of real ales. We are dog friendly so you can bring your canine friends and give them a free treat from the bar.We have a pie night every Tuesday where you can have a homemade pie meal for £9.95, selection of different pies are available each week, booking advisable as it does get very busy.We also have an over 50's 2 courses for £8 every Monday lunch and Evening.We run a Quiz night on the 3rd Sunday of every month money that is raised goes to the chosen charity that month, see our website for more details of any of the above. The pub has a small function room which holds around 24 people if you have a celebration or would like a private function this room is ideal, it can also be used for business meetings and we can provide food and refreshment if required please feel to to ring for more details.We are also able to host small weddings of up to around 50 people for the sit down meal, extra for evening
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Yes this was my first watering hole I ever drank in regular. What a great place and the food is still perfect

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank F7778NDdannyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Went on a Saturday night with family after making a reservation over the phone. Nice location and drive to the pub is very scenic.
We arrived in time and was shown our table by a lovely waiteress who quickly took our drinks and food order. Food was quick to arrive and was cooked to perfection. It tasted fresh and we completely enjoyed it. We had Cajun chicken and mushroom and Pie tart. A small gripe is that we requested for some mustard sauce when the bar lady came around with our pint but she instantly seemed to forget all about it. We thought maybe she passed on the message to our waitress but we were shocked to see her chatting behind the bar with another barlady! We waited for atleast 5 mins before our waitress came round taking food order from another table. We asked her for the sauce and she got it out in no time.
We enjoyed our desserts which were spotted dick and chocolate brownie. Our waitress was lovely and very effecient as she was the only one taking orders and bringing out food.
Overall food was great and reasonably priced. Toilets were accessible and clean. We would visit again.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Anisats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

I had Sunday lunch here today. Succulent roast beef, and plenty of it, good vegetables and proper gravy, with excellent Yorkshire pudd. I have to say this is the best Sunday roast I have had for as long as I can remember. Lovely staff, helpful, smiling, friendly and helpful and we had a cosy table by the big inglenook. I had no room, but made it, for spotted dick and ice cream. Can’t wait to go back so we made another booking!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Barlet20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackie m, Owner at The Cock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thank you for your kind comments, so glad you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

This is the second time we have visited here for a meal and have not been disappointed. Firstly the welcome was very warm and friendly and the staff were very attentive. The day was a Sunday and the roasts(3 different roasts) ,lamb shank and the braised blade of beef to name some of the menu were excellent. We had the lamb shank( which fell off the bone) and the braised blade of beef( melt in the mouth) which were extremely tasty. All in all an very enjoyable Sunday lunch in pleasant surroundings, lovely staff and reasonably priced. We would definitely go back again.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank pauldP527YO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

food:- excellent, fresh, well prepared, good sized portions
service:- efficient,friendly,courteous,accommodating
ambience:- inviting,comfortable

Although no dedicated disabled toilet,the units provides ease of access for a wheelchair to be pushed into them.

The waiting staff were only too happy to answer any and all questions about the specials and general information on what ingredients were used in them, as well as the standard menu items

The landlord also made himself known to us and said to simply notify either himself or a member of staff when we were ready to order,which for my own personal preference is a bonus.. not having a pair of eyes looking over your shoulder (what would seem like) every 5 minutes asking if i were ready to order food or drinks,let us relax and enjoy the place at own our speed

Will definitely be returning to the cock inn,just to "get away" from the robotic service industry to a family run,enjoyable,relaxing place, damn the calories,full speed ahead

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cock Inn also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Chicheley, Newport Pagnell
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Newport Pagnell, Milton Keynes
 

Been to The Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing